We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE IN CALIFORNIA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Del Mar Motel on the Beach
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Reviewed 29 May 2014

When I reached Del Mar, I felt like I was on some exotic island. THe accomodations were great and the catered food was delicious. I could not believe how well accomodated the guest rooms were, TV in bathroom and balcony! WHat more could anyone want!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaeline624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

San Diego is an expensive place to vacation and Del Mar is pricier than most areas. If you can't afford a 4 or 5 star hotel, you really want to be on the beach, and/or you have a pet, this is a real winner. My husband and I are locals and have stayed here in a pinch when we had our house fumigated, and yesterday night when we were evacuated due to a fire. We called in a panic, with our treasured belongings and 3 cats in tow, and Carmelo the receptionist made us feel right at home. We even got early check in, and a great rate. True, the beds are not the comfiest, but where else can you be right on the beach in Del Mar for $109? Some of the rooms are ajoining so you can have the kids next door. Jakes and Poseidon are right next door and these are 2 of the best restaurants around. There is a nice patio area with a BBQ and deck chairs for watching the sunset. If you are on a budget, this is the best deal around, period but if you are expecting a 5 star hotel, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steff0566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Albert I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We choose to stay here so we would be steps from the beach. The rooms are cute and clean and bigger than chain hotels. Décor is nice and airy. It was nice to get a break from the chain hotel ambiance, or lack thereof. The rooms don't actually face the beach so I would advise not to pay the extra money to get a 'beach side' room because that's a misnomer. Either side of the hotel faces a parking lot and neither actually has a view. The beach is nice, location is good, staff friendly and best of all they had boogie boards for the kids to use, plus towels for the beach. There is a nice area to sit and sip wine, have dinner and barbeque that does have a beach view. Overall I would stay here again in a minute. A couple of nice restaurants are just next door.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WyoBlueSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is RIGHT on the beach. The room was average, had a refrigerator, bed and shower. The best amenity is the location. I walked to Starbucks about a half mile for coffee every morning. Watching the waves and surfers was fun.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bac635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I felt that this should show up in the "excellent" category.
The truth is if you are considering this motel RUN, Run as fast as you can to another hotel/motelWe are experienced travellers. The photos of the rooms must be from another part of the motel. Certainly not the normal room. Arrived at 12:30pm to learn that the office was closed until sometime around 2:30pm. Closed, you are kidding me! A walk around the outside hallway allowed a view of the first floor. The rooms furniture look like it was from the early '50, at best. Small, dated and actually not up to expected standards. Called booking agent and requested a refund of prepaid rental. Sorry folks, buyer beware, just because the place appeared to be "A Dump" is not reason to expect a return of rental.

Room Tip: Run away to any other establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VPTRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

What an wonderful surprise to return to this hotel on the beach. The second floor ocean view was not what I had 4 years ago. This spacious room replete with a electric fireplace, refrigerator that worked great, a coffee maker and a jet tub (did not work). The room was clean the location perfect and it was quiet, very. The staff upon arrival could not have been kinder, the housekeeping was upscale meaning not one area was left unturned. The bed felt new and firm, a king.
The bathroom was spacious not like the one before that omitted a soap dish, ;) The parking was ample and free along with internet if interested and did not need miss a pool nor a restaurant. The patio was perfect for on the beach lunch, dinner or just BEing.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms on second floor facing the ocean, though the other rooms are still ample to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyfeworksjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
1.3 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
109 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
4.4 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Mar Motel on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Mar Motel on the Beach

Address: 1702 Coast Blvd, Del Mar, CA 92014-2154
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Price Range: £89 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Del Mar Motel on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the sun and surf is our quaint boutique hotel located on the beautiful beach of Del Mar. With views so spectacular you’ll never want to leave.Relax and enjoy the soothing sounds of the Pacific Ocean from one of our 43-newly renovated guestrooms. Relish the breathtaking views from our newly enhanced beachfront sun deck, picnic & barbeque areas, where the rolling waves beckon you to the white sandy beach of Del Mar. Create unforgettable moments with a walk along the beach at sunset or an early morning jog with the waves at your feet.There’s nothing like the sound of the ocean to lull you to sleep, and there’s no better way to escape life’s challenges than a retreat to the Del Mar Motel on the Beach.Our Friendly Staff is Ready to Assist You! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Del Mar Motel on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mar Motel On The Beach Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing