We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonds, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beachy!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

There are only 3 hotels in downtown Del Mar and this was the first one we tried. It was excellent! We asked for an ocean view and got a 3rd floor room. Accommodations were modern, the King bed was comfy (both sides had a small table!) and the shower had great water pressure. There was a small fridge (empty) and a microwave which was nice for saving and reheating leftovers... the Americana is a must for breakfast! For a room under $200/night I'm not sure we'll try the other 2 places.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mardy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Mardy1: Wow! As a seasoned veteran traveler, your comments really help soooo many with others who travel and review TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate you taking time to compliment our newly renovated Hotel with all the trimmings (it’s holiday season).

Most importantly, you enjoyed yourselves during your visit and experiencing all the wonderful local flavors of Del Mar.

We hope to have you visit again and again.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    123
    50
    17
    27
See reviews for
111
145
34
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atkinson, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I can't say enough good things about the Clarion Del Mar Inn. The rooms are modern and immaculate. The rates are great. The location and staff are outstanding. It is within walking distance to the quaint Del Mar restaurants and shops, as well as the beach. If I was visiting Del Mar, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The onsite restaurant is a great place to start or wind up your day. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to the Del Mar Inn. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Rich K: Thank you for your great comments on TripAdvisor. As with sooo many other comments similar to yours, the entire staff strives to make your business or vacations complete.

MANY of our guests have complimented us on our newly renovated hotel and most importantly, they enjoyed their visit even more with the new wet bars and expanded bathrooms.

AND also mentioned how much they “really enjoyed our new Bistro Cafe”. We truly appreciate your compliments.

I’ll be sure and share your comments with our staff.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Newly renovated rooms and fresh looking seaside feel. Staff is accommodating with a smile. No frills but bathrooms very modern and large. Conveniently close enough to walk to downtown in 10 or so minutes. Bistro good for quickie meal or snack. Good experience overall.

Room Tip: Ocean view on upper floors (over parking lot). Front of hotel on main street (over pool).
See more room tips
Green Features: Had "green" policies in place. Good use of fresh air and vegetation.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycouple033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear happycouple033: Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. I must sometimes sound like a broken record, but soooo many guests have complimented us on our newly renovated hotel.

AND most importantly, they enjoyed their visit even more with the new wet bars and expanded bathrooms AND also mentioned how much they “really enjoy our new Bistro”.

We truly appreciate your compliments. I’ll be sure and share your comments with our staff.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the Clarion Del Mar in September and were pleasantly surprised
at the hospitality and were able to walk to restaurants, the weather was great
and they even upgraded our room that looked out over the ocean

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azfordman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear asfordman: Thank you for your very kind comments on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate you sharing with other guests who may be reviewing your comments to assist their decision making process.

We understand you have many choices when it comes to hotel stays; we’re excited you chose us for your visit to Del Mar/La Jolla for your recent stay.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I were celebrating a special anniversary on September 30, so we wanted to stay at a place close to the ocean. After doing much research on line, we decided on the Del Mar Inn. We are retired on a fixed income so we were greatly disappointed when we were told that an ocean view room would cost $20 more per night. As we were staying two nights, Sept. 30 and Oct. 1, we felt that $40 extra for the ocean view was a bit excessive so we did not book a room with the ocean view. The room (#323) that we had did not have a great view, but it was a lovely, large room, decorated beautifully. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had plenty of counter space and a very large shower. All in all, it was a lovely place to stay, but there is a lack of restaurants nearby. We would stay there again, and we would be happy to recommend the place to anyone.

Room Tip: It costs $20 extra per night for an ocean view.
See more room tips
Green Features: I have read about the environmentally friendly practices, and I think they are great
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Pat S: Thank you for taking the time to write comments on TripAdvisor to share with other readers to review our Sea Side Hotel in Del Mar.

I do apologize for any mis-communication, if we were made aware of your special visit AND choosing us over many other choices, I'm confident we'd taken action to provide you with all available resources to you and your significant other. Happy Anniversary.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your comments will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thomas Mackey
Clarion Inn Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a very nice facility, newly remodeled. The rooms are comfortable and most come with a balcony and a nice view of the horizon. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach and just about any kind of major restaurant flavor. The staff was very accommodating and the lady managing the breakfast was above and beyond courteous and kind to the children. We would definitely love to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have balconies and a decent view of the horizon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear DW: Thank you for the awesome review on TripAdvisor. Your experience helps others know we’re willing to go that extra mile to exceed guest expectations.

It’s our privilege to care for our visitors while in our Sea Side Village of Del Mar.

I’ll be sure to share your compliments with all staff members.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My spouse and I, from DC, were visiting southern CA and booked the Clarion Del Mar Inn for a two night stay after considering many on-line options and "specials" from LaJolla to Encinitas. We wanted something that offered privacy, comfort, convenience and economy and were extremely pleased that we succeeded on all counts. We were even more pleased and pleasantly surprised with the décor and condition of our room, which appeared recently upgraded. We had recently stayed in a downtown higher-end hotel and found this room to be more appealing and accommodating and much less expensive. From the color of the walls to the new designer bathroom, everything surpassed our expectations. We had a second floor ocean side room with a decent view of the ocean and slept with the balcony doors open. Extremely quiet and private despite the parking area below. We also utilized the laundry facilities and discovered machines that were in excellent shape. While there was only one washer and dryer, we did not have to wait and the front desk had plenty of quarters. We had breakfast in the bistro, good service and food, and it felt more like a B&B than a hotel, with very friendly staff and intimate setting. Great experience all the way around!

Room Tip: Perhaps a third floor ocean side room to maximize the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Alan W: Thank you for the great review on TripAdvisor. We’re sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your experiences with others who may review your comments.

Sooo many other guest’s have similar comments with our newly renovated facility. I’m VERY proud of all our staff members as they really enjoy interacting with guest’s and visitors.

It’s our privilege to visitors enjoy all while in our Sea Side Village of Del Mar in America’s Finest City.

I’ll be sure to share your compliments with all staff members.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
7.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Address: 720 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014 (Formerly Del Mar Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#1 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing