We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for northern San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice location for northern San Diego”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Booked in for 2 nights. Chose hotel using Hotels.com and Tripadvisor.

Handy location for San Diego, the mountains, wine country and heading north to San Diego Zoo Safari Park.

Nice hotel but with relatively small rooms. Rooms have tea/coffee but no fridge. WiFi is about $10.00 a day - why not free?

Parking - self parking is charged, and valet parking about $25 a day.

Nice entrance lobby and bar. Restaurant was closed - presumably because of low hotel occupancy, so evening meals were served in the bar. Food was OK. No cocktail menu and waitress was a bit clueless.

Central pool which we didn't have time to use.

Free hotel shuttle to local attractions/restaurants. We used it to get to Pamplemousse Grille for a birthday meal. Very helpful and friendly valet/concierge staff.

No racing on at nearby track meant the hotel was quiet and so was the local traffic

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLott, Director of Sales at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
We truly appreciate your taking the time to review our property. Our package deals are great values and include parking, internet or breakfast depending on your needs. I am also happy to announce that we are going to be renovating the guest rooms and public areas in our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest Regards,
Chris Lott
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    368
    187
    83
    53
See reviews for
382
269
91
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My only criticisms of this hotel are the pay parking (I believe it was $17 USD a night) and the fact it is fairly far from any attractions in San Diego. If you are travelling with a car then this shouldn't be a major issue for you. The hotel itself is lovely with a beautiful enclosed patio and pool area. The room was fairly standard but comfortable, quiet and clean. The service was good and friendly. Overall quite a good stay, we did get this hotel through Priceline and so had it at a discounted price, but we were both very happy with our stay, and would return.

Room Tip: There are highways and major roads around the hotel, ask for a room facing the patio/pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adnaan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLott, Director of Sales at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will be undergoing a renovation starting in late November of this year and it is sure to impress. We would love to have you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Chris Lott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My husband and I booked one night here for our 1 year wedding anniversay because we were spending the day at the Del Mar Races. The hotel is very convenient to the track being right across the street, which was just one of our resaons for staying here. The second reason was we wanted someplace nice for our 1 year anniversay, and when you typically think Hilton and you are paying $200 for one night, you expect them to exceed your expectations. We were sadly mistaken!! We arrived at 11am because we wanted to get settled into our room before we went to the track. The front desk explained that our room was not yet ready, which is no big deal at this point because we are early for check in, so we make our way to the closest restaurant to kill some time. We come back at 12:30pm to find out our room still isn't ready. Ok, still not a huge deal, but we request a time frame because if it's only going to be an hour or so then we'll hang out in the lobby bar and wait. I do want to change and get ready before we head to the track. The front desk explains that they will put in a call to a maid and they'll "try" to have a room ready in an hour but their guaranteed check in time is 4pm. 2 hours go by, and still no room, now I'm upset! Not only our we wasting our day sitting in the hotel lobby, but now I have to change my clothes and get ready in my car! If I wanted to stay somewhere that meets minimum standards and only guaranteed check in times, I would have stay at Motel 6 and saved some money! They finally called us at 4pm on the dot to let us know that our room was ready...too little too late! we were already at the track. When we finally got checked in after 8pm, we find that they stuck us in the worst room the had available! It was right next to the freeway, the remote to the TV was broken, and the outlet was so loose that I couldn't even use it to charge my phone. I will never waste my money staying at a Hilton again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niblack01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLott, Director of Sales at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards that morning, and for that I sincerely apologize. During extremely high occupancy days such as the last week of horseracing season can be difficult and we understand that your expectations were not met. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our Front office manager, General Manager and Director of Engineering. We would love the opportunity to change your mind about our property and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Regards,
Chris Lott
chris.lott@delmarhilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

From the moment we walked in, we were treated like family. It was beautiful - the hotel is gorgeous. We were able to get an upgrade to Club room with linai facing the pool. The restaurant was awsome, the entertainment was fabulous, Liza G. Fly was the best, especially when she sang Zenyatta. We came for the Pacific Classic at Del Mar. The shuttle was perfect, the drivers wonderful, front desk personnel gracious and very informative, the hot breakfast and the staff was wonderful, housekeeping was great. The trip to the beach was just beautiful. We will definitely be back. We just love your hotel and staff - just like family. See you next year.

Yvonne and Maurice Kirby

Room Tip: Look for an email from the hotel re: upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLott, Director of Sales at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you! I will share them with our staff at our Friday huddle meeting. We strive to make each guest feel special and it really does invigorate our staff when our guests take the time to let us know. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest Regards,
Chris Lott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Every year over Labor Day weekend we travel to the Del Mar Hilton for the horse races an it is always a great time and the hotel has been terrific. This year we stayed again taking the Hotel shuttle back and forth to the race track. Unfortunately the shuttle took over 45 minutes to pick us up at the track, which hasn't happend in the past. So we walked to back to the hotel since we never knew when the shuttle would arrive. By the time we went to the club level for hor'derves there wasn't much to choose from. It seems the hotel staff should add extra help over the holiday weekend to service their patrons. They should pay for extra vans to shuttle people back and forth in a timely matter. They should have additional help in the club lounge to make sure their highest level of Hilton Honors patrons are receiving the benefits that they deserve. I also have multiple sclerosis and my room was the farthest away from the entrance which required additional walking. Hopefully, next year their will be some changes to make the hotel experience better for all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank khloesohiechandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLott, Director of Sales at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I have reviewed your recommendations with our Director of Rooms regarding the shuttle service and your recommendations for our executive lounge with our Executive Chef. We really do try to provide every guest with the best possible stay and look forward to welcoming you back. If you would be so kind as to contact me directly for your next reservation I will make sure that your room is in a more manageable location.

Warmest Regards,
Chris Lott
-------
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My daughter and I just spend 17 days at this hotel for her golf tournaments. Everything about it we found to be great. The only problem i can imagine people having is if they are given a room a long way away from the reception desk as it is quiet a long walk to get to some rooms....but in saying that we were lucky to be given a room quiet closeby (so it may pay to ask if you can have a room closeby). If you have a car the parking fee can be pricey but see how you go if you ask them really really nicely to lower the charge for you (if you are on an extended stay). The only other thing i would suggest to the management there is if someone is staying for as long as we did.....throw in a free dinner or two.....please!!!! The staff there were really really friendly and helpful and Elva in the restaurant was so nice to my daughter....Elva thankyou very much for making her breakfasts so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLott, Director of Sales at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Thank you for staying with us! We truly appreciate your comments and will take your suggestions to heart. I have reviewed your comments with the Executive Chef and the Restaurant Manager and we will recognize Elva at our next hotel staff meeting in front of her supervisors and peers. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest Regards,
Chris Lott
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas, nv.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed at this property for three nights in mid August 2011. The pros: great rate of $100 dollars a night secured through priceline.com, checked on other websites and the rate was $244 a night...hotel is right across the street from the Del Mar thoroughbred club which hosts the races, mid July to early September, and county fair in June/early July...nice grounds, although there is some landscaping work being done so it may be better this time next year...nice pool area. Also, the location is very safe and is only a short drive to the village of Del Mar and many area beaches...The cons: parking is $17 dollars a night for self parking...a charge of $10 a day for wifi or a weekly fee of $45, totally ridiculous...business center has two computers both of which require payment to access the internet...rooms are loud, second floor room and could hear people walking above us at all hours of the night...only one elevator, very small, which was located at the very far end of the hallway...the hotel itself was very clean, has a bar and restaurant, both of which are very expensive...the location is unbeatable which goes a long way to my giving an additional * and hence the 4* star rating...would never pay the rack room rate to stay here, especially with all of the other charges/fees...all in all not a bad place but beware of the additonal expenses...

Room Tip: third floor room will limit noise somewhat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trentonkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisLott, Director of Sales at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thank you for staying with us! We truly appreciate the increased rating on our cleanliness as we strive to provide a clean and safe environment for every guest with every stay. We also provide packaged rates that include parking and internet for your convenience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Chris Lott
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#89 of 278 in San Diego
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
215 reviews
9.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego/Del Mar

Property: Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Address: 15575 Jimmy Durante Blvd, Del Mar, CA 92014-1901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Business Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego/Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The word is out - the Hilton San Diego Del Mar has undergone a transformation! Unwind and connect with loved ones in our newly re-imagined restaurant and backyard. Whether cozying up next to five new firepits, playing backyard games, or dining on our farm fresh California coastal inspired menu with craft cocktails and local brews, we have something everyone will enjoy. 257 vibrant and sophisticated guest rooms, with a full size fitness, outdoor heated pools and two hot tubs, alluring firepits, onsite car rental. Nestled between the coastal cities of Del Mar and Solana Beach, minutes from the beach and steps from the Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds. Conveniently off the Interstate 5 and coastal highway, with easy access to Legoland, San Diego Zoo and everything in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton San Diego/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Hilton Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing