We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Just spent 4 nights at the del mar inn. Great staff (Mike was very helpful), comfortable clean rooms, quiet and first class bed and bedding. Convenient location to everything. Will definitely come back! Big thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: I preferred the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear Darlene F: Truly a pleasure to read such praise from our guests re: our beautiful boutique hotel in America’s Finest City & our own Sea Side Village of Del Mar/La Jolla.

We truly pride ourselves on hospitality, simply treating our guests as “Our Guests” as if they’re visiting our homes & neighborhoods.

As a side note, my mother was from Arkansas, who probably thought me more about hospitality then all my years of formal training & education. Nothing like southern Hospitality!
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

My family and I stayed at the Del Mar Inn for 6 nights the last week of July. It was great. The positive points are the price, the lowest of the 15 or so hotels I looked at in San Diego; friendly staff that were always helpful regarding restaurants recommendations and things to do in SD; the fantastic view of the ocean - we had an ocean side room on the third floor, which I recommend - not sure if the first or second floor would be so clear of a view. With this view, our hotel room itself became a destination; free breakfast with a wide choice of options - pastries, bagels, oatmeal, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, tea & smoothies, and Rose, the very friendly attendant; newly renovated and clean room, especially the bathroom; free parking; nice pool and hot tub; washer/dryer on site - they make change and sell detergent at the front desk; walkable to village and beach in Del Mar (about 10-15 minutes in a lovely, quiet neighborhood) and still within 25 minutes to zoo and downtown San Diego (assuming no traffic on I-5, which we never hit).

The negative points (why I didn't give the hotel a 5) are: the room was a bit small, so that our bed was directly next to the a/c vent. I couldn't move the vent, so it blew on me when it was on. If the vent could be re-directed, the smallness of the room wouldn't really matter; poor water pressure in the shower (fixable, I guess); slow internet service at the business center computer (fixable); and terrible coffee for breakfast. I'm not at all a coffee snob - drink Maxwell House/Folgers at home. This is fixable too. If it matters, there is also no onsite fitness center but guests have access to a gym nearby. I exercise daily but got around this by running to the beach and on the beach every morning. That beat a fitness center hands down.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Dad45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear Travelling_Dad45: A brief note to “Thank You” for your kind words. We’re proud of our beautiful beaches and Sea Side Village Location; it’s the best!

And yes, all west facing rooms can see the Ocean & our incredible Sunsets.

Comments such as yours, inform us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Looking forward to having you & your family return again & again.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Del Mar is lovely - quaint and a wonderful beach. Hotel is very nice - they are redecorating it with luxurious decor. Hotel staff could not have been more helpful. The breakfast is adequate, but very nice setting in a separate building near the pool. Will certainly visit there again. Get the ocean view room - beautiful at sundown!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripster453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear tripster4: A very big “Thank You” for your kind words. We’re proud of our beautiful beaches and Sea Side Village Location; it’s the best!

Your pleasure is our business, and when you’re here for business it’s our pleasure to assist. We look forward to you returning at your earliest opportunity.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I think "charming" is the best word for this hotel. The room was small but well-appointed. There was a fridge, sink, coffee maker and microwave. Everything was clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept on. I enjoyed the garden courtyard and location near the water. Staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nita999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We took a family vacation trip Southern California. On our arrival to Del Mar our original reservation with a nearby hotel was overbooked so we had to find another hotel nearby on a busy summer weekend. Fortunately the Clarion had one room remaining and it had an ocean view. The staff was very professional and friendly. We made a request for a crib to be in our room and when we walked into our room the crib was already there. We made the reservation being about 5 minutes away from the hotel. So their turnaround was fairly quick. Our room was claen and accomodating. We enjoyed the Clarion and look forward to staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtheocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear jtheocc: Always a joy to read a family adventure went so well. We pride ourselves on Professionalism & Friendliness with a dash of willingness to assist whenever we can.

We look forward to you visiting again.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

...to the folks at The Clarion Del Mar Inn for making my stay one of the most relaxing and carefree times in recent memory. The room was immaculate, large and comfortable, and the service, A-1 all the way. Of course, the ocean view was a nice touch!
I'll be back next year, of course....or possibly again this year, if I can get away!
Big shout-out to the Mackeys. You guys did it again. Always a pleasure!!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view, if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin32530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Dear Kevin32530: Thank you for your outstanding comments on Tripadvisor. It was truly a please meeting you & chatting re: Del Mar/La Jolla History.
Maybe some day you & family could return to live in paradise. In the meantime, I suppose Irvine will have to do, I hear it’s also pretty nice!
Next visit, (((I was serious about sharing with you some great local surf spots))) as I’ve been surfing here on & off ¾ of my life-time here in San Diego/Mexico.
When the time comes for a re-visit, (in the short term request one of our 3 show rooms, I’d greatly appreciate your input. Thank you for being a guest here at The Clarion Del Mar Inn.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

a stay-cation was well-needed, so my love and i spent a couple of nights at this lovely inn by the beach. we drove along the ocean on the 101 to find this place tucked away off the highway. the well groomed and blooming garden areas kept our attention on our walks to the beach (only a skip and a jump from the hotel) and the beautifully lit pool area (complete with a steamy jacuzzi) provided a pleasant atmosphere during our evening frivolities. clean rooms, very pleasant staff, prime location in del mar. a perfect place for a little getaway. :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrickyPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
110 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#72 of 286 in San Diego
778 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

Address: 720 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-3008 (Formerly Del Mar Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#1 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range: £101 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing