We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clarion Del Mar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Clarion Del Mar”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very comfortable, very quiet, very clean hotel. Well maintained and operated. We had an issue when we checked in because we booked thru a 3rd party consolidator. The front desk handled the issue quickly and efficiently. The king size bed is one of the most comfortable beds I ever slept in. The rooms also have a wet bar and microwave which was an added plus. The garden view is very nice and tranquil. We had an ocean view which was very nice too.. Easy walking distance to town and the beach. Centrally located off, easy access to I5 highway. Would I stay there again? Absolutely YES.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear SteveM1: Happy we should help, it’s always challenging with 3rd party on line travel agencies, many don’t know, but we’re bound by contract to abide by our agreements without change. On some few instances, we can help, & we’re glad we could assist in this instance.

Couldn’t have said it better I, comfortable, quiet & very clean – newly renovated. We’re receiving raves about our new bathrooms, wet bar & other one of a kind furnishings. Beachy…

Close to our village, & close to all of San Diego, driving minutes to so much. As I mentioned in an earlier comment, Location, Location, Location.

Right next door to La Jolla & Torrey Pines State Beaches & Preserve for hiking, fun & adventure. A great place to hike and take some of the greatest Photos you may ever have for memories to last a lifetime.

I know New York is a bit of a distance, but if you can ever return, we hope we’ve earned your business.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    114
    50
    17
    27
See reviews for
106
138
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Another fantastic stay in the Clarion Del Mar! Clean, quite and always relaxing I still can't say enough great things about this unique ocean view hotel. Still love watching the gorgeous sunsets from behind your hotel and the great hiking at Torrey Pines! Thanks again for the great hospitality and look forward to many more stays in one of my favorite cities and hotels!

Room Tip: Check out the Bistro for a really great breakfast experience! Very tasty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O0hlala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear 0Ohlala: A great big shout out to all you Phinicians coming from Arizona...

It’s always a pleasure to read returning visitors to our great little hotel in Del Mar/La Jolla/Torrey Pines. So many overlook how close we are to La Jolla/Torrey Pines – (((literally right next door))). Hiking Torrey Pines State Preserve is one of our favorites for those who enjoy walking the soft bluffs and enjoying the majestic coastline of Del Mar/La Jolla/Torrey Pines – simply nature’s best!

AND, the Sunsets, well nothing short of magnificent…

Hope to have you return again when time permits for another great adventure.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nice hotel - newly remodeled - very reasonable price for del mar as the one next door is almost three times the price. Must get the ocean view room. No breakfast but a nice little bistro on site. Staff is very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripster453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Tripster453: Hey, how’s about a super shout out to our Phoenician friends. Thank you for your ever so nice comments on TripAdvisor.

You’ve been with us before, and I truly hope you enjoyed all the new refurbishments. Maybe even tried the new Bistro, great food without the huge prices, where can you find a hamburger for $8.00 in Del Mar? Yes, great location, great food, and great customers and visitors to Del Mar.
Hope to meet next time tripster…
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a quaint hotel with beautifully maintained property. Room is very nicely appointed, great renovation of the large bathroom, love the kitchenette- rooms are spacious enough, although you shouldn't be spending all your time in the room with the beach down the road. The 2 block access to beach is for the adventurous only as you climb down a cliff, otherwise only a mile drive. Cherise in the office was very kind and helpful, as were the rest of the team there. Would recommend this hotel and will stay again.

Room Tip: beach view would help cool down the room
See more room tips
Green Features: not much to do in this area for children, geared toward relaxation
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear John M: Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor, you may have just missed the fair opening June 7th. Ideal for kids of all ages, my apologies as we must have just missed your visit to Del Mar.

I’d offered one of our basketballs, footballs, soccer balls for the kids to play next door at the park. Or, maybe a hike at Torrey Pines State Reserve. Up the road is Birch Aquarium, one of the most exciting places to share with the entire family.

Next time you visit, please ask for me personally & I’ll make sure you have “ALL” necessary information to have a great visit. I can only apologize if my staff members didn’t offer you this same information to enjoy while visiting our Beautiful Coastline in Del Mar.

Hope to have you return again into the immediate future.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a great hotel for business or vacation travel. It is minutes away from major destinations such as: La Jolla and Torrey Pines State Beaches and Business Park. The beach is walking distance and if you are on the third floor, you will wake up to the beautiful view of the beach. Talk to the owner (Thomas) he is always around and has an amazing hyper local knowledge that will make your trip more exciting.

Room Tip: Third floor for beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biztra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Biztra: Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor, I don’t believe I could have written a better summation regarding the hotel than your comments. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. It’s always great to read positive notes about our location, AND, really all the amazing things to do all around Del Mar.

Even now we have UCSD Graduations in town, the famous Del Mar County Fair, which sooooo many love to visit and enjoy all the one of a kind inventions along with the great products sold throughout the Fair. These are my favorites, but there’s also breath taking rides to thrill those strong hearted adrenaline individuals who enjoy having the ride of their lives at the Fair. So much to do and enjoy all year here in Del Mar.

Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our group of 32 travelers had been in country for 5 days prior to arriving at the Clarion Del Mar Inn. Managed by Thomas Mackey and his talented team, our school group was welcomed in an efficient manner with little to no idle time. By far the best reception we received during our two weeks in California. The recent renovation has left the facility gleaming from top to bottom and is worthy of most discriminating guests. We elected to use the pool facility which was soothing and so close to the Bistro that offered a delicious menu. Pierce was extremely helpful in preparing our large group order ahead of our early morning departure. Thank you to Sheila Z. for her patience and efforts beyond the normal work day to ensure our special needs students were accomodated.

The teachers on this excursion were able to relax knowing that this professional hospitality team was looking after every one of our travel needs! Thank you so much Clarion Del Mar Inn!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Jaime H. A big shout out to all you Canadians visiting America’s Finest City and our own Sea Side Village of Del Mar/La Jolla/Torrey Pines – (((All right next door to each other))). AND, thank you for your great comments on TripAdvisor.

You experienced first-hand the value of knowing your staff members and their capabilities to offer “Great Customer Service”. It’s truly a pleasure to read we’ve completed a job well done by visitors like yourself. Being a DAD myself and understanding teenage peaks & valleys, I can truly relate.

Being prepared all we could for you & your visiting chaperones & scholars. Just FYI, your group was great, enjoying themselves with all that Del Mar & surrounding areas had to offer.

I only wish I could have joined you on some of your adventures. Maybe next time.

Safe travels, & if there’s ever anything I or anyone of our staff members can do to assist, please contact us at your convenience.
Cheers…
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We love Del Mar and we were very happy w/the size of our room, as well as how helpful they were to accomodate our needs. We originally received a pool view room, and my husband went to the front desk upon our arrival and check in and asked if they could give us an Ocean view instead. No problem! This really made our stay so much more enjoyable. We kept the sliding glass window open each night and could hear the ocean as we fell asleep. We were there on a weekend and it wasn't very busy in the pool or restaurant area, and we loved the locaiton as it was close to everything we were doing that weeeknd. I'd come back and stay here if the rate is right! Highly recommend it - and the staff was also very courteous, esp the housekeeping group.

Room Tip: ask for 3rd floor ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear NanCI: Big shout out to Berwyn, Pennsylvania. It’s always great to read we were able to modify your reservation so you and others would “have that perfect stay”.
Hearing the waves at night to put you to sleep is one of the greatest feelings ever! Our light sea breezes sooth while melting away your stress from any occasion.

LOCATION; can’t be beat, we’re not only in the Sea Side Village of Del Mar, but right next to La Jolla and many don’t realize how close we are to the rest of San Diego. Drive 10 short minutes to LEGOLAND to the north, 10/15 minutes to SeaWorld, and only 20 minutes to San Diego Zoo. All the while being here at the beach.

Thank you for your great comments on TripAdvisor, We really appreciate you sharing your feelings, thoughts and compliments with sooooo many. Others read to determine where to stay often based on these types of comments. I SINCERELY THANK YOU!

Hope to have you return on your travels into the future.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
819 reviews
2.0 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
209 reviews
7.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Address: 720 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-3008 (Formerly Del Mar Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#1 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing