We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice in Del Mar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
phoenix
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice in Del Mar”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Del Mar is lovely - quaint and a wonderful beach. Hotel is very nice - they are redecorating it with luxurious decor. Hotel staff could not have been more helpful. The breakfast is adequate, but very nice setting in a separate building near the pool. Will certainly visit there again. Get the ocean view room - beautiful at sundown!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripster453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear tripster4: A very big “Thank You” for your kind words. We’re proud of our beautiful beaches and Sea Side Village Location; it’s the best!

Your pleasure is our business, and when you’re here for business it’s our pleasure to assist. We look forward to you returning at your earliest opportunity.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    114
    50
    17
    27
See reviews for
106
138
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I think "charming" is the best word for this hotel. The room was small but well-appointed. There was a fridge, sink, coffee maker and microwave. Everything was clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept on. I enjoyed the garden courtyard and location near the water. Staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nita999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We took a family vacation trip Southern California. On our arrival to Del Mar our original reservation with a nearby hotel was overbooked so we had to find another hotel nearby on a busy summer weekend. Fortunately the Clarion had one room remaining and it had an ocean view. The staff was very professional and friendly. We made a request for a crib to be in our room and when we walked into our room the crib was already there. We made the reservation being about 5 minutes away from the hotel. So their turnaround was fairly quick. Our room was claen and accomodating. We enjoyed the Clarion and look forward to staying here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtheocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear jtheocc: Always a joy to read a family adventure went so well. We pride ourselves on Professionalism & Friendliness with a dash of willingness to assist whenever we can.

We look forward to you visiting again.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

...to the folks at The Clarion Del Mar Inn for making my stay one of the most relaxing and carefree times in recent memory. The room was immaculate, large and comfortable, and the service, A-1 all the way. Of course, the ocean view was a nice touch!
I'll be back next year, of course....or possibly again this year, if I can get away!
Big shout-out to the Mackeys. You guys did it again. Always a pleasure!!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view, if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin32530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Kevin32530: Thank you for your outstanding comments on Tripadvisor. It was truly a please meeting you & chatting re: Del Mar/La Jolla History.
Maybe some day you & family could return to live in paradise. In the meantime, I suppose Irvine will have to do, I hear it’s also pretty nice!
Next visit, (((I was serious about sharing with you some great local surf spots))) as I’ve been surfing here on & off ¾ of my life-time here in San Diego/Mexico.
When the time comes for a re-visit, (in the short term request one of our 3 show rooms, I’d greatly appreciate your input. Thank you for being a guest here at The Clarion Del Mar Inn.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

a stay-cation was well-needed, so my love and i spent a couple of nights at this lovely inn by the beach. we drove along the ocean on the 101 to find this place tucked away off the highway. the well groomed and blooming garden areas kept our attention on our walks to the beach (only a skip and a jump from the hotel) and the beautifully lit pool area (complete with a steamy jacuzzi) provided a pleasant atmosphere during our evening frivolities. clean rooms, very pleasant staff, prime location in del mar. a perfect place for a little getaway. :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrickyPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

By all means, consider this a great bargain of a hotel. No, it's not a spa. No, it's not a five star 'leave-a-mint-on-your-pillow' place to stay. It's a place to grab some carbs in the A.M., and a place to crash in the P.M. They have king size beds, with clean linens and no bugs...do you really NEED anything else?? If you sign-up for the Choice Hotel rewards program, and book three individual stays, you will earn a free night during another stay. Another bonus! Their continental breakfast does leave some to be desired- some more fresh fruit would be nice, maybe with yogurt shakes too, but you get what you pay for, and when you get more, you'll pay more! All in all, it met our needs and we will go back...as long as they keep their rates low it is a great deal!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jnlmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

four of us sitting in lovely pool area and enjoying the gardens then seeing two very big, fast rats running along second floor chair rail outside building. made me reconsider the continental breakfast and seeing doors open to lovely gardens with these rodents in residence. when i told young man at fron t desk, he (as with ants) made some comment about not unusual with gardens they have. well, not something i consider a fine ammenity. thought i should write for others to consider.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear csmith190: Thank you for your interesting observations & comments! Please allow me to assure you we have an outstanding pest control policy in place here at the hotel.

Knowing we’re within immediate proximity of Torrey Pines State Natural Preserve, next door to a Public Park - we do occasionally have furry friends & visitors; beautiful humming birds, wood peckers, squirrels, rabbits, raccoons, and even an occasional field mouse running through our gardens while visiting other local fields & gardens gathering nuts & berries.

I do regret you having to experience an unsightly event & greatly appreciate your comments, BUT, I’m confident at a distance seeing any movement would give you a fright!.

We’re even visited occasionally by local cats or dogs from the park next door.

Fortunately, no Lions, Tigers, or Bears!
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
819 reviews
2.0 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
209 reviews
7.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Address: 720 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-3008 (Formerly Del Mar Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#1 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing