We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Auberge Del Mar
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Artistes(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winners Circle Resort(Solana Beach)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach(Solana Beach)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$144
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa L'Auberge(Del Mar)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,072)
Filter reviews
1,072 results
Traveller rating
559
274
116
73
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
559
274
116
73
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresort feemini cupcakesbeautiful hotelshort walk to the beachvalet staffview of the oceanbusiness meetinglong weekendlobby barsan diegooutdoor patioshops and restaurantstrain tracksfire pitrace trackspawedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
737 - 742 of 1,072 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Decided to stay here instead of the Marriott Del Mar for a conference. What a great choice. Beautiful rooms, wonderful view, close walk to the beach, shops and restaurants in Del Mar. The restaurant was a little pricey but considering the hotel and location it par for the course. Bed and Breakfast package included $40 breakfast credit and valet parking fee. Beds were a little soft.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chip144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My mother, infant daughter and i stayed here for a girls trip and had a wonderful time. The staff was always very friendly and helpful, going above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. we had a fabulous room with a view and even though most of the hotel was occupied by a business group, we still felt well taken care of. Will definitely stay here again if we have the opportunity! Pricey but worth it!

Room Tip: we loved having a patio with view of the courtyard and ocean!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbwatson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We did not actually stay overnight at this resort...after struggling with the inconsistent reviews, we opted to stay at the Grand Del Mar instead. But I made it my mission to check out the L'auberge in person to see for myself if this is the place to stay on our next trip back to Del Mar.

It is indeed a very pretty property in the heart of the Del Mar action. Tons of restaurants, boutiques, and the beach - all within in very easy walking distance. We had appetizers and drinks in L'auberge's beautiful and super comfy lobby lounge and enjoyed spectacular ocean and sunset views, along with accommodating service during our visit.

If location, location, location is what does it for you, this seems like a fantastic place to stay. There was a large, loud wedding party during the timeframe of our visit, and there was a lot of hustle and bustle...while the decor was tranquil and serene, the atmosphere was definitely the opposite.

With the fairly minimal price difference, I am glad we opted for the Grand this time around (rest and relaxation were at the top of our agenda). Next time, I think we will stay at the L'auberge and see what being in the middle of the action is really like!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Well I will put a spin on the few who have negative words........ We first arrived and were treated wonderfully, our early ck in request was accommodated, however I wanted a water view and management was so very accommodating, he was concerned about our early ck but ocean was important to me, he changed our room let us stay in the first room until ours was ready, and valet took care of moving us, getting our new keys and settling us in. The valet service is wonderful, brought us back and forth from delmar race track, within minutes of our asking. The pool service is so attentive we were never in need of anything, and they checked on us frequently. There were several parties being held, one more beautiful then the next, we were right above the one wedding, and the noise was very faint, no disturbance whatsoever. There was music in the lobby which drew a very large crowd all very crowd which made for a fun filled evening. The staff at this lovely boutique hotel made our stay most memorable. Many great restaurants to walk to, the beach outside your door a short walk, and a lovely friendly accommodating staff. We could not have asked for more. We will be returning. Thank you

Room Tip: Room with ocean view lovely
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this glowing feedback. Providing personalized service from the heart is not only of paramount importance here at L’Auberge Del Mar, but is woven into the fabric of each and every associate. I am pleased to read that the service you experienced was both anticipatory and sincere. Thank you for sharing and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,


Brooks Crawford
Resort Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Overbooked when arrived,( not the room we booked from photo from internet) for our 38th anniversary,put in claustrophobic small room with musty,urine smells throughout,Yuk!..(dogs allowed)....upgraded to a suite next day but is was not so "Sweet", view was a parking lot of a post office with trucks with slight view of ocean still with smells!!!!!!!!......did not get my floral toiletries as promised as i am allergic to citrus,after being depressed i talked to management again and got my first night taken off the bill for all the aggravation and finally received my floral products the last day!....also was over charged in spa and mini bar.....will not be returning to this" Unlovely" place!!!!!!

Room Tip: choose another hotel like "The Grand Hotel"in Del Mar!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chanel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews