We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Nearby Hotels
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$249
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Artistes(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach(Solana Beach)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winners Circle Resort(Solana Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
194
203
84
42
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
203
84
42
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewmain buildinghardwood floorsthe cliffcoffee makerceiling fanmini kitchentorrey pineslarge roomminute drivebusiness centertwo blockswalking distance to the beachgreat roomwatch the sunsetrestaurants and shopspools
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed for 3 nights with my adult son. The room was large and oceanfront, with a deck overlooking the pool. The kitchen area might appeal to many, but I did not use/need. I would have liked to see some sort of beverage or snack item in the room. Water bottles would have been great! The bath linens were somewhat flimsy and the lighting in the toilet/shower room was very dull. The property configuration was unusual, but once we could locate our room, it was quite convenient to park. The front desk staff was very pleasant and the gym was large, but somewhat dated and hot. The location was great and the price was decent. While I have pointed out the negatives, I would stay at this property again.. It was clean, safe and a good deal. Overall, my stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. We are happy to hear you and your son had enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms, excellent service plus our ocean view location. I agree with you on that our bathroom lighting in some of our building two rooms are too dark. That is why we are currently going through a remodel, replacing all of our carpeted rooms with wood vinyl and upgrading our bathroom with spa shower experience. During the renovation, we will addressed the lighting issue and more light fixtures will be installed to enhance the bathroom experience. We appreciate the opportunity to host your recent stay. Please come back and visit us soon.

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We just returned from a quick overnight get-away to Del Mar and stayed at the Hotel Indigo Del Mar. We were pleasantly surprised by this property as we didn't have any real expectations since we did a bargain hunt online to find a good price.

Upon our check-in to the Hotel Indigo we were greeted by Desmond who was very pleasant. Later in the evening he even changed the channel on the lobby TV for us so we could catch the final few minutes of a basketball game that we wanted to see. Very good customer service!!

Luckily enough our room was in one of the recently renovated areas. (at least everything seemed quite new) We found our room super clean, comfortable, modern and very quiet. Very nice tile bathroom and terrific shower. The property has 2 pools, and we enjoyed a quiet hour or so reading at the main pool by the lobby area. What comfy lounge chairs!

Employee Jeff was also especially accommodating and helped us initially find our room while we were wandering around looking at our map. Very nice young man he is! The underground parking was handy and kept our truck nice and clean and our bikes safe.

Downtown Del Mar is a 10 or 15 minute walk from the property and we also went down to the beach which is fairly close as well. Del Mar is very upscale and you feel very safe on the dark streets late at night.

In the morning we took our bikes and peddled into town to enjoy a bagel and coffee at Breugger's Bagels while people watching in this beautiful coastal town. When we go back to Del Mar we would definitely stay at the Hotel Indigo again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAFab4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. We are so happy to hear your have thoroughly enjoyed our excellent service, spacious rooms and central location to the ocean and downtown Del Mar. I can agreed with you more on how great both Desmond and Jeff are. Thank you for taking the time to mention their name and the excellent customer service they have delivered. Now that you know where we are located, please come back and visit us soon.

Best Wishes,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Hotel is a nice little Oasis in Del Mar that still has some kinks to work out. Hotel is a converted Best Western and the rooms have that used to be a Motel feel to them. The public areas are very nicely appointed and the location is excellent, just a block from the beach. Some of the rooms are under construction at this time. Had a rude awakening when fire alarms went off at midnight in our block of rooms....at midnight. And there was no fire and no explanation. Really loud. This place will eventually be a great place to stay. For now, its good. Will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianmdr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your nice experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. Please accept my sincerely apology for the midnight fire drill. After some investigation, we have learnt that another guest had a very nice and long steamy shower that it trigger the sensitive sprinkler system. I am sorry that this mishap took away from your relaxation and enjoyment of your stay. Please be confident that we will always continue to improve and will deliver an even better experience on your next visit. We look forward to serving your again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I booked a king, ocean view room at a non-peak time. I arrived 2 hours before the 4pm check in time. The clerk was very friendly and made a point of doing me a big favor by checking me in early. Unfortunately, the room had a view of a dumpster with maybe a glimpse of the ocean. Worse, it had a stale odor, a stained carpet, a tiny bathroom with an old shower curtain. After running errands, I asked for another room. A different clerk graciously showed me 2 other rooms and confirmed that I had not been given the room I reserved.The next room was an improvement - clean and with a distant but decent ocean view. There are many nice touches here but they are thrown off by some sloppy choices such as the polyester duvet cover on the otherwise pleasant bed, the spartan balcony and the tiny (but clean) bathroom area. Avoid carpeted rooms!
The public areas are very nice and the staff were all gracious, friendly and helpful.
I want this place to succeed but they need to up their game a bit. It was too expensive for a bargain beach hotel and not quite nice enough for an (inexpensive) boutique hotel. However, it was pleasant enough to give another try.

Room Tip: Avoid carpeted rooms. Make sure you get what you reserved.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank llbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your nice experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. I appreciate your comments and the feedback regarding our rooms. We feel the same way as you do in regards to rooms with carpet. That is why we are currently going through a room upgrade to replace all carpet rooms with wooden floor vinyl plus replacing all bathtubs with spa shower experience. We are very excited about this renovation because it will bring all of our rooms up to the Boutique Hotel experience you have mentioned. We anticipate this upgrade project to be completed by the end of April. Please come back and visit us again. This time, we will make sure you try out one of our newly renovated rooms with ocean view.

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The website for this hotel looked fabulous. Unfortunately the maintanance and cleanliness leave much to be desired! The Oceanview Deluxe two Double Bed Room, while laid out nicely, was dusty, sticky and dingy. The kitchenette is terribly equipped with paperplates, a pan and a pot, but no dishtowel, detergent, or silverware (there were a few bags of plasticware).
The pool area was dirty as well. The cushions are dirt stained and the supplied towels too small to cover the dirty cushions (i had to use three of the handtowels size towels to cover the cushion length-wise, but could not cover the width...).
The on-premise restaurant was dissappointing as well. The first evening (a Friday), we ordered a spinach salad and fish tacos, and were told that the kitchen was out of greens (no salads at all), and out of tacos. Instead we ordered the crabcakes to our room (as we did not want to wait in the noisy and dirty dining area (the table was sticky and unclean). When the crabcakes arrived, there were two patties on a plain plate (eventhough the menu said it was served on a bed of greens), no lemon, or anything else. We were somewhat disappointed (for $16 one would expect more!). the waiter was nice enough not to charge us for the order.

The next evening we thought we could give the restaurant another try - we
were able to get a Caesar Salad and Fish Tacos, but our plates were dirty (the very friendly but slow waitress promptly brought a less dirty plate that we wiped with our napkins). Back in the room we wanted desert and they were again out of every desert item on the menu, but they had a chocolate cake The silver ware wrapped in the napkins was dirty (we had to wash it before using it), and we observed the bartender sloppily rinsing out a glass and reusing it.

If cleanliness is important to you, don't stay here! For $240 per night this was a deep disappointment!
The website also makes the hotel look much closer to the beach - the oceanview is only if you gaze way over several rows of houses. Maybe I just did not look close enough....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travalotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding our poor cleanliness and restaurant service. Please accept my sincere apology for not delivering the experience you have expected. I am ashamed to hear about the concerns you have shared. These comments will be shared and addressed with my entire staff. I really want to make it up to you for not living up to our guaranteed of service and amenities. Please contact me directly at 858 356 0305 or at mtam@pacificahost.com. Please be confident that this poor experience is not our norm. Your feedback are well received. Thank you again for sharing your concerns.

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews