We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, CA, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous setting”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Great '30s dining room, wonderful big pool, good spa, and great patio area. Breakfast wait staff is excellent. Rooms are very comfortable and well-designed. Hotel staff is friendly. The only improvement I could see is that they could use some additional staffing at the front desk.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanVT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Thank you very much for your fabulous review. We hope to see you back in Del Mar in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    361
    184
    83
    53
See reviews for
372
262
90
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huttonsville, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Yes, both our family and dog enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It is convenient to many locations and would recommend it to singles, couples, families and pets. Have a great stay and consider this hotel when in San Diego area.

Room Tip: Ground floor accommodations are good as we had a nice little patio to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We hope to see you back in Del Mar in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vegas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

It is truly a great place to stay. Located close to the freeway you still don't have to fear the noise. The rooms are quiet , spacious and newly renovated.. A $50 dollars non refundable deposit allows you to bring your pet companion and it is well worth it when your four paws can join you in a travelling venture. The staff was welcoming and relaxed, other guests with dogs( they had a dog show in town)were all very cheerful as well. Designated spot in the back of hotel for duties and pooper bags available all around. The hotel is really great with blooming cherry trees in courtyard. Rstaurants in Del Mar are also allowing dogs in their heated terrasse ,so it is really pleasant to stroll around with your pet .
So I will definitly recommend this hotel and the area. This hotel feels just right, the rooms are perfect in size, good on prices, beds really comfortable. Bathrooms not luxurious but just right. I will go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Select a courtyard room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegastica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We hope to see you back in Del Mar in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I live locally in Del Mar and have not had an occasion to stay in the newly renovated Hilton until this week while my home by the beach was under construction and unexpectedly had to move out. I was so very pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome and service by the concierge Jennifer Fine...truly 5 star hotel service!
I enjoyed my few days in a lovely spacious room overlooking the pool and will now certainly refer my friends and business associates to this wonderful Del Mar Hotel.

Thanks again to concierge Jennifer Fine for making a difficult few days a pleasure!

Room Tip: I enjoyed a spacious peaceful room on the ground floor with a patio overlooking the pool and beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We hope to see you back in Del Mar in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

After staying in the Hilton Del Mar many times over the last 4 years I thought I should write a review as they certainly deserve it! Every time I have stayed there has been absolutely wonderful! It is the staff that makes that hotel. Several have been there for the entire time I have been staying there and they recognize me, greet me and make me feel very welcome and special. It is like coming home to me now. My rooms have always been immaculate and I love the new "remodel" bedding, etc. The breakfast buffet is the absolute best and offers a great selection. The cozy bar with its fireplace and also the outdoor area with heaters and fireplace have a great ambiance. It offers easy freeway access and is close to many great restaurants. It is THE perfect hotel for horse enthusiasts as it is in walking distance from the racetrack and very close to the Del Mar horse park.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We hope to see you back in Del Mar in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The whole hotel was clean and quiet. The service couldn't have been better or more polite. We had a bottle of wine once we came back from dinner and it was very relaxing and calm. The only negative thing is the I wish self parking was included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We hope to see you back in Del Mar in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I was impressed with the service of all staff members. Room was neat and clean. The stay was awesome all around. Next time I'm in town I'll bring the family. This will be an ideal location for us to get to Lego Land, Sea World, and Disney Land. Can't wait 'til next time we visit. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We hope to see you back in Del Mar in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
213 reviews
3.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#85 of 279 in San Diego
607 reviews
9.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego/Del Mar

Property: Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Address: 15575 Jimmy Durante Blvd, Del Mar, CA 92014-1901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Business Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego/Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The word is out - the Hilton San Diego Del Mar has undergone a transformation! Unwind and connect with loved ones in our newly re-imagined restaurant and backyard. Whether cozying up next to five new firepits, playing backyard games, or dining on our farm fresh California coastal inspired menu with craft cocktails and local brews, we have something everyone will enjoy. 257 vibrant and sophisticated guest rooms, with a full size fitness, outdoor heated pools and two hot tubs, alluring firepits, onsite car rental. Nestled between the coastal cities of Del Mar and Solana Beach, minutes from the beach and steps from the Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds. Conveniently off the Interstate 5 and coastal highway, with easy access to Legoland, San Diego Zoo and everything in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Diego/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Hilton Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing