We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with gorgeous ocean views and friendly staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Haymarket, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with gorgeous ocean views and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I were visiting our son's family and 3 grandchildren in San Diego. We decided to make it a sort of "getaway" too for the both of us. Del Mar is only 5 miles from my son's home. We truly enjoyed our little "hotel house" room! Loved the kitchen inside the closet! Also appreciated having lights in the closet. We could watch the sunset at night from our balcony, and it brought back many memories of my childhood in San Diego. In addition, the hotel is within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. We definitely plan on staying there again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gma-Dodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Gma-Dodd: Truly a great read to have you and your family re-united during your visit here at The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel in The Sea Side Village of Del Mar.

Our recent sunsets have been truly spectacular along our beautiful Del Mar coastline. It’s a pleasure to read all your family members enjoyed themselves while visiting, AND enjoying your “getaway” with fun in the sun.

I was speaking with a guest from Boston, who commented, we should have “Sunny Days” off whereas the east coast has “Snow Days” off. The weather has been outstanding throughout these winter months.

Looking forward to you and your husband returning for another great getaway.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    112
    50
    17
    27
See reviews for
106
136
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tuolumne City, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were going to stay inland to be closer to the work site but with the reverse commute the travel to work and back to this beautiful location was a great choice. The grounds are clean and well kept. We can walk to the beach or into town for great meals.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Bill M: All of us here at The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel greatly appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor.

When you share; others listen and determine based on real reviews from other travelers where to stay while on business or on vacation.

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a few kind words regarding our Boutique Hotel.

If you’re ever return to our area, we’d enjoy having you return as an honored guest.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is the second trip we have made to the Clarion.
We had a get together here in October and we had 7 rooms. We all love the Clarion and posted pictures on face book. Cool grounds , patio and great rooms!! The people who work there became instant friends.
The Romero's (the world famous guitar family live near the Clarion in Del Mar) and came to the patio for our reception( and the Staff was thrilled.)Sir Pepe Romero commented at how beautiful the hotel grounds were. It was a true hit. And such a great night sleep.
All i can say is I'm not sure how the other reviewers had a bad time, They must be looking for things to be upset by.

Room Tip: Try the ocean vies on second and third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear James H: Thank you for taking time out to write comments on TripAdvisor.
The buzz around the hotel when you and “The Romero’s” we’re here and hanging out at the Bistro. My staff member was so excited he called me and requested to stay open later to take care of you and others enjoying themselves.

Don’t know if Chris mentioned, he also plays guitar. Chris felt serving the gang was like a dream come true to observe all you chatting, playing and having a great time for all.

That’s what The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel & GREAT STAFF are all about; these moments and memories that will last a life time.

Hope to have you return again and again, and bring your guitars anytime.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We reserved a deluxe, top floor room with an ocean view,and a balcony. The room was very small. There was only 1 chair. The balcony did have a blue water ocean view, and was so small that the 1 chair did not fit on it. My husband was injured , and using crutches. The walk from the parking was long. It was a cheap imitation of a nice hotel, and the price didn't reflect the qality.

Room Tip: Get a top floor,ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZCAlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear ZCAlady: I want to personally apologize to you for not exceeding your expectations at our Boutique Hotel in the Sea Side Village of Del Mar.

I wish you and your husband a Happy New Year and the best of health; hoping your husband will be off those crunches very soon.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Clarion Del Mar Inn. Front desk help was very friendly and helpful. Loved the convenient location, walked 8 blocks to dinner in Del Mar village every night. We checked in Christmas Eve and were upgraded free to newly remodeled room on 2nd floor. It was very quiet first two days. Property was much busier after that and noisy remodeling of other rooms was going on during daylight hours (but no disturbances at night). Pool and hot tub, as well as Mediterranean garden area, very clean and serene. Although it is right along the highway, the property is tucked down a steep hillside and road noise is not a problem. Property is only a couple blocks from the beach, but direct access is dangerous due to sea cliffs - although local surfers climb right down them. Best route is the same 8 blocks to the village and then west a couple blocks to lovely park, with picnic tables, sand showers, benches, rest rooms, etc. You can walk on powdery sand for miles in either direction!

Room Tip: No real ocean view from first floor, book 2nd or 3rd on ocean side, if you want to see water. Opposi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear LovesExploring: Thank you for the great comments on Tripadvior regarding our newly renovated Boutique Hotel.

Exploring is what makes The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel so perfect for those willing to adventure out and about Del Mar and all our “Beachy” surroundings.

Hope to have you return again and again.

Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Del Mar Inn is a quaint, yet modern and recently renovated place to stay. Ideally located within site of the ocean, it is close to San Diego and all of the recreational spots popular with people from all over the world! If it's shopping you want then Westfield Mall in La Jolla is the place for you. Not just any mall, it has a Nordstrom! Need I say more? This entire area has to be seen to be appreciated. So much for the setting, now to the facility itself. Del Mar Inn has comfortable rooms and a staff that is friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The Bistro was recently added and serves breakfast and dinner. We live nearby and can just stay home when we are in the area. But The Del Mar Inn will make you feel as if you ARE at home. We wholeheartedly recommend it!

Room Tip: Can't give much help with this as we have always had a great room! Perhaps there are NO bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank El_Conde2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear El_Conde2013: As with many other compliments to our facility and customer service. We believe it’s a way of life, not just our job to always attempt to exceed guests’ expectations.

Thank you for the great compliments regarding location, our fantastic rooms, and finally our outstanding staff members always ready, willing and able to assist with all requests, if we can ‘t find it , we’ll find someone who does. That’s our philosophy!

We’re always attempting for guests to feel right at home. After all, this "IS" your temporary home away from home. That’s why we’re so very diligent in our efforts with hotel settings, having nooks all about the hotel to escape, our Library, our Gazebo, our lounge around our fire pit and more. For when it’s time to work – our Biz Net Center fits the bill for your list of items to accomplish.

We’re here for you, our visitors and guests only wanting peace of mind to enjoy their stay here at The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel.
Cheers,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our company had a big group from around the world staying at the Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel, and held a meeting at their facility. Our guests were very impressed with the rooms and comfort of the hotel. The meeting room full filled all our needs and the efficiency and set up where completely satisfactory, plus the cost of the hotel rooms where very reasonable. The location of the hotel is perfect, since it is in the heart of Del Mar, and easy to walk to places like restaurants, shops and most of all the beautiful beaches of Del Mar. We are highly recommending Clarion Del Mar Inn, because of the charming european flair of the hotel & rooms and especially the staffs very personal, caring touch. Thank you !

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constanze C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Constanze C: Thank you for your ever so kind comments on TripAdvisor. It’s truly our pleasure to offer our hotel & facilities to you and your group.

I want to personally thank you and Brian for this opportunity to “show-case” our newly renovated facilities to you and your colleagues.

Also, thank Brian for being such a great sport keeping the meetings on track & on time.

As promised, we’re perfect for small groups and meetings under 100 with our Southern California Sunshine and Ocean views from the Bistro Café.

Changing plans on the fly is our specialty; we completely understand why the group chose to eat outside verses inside with the fantastic weather we were experiencing during their conference.

NOTE: I was acting as photographer for several of your visitors taking pictures with various devices. They were very excited with the views and incredible one of a kind Sunsets.

We look forward to hosting future events for your company.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wave Crest Resort
Wave Crest Resort
#6 of 7 in Del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Address: 720 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-3008 (Formerly Del Mar Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#1 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing