We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Dog Friendly property, welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
370 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Nice Dog Friendly property, welcoming staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We like to travel when the kids are back in school. Del Mar is a great destination with great food. Indigo is located walking distance from MANY great places to eat. The have free parking and internet which is huge these days. Place is clean and the staff is very friendly. Our dog loves to go there, she is just sorry she can't swim in the nice pool.

Room Tip: If you are from out of the area, they have rooms that are "Ocean View" but it is not reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your great experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. I am glad to hear you and your four legged friend enjoyed our spacious room, pet friendly outdoor dining area plus our two outdoor swimming pools. Per health department, pets (no matter how cute they are) are not allowed in the swimming pool. Sorry! Hopefully your doggie loved the ocean breeze and the nice strolls to town. Please come back and visit us soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    184
    79
    40
    20
See reviews for
120
187
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was a really nice hotel in a great, quiet location -- great for families, but not for the 'party crowd'. It was "near" the water, but not on the beach,...actually quite a walk.
The breakfast was outstanding, and Brace, our waiter, was excellent. Jeff at the front desk was also very nice.
We would recommend it highly if a nice, quiet and comfortable stay is what you are seeking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmedlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your great experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our location, spacious rooms and the excellent staff service. I can’t agree with you more on how awesome Brace, Jeff and the rest of the staff are. We are very blessed to have them as part of our team. Please come back and visit us again. We look forward to serving you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in room 407 for our "babymoon" getaway. Upon arriving, we were very impressed with the modern design and decor and accommodating concierges. Below is a breakdown of the pros/cons. Overall, our stay was pleasant enough, but we were just expecting more than an average experience. We'd be open to staying here again, but would likely explore other options first in all honesty.


PROS:
> Friendly front desk staff/ room serve staff
> Centrally located and easy walk to downtown restaurants/shops
> Spacious airy temperature controlled room
> Kitchenette overall (see con about fridge below)
> Balcony with "partial" ocean views

CONS:
> Layout of hotel is a bit confusing - hard to find room
> Housekeeping (cobwebs throughout room, didn't turn over room on one day and then woke us up to clean the room on check out day)
> No DVD player or On Demand channels
> We had to ask to switch out our fridge twice (once since it was leaking and once because it was very loud)
> Bathroom is awkwardly small, especially in comparison to the spacious room

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience you had at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. I appreciate your feedback in both pros and cons you have indicated. First and utmost, congratulations on your new bundle of joy. Best wishes to you, your new baby and your family.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed the open, modern design of our lobby, our spacious rooms, central seaside location plus our friendly service. Please accept my apology for the noisy refrigerator, cobwebs in the room plus lack of movie channels. Please be confident that we have corrected those items. We are in the process of upgrading our TV service with Time Warner so we will have HBO and Showtime in our rooms by next month. As for the small bathrooms, it is part of one of our projects to increase the space as part of our renovation during the latter part of this year.
More upgrades are coming our way. I hope you would give us another chance to see all the new changes we will be making in months to come. Thank you again for your honest feedback. We would love to serve you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This place is fantastic. We stayed 3 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The lobby is airy, tastefully decorated. The restaurant has wonderful, comfortable outdoor seating with great views and a fire pit. We were upgraded to a wonderful condo style room, with the back door leading to the swimming pool for that part of the complex with the most comfortable sundeck chairs and cushions. The room itself was huge, 2 queen beds, dinette table and chairs, desk and chair, and kitchenette, with ample space to move around. The bathroom is a little small in comparison to the size of the room, the separate vanity/sink is a plus. We never once had a problem with the wireless connection and the location is great. A short drive to main street Del Mar, about 1.5 miles to the racetrack, 20 minutes to the sea village and 30 minutes to San Diego. Would definitely stay here again. It's just wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for sharing the great experience you had at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. I am so happy to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay; relaxing our in our spacious rooms, lounged on the pool decks, enjoyed a cocktail by the outdoor fireplace and was able to take advantage of our great seaside location. We appreciate your support. Please come and visit us soon. We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

First time vacationing in Del Mar!!! Enjoyed the Hotel Indigo. The ocean view room was clean and after a day filled with shopping and seeing the sights around Del Mar and Solana Beach, it was nice to come back to the hotel to relax, unwind and enjoy the sunset evenings. The staff was excellent--personable, helpful and always a genuine warm smile. Enjoyed the restaurant for breakfast in the mornings and a cocktail in the evening after having an eventful day!!! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling to Del Mar for the first time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for sharing the great experience you had at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. We are honored to have served as your first hotel stay experience in Del Mar. We are so happy to hear you were able to take full advantage of our great location and have thoroughly enjoyed your stayed at our hotel. Please come back and stay with us soon. We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costa mesa, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We went away for the weekend and decided to stay one night in Del Mar an done night near the Gas Lamp district in the city. We wish we would have stayed both nights at Hotel Indigo. The rooms were clean, fresh and airy. The staff was excellent - personable, helpful, and cheerful!! This is not a huge hotel but it was very relaxing. We will go back for sure! Del Mar is a perfect getaway for couples who want to relax, unwind, enjoy the beach and some lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreabw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for sharing the great experience you had at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. We are so happy to hear you were able to take full advantage of our great location and have thoroughly enjoyed your stayed at our hotel. Please come back and stay with us soon. We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I moved from Del Mar a year and a half ago and we just returned for a long weekend. We loved the Hotel Indigo. It has very nice grounds with two pools and a hot tub. They have great outdoor areas to watch the sunset. We loved that we had an ocean view from the bed in our room. And it is nice to have the kitchenette with a mini fridge and microwave. We did not use the restaurant but the hotel is in walking distance to the great shops and restaurants in Del Mar. We would love to come back next year!

Room Tip: Third floor has no elevator but great ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamAlCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for sharing the great experience you had at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. Welcome back to Del Mar! We are so happy to have delivered the Del Mar experience you have missed. More importantly, we are glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed a nice two night stays relaxing in our spacious rooms, outdoor pools and watched the ocean from your bedroom. Please come back soon. We look forward to serving you and your husband again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
2.0 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
7.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
4.7 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Address: 710 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-3008 (Formerly Stratford Inn of Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#4 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Inn Of Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Best Western Stratford Hotel
Best Western Del Mar
Del Mar Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing