We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Auberge Del Mar
Nearby Hotels
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winners Circle Resort(Solana Beach)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach(Solana Beach)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Artistes(Del Mar)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,085)
Filter reviews
1,085 results
Traveller rating
566
278
118
73
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
566
278
118
73
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresort feemini cupcakesbeautiful hotelshort walk to the beachvalet staffview of the oceanbusiness meetinglong weekendlobby barsan diegooutdoor patioshops and restaurantstrain tracksfire pitrace trackspawedding
Filter
Updating list...
746 - 751 of 1,085 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We enjoyed a lovely lunch after a massage in the day spa. The sun was beating down on us, but they had run out of umbrellas. Finally, another table finished so we were able to get their umbrella.

The food was really good. I had the crab cake sandwich; delish! The shoestring fries were obviously of the frozen variety. My companions raved about their food, too. My dessert was so so, but my companions finished theirs off.

Very nice! Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie08022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAubergeDelMar, Director of Resort Operations at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review, Suzie! I'm sorry you had to wait a bit for your umbrella, but I'm glad you enjoyed your crabcake sandwich...it's one of my favorites!
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was our first stay at L'Auberge and from the mixed reviews, we weren't sure what to expect. I would rate them slightly below the Montage or Four Seasons, but a solid 4 stars. The property is pretty. The lobby and terrace restaurant are gorgeous, especially the view. The rooms are also nice. The location was great - near lots of restaurants and close to the beach. However, they aren't beach front, if that's what you're looking for.

Pool is on the smaller side, but service there was excellent, as was the food. We stayed Sat-Tues and the pool was packed on the weekend, but fairly empty on the weekdays (which was awesome).

Other pros:
Service was great, from the valet to the front desk. They offer nice touches like mini cupcakes at check-in (I love stuff like that and it's memorable!).

Other cons:
Noise - seems they have a lot of weddings here, so it gets crowded on weekends with loud guests roaming the hall and loud music. Our room was on the first floor, close to the rooftop wedding venue. Most of the sound was drowned out with the tv on, but I would've preferred quiet, since we were here to "get away." Thankfully, the music has to stop by 11pm, so at least it doesn't go all night.
No room service after 10pm - the menu in the room said they offer late night dining, but when we called, we learned it was discontinued.

All in all, I would stay here again, but not during the summer. We visited in October, which I assume was their off peak time. There are some properties that don't feel full, even when they are - this is not one of them.

Room Tip: First floor room have cute terraces, request a room away from train tracks (thankfully we were in a room on the other end so didn't hear them)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words and feedback! Providing warm, personalized service is a hallmark of our resort and I am especially pleased to read that you felt this commitment during your stay. In fact, it is this very commitment combined with our spectacular location that makes L’Auberge Del Mar a top choice for couples looking to tie the knot. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Resort Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Came here with a group of girls for a bachelorette weekend.

The property is beautiful and overlooks the ocean. When you arrive in the lobby, you are treated to a breathtaking wall to wall view.

Bride-to-be enjoyed a hot stone massage that she reported to be heavenly.

The room was very comfortable, and we were excited to have an ocean view from our balcony. We had four girls crammed into two double beds, not queen beds, but we found that the extra plush bedding and overall coziness of the room made up for the small size of the beds.

We spent a day at the outdoor bar, which is next to the pool but not actually poolside as there is a gate separating the pool area from the bar. Originally we had envisioned lounging at the pool in our bikinis and drinking Martinis, but we found that having the bar separated from the pool suited us better as we preferred not to be around kids, and during our stay the pool was pretty much the kids' play ground.

The bartenders were a lot of fun and took good care of us. The food & drinks were top notch.

The beach, bars, shopping, and restaurants surround this property making this the perfect spot for girls not wanting to choose a designated driver!

Also, I highly recommend eating at the "Waterfall Terrace" on site for breakfast. The Lobster Benny is delicious and you can't beat that view!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Had a great stay with my wife and my new 3 month old. Took a one night trip (my baby's first trip to San Diego) and couldn't have been happier on how it went. Called ahead to make sure there would be a crib and mini-fridge in the room, and the staff could not have been more helpful. When we arrived there were two wedding parties arriving at the same time. There was almost no wait at all with the valet or the check-in processes. Thank you for making this trip such a good one!

Room Tip: Just talk to the reservation agent and ask their option! They work there and know the rooms better than anyone else.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Decided to stay here instead of the Marriott Del Mar for a conference. What a great choice. Beautiful rooms, wonderful view, close walk to the beach, shops and restaurants in Del Mar. The restaurant was a little pricey but considering the hotel and location it par for the course. Bed and Breakfast package included $40 breakfast credit and valet parking fee. Beds were a little soft.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chip144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews