We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgecrest, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visit to San Diego”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This property is well managed most the time. During this particular visit, the month long County Fair was underway and made the traffic in the area extremely bad. The Hotel was undergoing some parking lot repaving as well, so this brought about parking issues as well. Inside the Hotel, it was great as usual. The staff was very responsive and pleasant to deal with. Always very clean and the restaurant had a delightful menu for breakfast, although somewhat pricey.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the West side of the property. Upper levels have an Ocean view. Rooms are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biscuitmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Biscutmaker,

Thanks for your recent visit with us. So glad you were able to stay with us again. I apologize for the resurfacing of the parking lot. It’s tough to coordinate this project without having cooperation from our guests. It looks great now and continues keeping us looking fresh.

Thanks again for coming back to us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    373
    189
    85
    54
See reviews for
390
272
91
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family and I have stayed here several times, and will be back again in a few weeks. We travel quite a bit on our own and for our kids soccer tournaments. Hilton Del Mar is always accommodating for us, is close The Polo Fields and good proximity to PCH, the beach, restaurants, shops.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbcapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
jbcapital,

Thanks for coming back and staying with us. We love our repeat guests. Yes indeed we are very close to the polo fields and many other attractions and restaurants. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I was here on business and I was very happy with my stay. Food was great, good scenery however the gym was a little small. Staff was very friendly and the on site Enterprise Rent a Car was quite convenient. I also used their business facilities and was happy with the unlimited printing and the conference halls were comfortable. Would stay again if in Del Mar!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank randytran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Randytran,

Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our restaurant food and business center. Thanks again and see you soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here during visit by friends from the Bay area and found it to be an very nice place to stay. We had purchased the stay for 3 rooms for one night through a bucket shop and were somewhat disappointed when our room faced the freeway, but there were double windows (not double panes) and there was no freeway noise. Room was spacious and nicely appointed. Nice comfortable bed. The grounds were very inviting with outside lounging areas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Ben C,

Hi there. Thanks for sharing your insight on our property. Glad you found our rooms comfortable and quiet and our courtyard yard inviting. Probably our team's favorite feature is our courtyard.

Thanks again and please do come again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Hilton Del Mar, and with the Del Mar Fair happening, the traffic, noise and hotel service made for a challenged visit.

The hotel never serviced our room, for our four-day stay. We had to call multiple times for new towels, and the removal of dirty and/or beach/pool towels.

The hotel restaurant was understaffed, however Dan, our server provided excellent service.

Beach towels and pool towels we're in short supply. In-room carpet was stained. The room smelled of paint or other fumes, and wasn't very suitable for our family. We'll likely stay at the Doubletree on Carmel Valley road next time. We've stayed both, and much prefer the Doubletree.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JessWilson417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Ms. Wilson,

Thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. I am disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations. Many areas we could have been much better and I sincerely apologize for the lack of service. We will learn from your experience and be better for the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Desert was horrible. Had to reject it and still paid $18 for a mere two scoops of ice cream. Drinks were overpriced. $36 for a mere margarita and pina coladas. The fair is across the street making all coming and going an hour event. Horrible traffic and noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
James R,

Thank you for the additional feedback. I know our food & beverage manager has reached out to help remedy your dining experience. In regards to the Del Mar Fair, it certainly is a fun time of year and a great attraction for our guests and others; however is does create additional traffic.

Thank you again for being one of our guests and we hope to see you back again in Del Mar.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

No hand soap and not enough wash clothes & hand towels upon arrival. Took two phone calls and visit to desk to get the supplies. Broken pipe in bathroom sink--took two phone calls to get a repairman. Plenty of coffee but only one tea bag a day--not always breakfast tea--not good for a tea drinker. Last morning of stay housekeeping knock at 9:11 a.m. to clean room--prior days the room wasn't cleaned until late afternoon. Housekeeping and front desk need to coordinate customer's check-out times. $18/day parking charge when rooms are $150+ seemed unreasonable. Staff was friendly and courteous, facility was lovely and rooms were very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank riz2337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Riz2337,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Del Mar. We appreciate your business. I apologize for the challenges you experienced during your stay. We have reviewed your experiences with our team to better understand areas for improvement. Thank you. In addition I am happy to see you enjoyed our team, our facility and your room was quiet.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#103 of 278 in San Diego
618 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
7.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego/Del Mar

Property: Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Address: 15575 Jimmy Durante Blvd, Del Mar, CA 92014-1901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Business Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego/Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The word is out - the Hilton San Diego Del Mar has undergone a transformation! Unwind and connect with loved ones in our newly re-imagined restaurant and backyard. Whether cozying up next to five new firepits, playing backyard games, or dining on our farm fresh California coastal inspired menu with craft cocktails and local brews, we have something everyone will enjoy. 257 vibrant and sophisticated guest rooms, with a full size fitness, outdoor heated pools and two hot tubs, alluring firepits, onsite car rental. Nestled between the coastal cities of Del Mar and Solana Beach, minutes from the beach and steps from the Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds. Conveniently off the Interstate 5 and coastal highway, with easy access to Legoland, San Diego Zoo and everything in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton San Diego/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Hilton Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing