We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the Del Mar Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Hotel in the Del Mar Area”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Del Mar Hilton is my favorite North County hotel. It is well maintained, the rooms are quiet and the service is excellent. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The outdoor bar is a delight and the heaters keep it pleasant on cool nights. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. The hotel is convenient to the beaches, the race track, the village of Del Mar and I5.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west and north side are quieter than those on the east. Traffic can be heavy in the ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Jim , thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope that we will see you more often! I will be sure to pass along your compliments to the team. Thank you again. Best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    373
    189
    85
    54
See reviews for
390
272
91
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
littleton, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great hotel....worth the selection...everything from the pool to the bar and breakfast was top notch... Staff was very helpful and I appreciated their kindness in getting taxi service etc.... I Highly recommend you visit this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
James, thank you so much for your kind review, it was lovely to hear that you had a great time and that our staff helped make a lasting impression. We do hope that we will see you again and please be assured that we will be sharing your compliments with our team. Best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Although it is a little out of the way for all major attractions, it is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are large (the desk really is a fridge and coffee pot holder in case you are searching for it). The comforters are big and soft and the type you like to crank up the air conditioner and wrap it around you.
Front desk staff as well has housekeeping are awesome. I asked the front desk for more coffee, got back to my room and housekeeping was knocking on the door. The gym, pool and spa were delightful.
My only 2 could be better recommendation was that no matter when it was, I could not reach the front desk by phone. I had to go down to set wake up calls. Also you need to determine if you want to add the breakfast to your room either in the club house or at the restaurant because food places are few in that area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Joan, Thank you for providing some feedback on your recent trip. It appears that although enjoyable, your stay was not as stellar as it should have been. We will certainly share your comments with our team and be sure to do all we can to improve immediately. thanks so much and best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful place close to horse track and the beach many great places to eat nearby. We will return for sure as the weather there is always great. Bell staff was super friendly and helpful.
Also some of the nicest beach are very close

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Robert, , thank you so much for your kind review, it was lovely to hear that you had a great time and that our bell staff helped make a lasting impression. We do hope that we will see you again and please be assured that we will be sharing your compliments with our team. Best regards Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This is my 4th visit to the Hilton Del Mar, it is a nicely situated hotel off the main highway, a short drive from the beach.

Pros
-spacious rooms (recommend courtyard/pool facing rooms)
-executive/club lounge which stays open until 11pm
-cafe containing Starbucks drinks
-good location to head to San Diego or further to LA & Carlsbad.

Cons
-small pool which can be overcrowded
-lack of pool towels and changing/shower facilities or poolside toilets.
-self parking costs somewhere around $20 a night
-most of the staff were pleasant however we on this rare occasion for Hilton we found one or two to be inexperienced, unhelpful and rude.

Nice hotel for a short visit.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank chris_ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Chris, First and foremost thank you for staying with us, and thank you for sharing your feedback on your visit. While your overall stay was enjoyable, you have noted some areas that we need to work on for continual improvement. Thanks again and best regards - Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If visiting beautiful DelMar racetrack this is where to stay....the track is just across the street and an easy walk. The rooms are nice and service is wonderful. I know prices rise during race season, but the convenience is definitely worth it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Susan V. Thank you so much for your kind review - with the track season in full swing, Hilton Del Mar is the perfect location!. Looking forward to seeing you again! Best regards Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We made reservations for 2 king rooms 3 months prior at this hotel to meet some family and spend a few days at the Del Mar racetrack. We arrived about 3 pm and was told check in was not til 4 pm and they had no rooms available. I was not feeling well and had been driving for some time and really wanted a room. I waited standing at the counter while the gentleman "tried" to find a room. My relatives came in about 4 pm and was told the same thing but they could take a queen room. They said fine and took the room. I finally got our room (of course we had asked to be somewhat close but had managed to be very far apart.) When they got to their room the tv and phone did not work. They went to the desk and got another room still far from us.. there was a large family near us (had several rooms together) that were extremely loud and could hear them thru the a/ venting. Not sure if all rooms were as loud as ours, we told them at desk they said "sorry". We had breakfast in the restaurant the next morning and I ordered off the menu as I was still not feeling well and on first bite found a long thick black hair in my food. The server saw me pull it out and did everything in her power to make amends. The rooms are nice and the outdoor area is nice but I don't think my experience will be one that will have me return when I go back to Del Mar. There are many other hotels in the area I would chose over this Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Ann,, thank you for your candid review regarding your recent visit. We were disappointed to hear that we did not perform well and you can be assured that we will be sharing your feedback with our team to ensure the opportunities are addressed immediately. We hope you will accept our apologies and we hope that we may have an opportunity in the future to show you just how great we can be. Please feel free to call me directly on 858-792-5200 to discuss this further. Best regards Amanda Hawkins-Vogel/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#103 of 278 in San Diego
618 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
7.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego/Del Mar

Property: Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Address: 15575 Jimmy Durante Blvd, Del Mar, CA 92014-1901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Business Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego/Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The word is out - the Hilton San Diego Del Mar has undergone a transformation! Unwind and connect with loved ones in our newly re-imagined restaurant and backyard. Whether cozying up next to five new firepits, playing backyard games, or dining on our farm fresh California coastal inspired menu with craft cocktails and local brews, we have something everyone will enjoy. 257 vibrant and sophisticated guest rooms, with a full size fitness, outdoor heated pools and two hot tubs, alluring firepits, onsite car rental. Nestled between the coastal cities of Del Mar and Solana Beach, minutes from the beach and steps from the Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds. Conveniently off the Interstate 5 and coastal highway, with easy access to Legoland, San Diego Zoo and everything in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton San Diego/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Hilton Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing