We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Nearby Hotels
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Les Artistes(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winners Circle Resort(Solana Beach)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach(Solana Beach)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa L'Auberge(Del Mar)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
237
129
53
17
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
129
53
17
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewburritonice pool and hot tubon premisesquaint hotelbeautiful landscapingwithin walking distancethird floorwet barsan diegomini fridgerailroad trackslocation is greattwo blocksnice stayup to datecoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Living in the desert we periodically find the need to escape the heat with an overnight or weekend at the beach and a couple of weeks ago we did just that in Del Mar. The Clarion was easy to find and the staff was very friendly and helpful but we had limited needs. I do wish they had some signs or instructions posted telling how to get to the beach (perhaps they do & we missed them?). We tried the direct route and ended up on the cliffs and railroad tracks on our first attempt. But we also had a nice stroll through the surrounding neighborhood and picked out our favorite houses. And we had a gorgeous view of the water on our cliff/ridge hike. For future reference, beach is a bit north and then west. :)

The room was fine, needs an update (the manager replied to a customer survey I completed that updates are coming soon!). The bathrooms are big. The rooms are clean. And if you can swing it, you should go for the ocean view room - we had a great morning view of the ocean when we woke up.

It's an easy walk to pretty much everything - restaurants, shops, coffee, the beach. We didn't go for racing so I can't comment on walking to and from the track - I'm guessing it's very doable.

Will we stay again? Maybe. We have some other places we want to explore but we wouldn't have a problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Ocean view 3rd floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear AJMICK: Thank you for your wonderful compliments and comments for TripAdvisor. Your comments help viewers to better understand the hotel goals, to achieve OR exceed visitor expectations.

We understand you have other choices to visit and stay elsewhere in Del Mar/La Jolla. And, we thank you for visiting.

All comments are shared with staff to improve as necessary and also the complements for our diligent efforts to insure guests’ have the best possible experience while visiting.

We’ll work on those directional signs to the beaches. We look forward to you and your family return.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Spent one night mid-week, late summer, and must say the staff was great, very helpful, and even made reservations for us at a local seafood restaurant. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the ocean side have a balcony with a (slight) ocean view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndyGoldie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear IndyGoldie60: Thank you for your great compliments and comments for TripAdvisor. Your comments help viewers to better understand the hotel goals, to achieve OR exceed visitor expectations. We understand you have other choices to visit and stay elsewhere in Del Mar/La Jolla. And, we thank you for visiting again and again.

All comments are shared with staff to improve as necessary and also the complements for our diligent efforts to insure guests’ have the best possible experience while visiting.

We look forward to you and your family return.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

As far as, a clean, well located hotel with decent amenties, Clarion Del Mar is tops in its category. The room upgrades are lovely, and very helpful for families trying to stay on a budget. What makes this visit different, is the things we missed having. While the new bistro is reasonably priced and pretty good for its food offering and value, nothing beats the great breakfast that they used to include with your room. We miss that option. We also missed the cookies in the afternoon and the free coffee that used to be offered. We also did not appreciate the housekeeping staff pounding on our door at 8:30 in the morning to clean our room. On another note, we had the unfortunate timing of visiting when the city decided to lay manure on the baseball field next door. Our first morning we came down to the bistro for breakfast, and were overwhelmed by the fumes. Here's the good news...we mentioned it to the staff at the bistro, and they called the general manager. He got on the phone immediately to the city. While there was nothing anyone could do about it for this visit, I was impressed at their urgency to respond to the problem. Next year the city will wait until after to racing season to lay the manure. Sadly, it made us close our windows and kept us from dining onsite. We had to limit our time at the pool, otherwise we ended up with throats and eyes stinging and burning from the fumes. The staff here is always pleasant and helpful, and the facilities are always clean.

Room Tip: Third floor facing the ocean
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tikijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear tikijo: Thank you for your wonderful compliments on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate you sharing your comments with others who maybe searching for accommodations.

Sadly, we do apologize for the grass treatment used during your visit. I did everything in my power to stop then from continuing the spread of the grass treatment, but as you could see for yourselves, most the field was already covered. AND YES, The City Manager himself assured me this will not happen again…

Reading your comments indicates you’ve visited us before, knowing of the great light buffet breakfast we used to serve. Having to move with the times, too many comments of not having food & beverage on site was simply overwhelming.

Guests wanted more options, so we now offer Breakfast & Dinner to choose. Many guests like yourselves enjoy remaining at the property to jumpstart their mornings with a great breakfast. As with Dinner OR even late night snacks.

I can’t ever read enough of our superior staff members; they’re truly all our hero’s with visiting clients and vacationers alike.

We hope to have you return again and again, Safe Travels!
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My Wife and i have made yearly trips to Del Mar for the past 8 years. We have stayed at all the local hotels in Del Mar and Solano Beach. This hotel was very small and recently upgraded. The room was very nice and with an ocean view. The pool is not heated but the spa worked good. The food at the hotel was OK but the help at the hotel was excellent. A pleasure to spend time watching the sun go down.

Room Tip: Second or third floor rooms facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Douglas L: Seems like the summer for return trips to Del Mar & The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel are on the rise. 8 years & returning, Del Mar is an outstanding location & Sea Side Village with all the wonders of beach local & amenities for an excellent pleasure vacation & time to watch our incredible sunsets.

Thank you for staff compliments, we work very hard to offer exceptional service. Our new bistro is still working on the menu; we hope to have more to offer on your next trip. We strive for excellence, not just OK.

My apologies our pool wasn’t warm enough for you, we do keep our pool temperature at a constant 78 degrees, some like it HOT, & others like it a bit cooler. We’ll research your concerns to determine appropriate water temperature.

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor for others to read while exploring options to stay while visiting Del Mar. Hope to have you visit again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for over 20 years for little vacations. It has always been a charming, wonderful place to stay. It is not fancy but, rather simple, clean with incredible hotel personnel who excel at great customer service and graciousness. I recently stayed at the hotel in one of the newly renovated rooms. The upgrades are excellent - updated rooms, bathrooms, great lighting but the same understated grace as before. The grounds are lovely with lots of plants and blooms, access to the beach is a quick walk through a gate and down a path and many rooms have ocean views. You cannot beat the location - in the village of Del Mar within walking distance to great restaurants and shops and it easily beats the experience at the other nearby hotels in every way. It's new little bistro restaurant has a nice selection of food and the patio is a great place to relax and enjoy the beach weather.

Room Tip: Until the first floor is renovated which is starting soon according to the concierge, request one of the renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear stephanie s: A true verteran visitor of The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel. I sometimes believe I’m repeating myself, BUT thank you, thank you, & thank you!

I sincerely appreciate you sharing your comments on TripAdvisor for others to read while exploring locations to visit.

We’re very proud of our upgrades and updated rooms, & I agree you can’t beat our Sea Side Location.

Finally, our new Bistro is the Best, I understand we can’t compete with Local Favorites like Jake’s, Poseidon, or Pacifica Del Mar as these are but a few of the best restaurants in Del Mar, if not San Diego. We simply offer a great food & beverage source for those not wanting to go out to relax & enjoy a great breakfast or dinner.

We look forward to you visiting The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel again & again.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews