We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far more than expected, should be five stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury Park
1 review
“Far more than expected, should be five stars.”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Candidly we didn't book this hotel because we thought a best western was less than we wanted. So we booked the Hilton, "surf and turf", it turned out not to be on the water, so we drove around, pulled in here by accident. It should be a five star rating. Beautiful rooms, great views, a short walk to the beach and the beautiful cliffs of Del Mar, and some super shopping and restaurants within a few minutes walk. But you will not believe the rooms. The wood work is so beautiful, huge rooms, We were shocked. And the front desk was very helpful. We plan on going back, it is a great get away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likes2getaway69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strat1, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
We are truly happy you didn’t like your first choice of hotels and found your way to us, even happier that you enjoyed your five star stay. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    191
    82
    40
    20
See reviews for
125
192
34
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I have stayed her before for family gatherings and have always loved it. Great and will definitely stay again!! and the wonderful spa is a BONUS!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strat1, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for being a regular guest and am glad you enjoy our new heath spa. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This hotel is perfect for me, and I will be staying here a lot in the future on my trips to San Diego. They are in the process of upgrading this hotel, but don't let this deter you. It has a charming boutique feel to it, great loungers at the pool, nice continental breakfast near the pool area including hard boiled eggs and french toast, beautiful ocean views, and nicely remodeled rooms. The small spa downstairs was a godsend. I was able to get in immediately for a mani/pedi in my own room with french doors that opened onto a private courtyard created by hedges in the pool area. What a dreamy retreat.

Since the hotel is older, there are still some noise issues from plumbing and window air conditioners. I learned to turn it off, sleep with the window open, and wear ear plugs. This seemed to work better for me. There was also private residence construction in front of our view, but it was below us, and didn't bother as they only worked during the day when I wasn't there. Very friendly and professional staff, free wireless, a great, great value.

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view for $20 per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoiseLisaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strat1, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Great to hear you will be staying with us for you San Diego trips and the spa is becoming very popular. Thank you and see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for a week at the end of April. We had a balcony suite with a fridge, stove and microwave. The room was very clean and decorated tastefully. Had massages at the Spa N'amara (excellent choice) The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. Thank you Barbara! The beds were surprisingly comfortable for a hotel and the pillows were so nice that we checked to see who makes them so we can buy them at home. The pools and hot tub were maintained immaculately and the grounds were beautiful! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We did a lot of research on different hotels before going to Del Mar and I believe we picked one of the best!

Room Tip: Consider a balcony room, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellsdeeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strat1, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Great review and really happy that you were able to use our spa. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Seemed like a good choice from previous reviews and it really was. However, they are renovating (at least 'til winter) and putting on an addition, so there is a strong possibility that the tranquility we experienced on Friday & Saturday nights might not be typical. The hotel discounted the room because the exterior halls were torn up and our ocean view was compromised by the new construction (You saw it standing by the window, but when sitting all you saw was the ocean). The hotel is several blocks south of the main part of town and in a very quiet residential area and since the construction was on hold during our stay, all we heard was the ocean and morning birdsong. The rooms are large and cheerily decorated. The hotel itself seems to date from the seventies and has that type of layout. I do suspect that the soundproofing leaves something to be desired as plumbing in adjacent rooms seemed like it was in our room. We were lucky avoiding noise and crowds and would be happy to return when all the work is completed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phototype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strat1, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for your review and am happy that you were able to overlook the construction here and behind us and just enjoy all the great things we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
az
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We recently went to the Del Mar Good Guys Car Show and stayed at the Stratford Inn. We were all happily surprised at the front desk service, nice rooms, parking garage and view we had from our rooms, #209, #210. Recommend 2nd floor. Large room, comfortable beds, huge bathroom and all seemed to be nicely redone. The other couple had a small bar area which was nice too. The hotel is still upgrading but did not interfer with our long weekend at all. We want to especially note that the front desk service we received from Joao P. was the best. Great personality, great dining suggestions and overall welcoming and helpful guy.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzSummerrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strat1, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Were glad you were surprised in a positive way, it’s always great to hear. Joao Paulo will be happy to hear that you like the service he provided during your stay. Please come back soon, the horse races start in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

After a disastrous stay at a Best Western in Las Vegas, we were quite pessimistic that this or any other Best Western would be any better. We were wrong. This place is fantastic. When we arrived in our room, it had that touch of home. The suite we stayed in was spacious and was extremely clean. I think that was the first thing we noticed. There was a lot of renovating going on, but it never got in the way or ruined our relaxation. The pool was warm and inviting. The continental breakfast was average and nothing to write home about. It was nice to have a kitchenette in our room. The beds are extremely comfortable and reminds us that we need to buy a new one when we get home. ;0) The location is really nice. Close to shopping and some very good dining. We had a view of the ocean which was a plus. We definitely will stay here again. A jewel of a find!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wookiee6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strat1, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for the great comments and an update on the exterior, we are about 70% done with installing the new siding and stone walkways. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
2.0 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
4.7 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Address: 710 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-3008 (Formerly Stratford Inn of Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#4 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Inn Of Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Best Western Stratford Hotel
Best Western Del Mar
Del Mar Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing