We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard bed uncomfortable room. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The good: you can see the ocean and the shower is nice and they make good hamburgers for $8 in the on site patio cafe.
The bad: no comfortable chair or sofa in the room. The bed is super hard. Room lacks any decor -- it's depressing. Won't be back...it's not worth the ocean view if you're miserable.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Mike B: Thank you for the compliments on our Bistro, we make grrrreat hamburgers & yes – they’re only $8.00 - with fries – WOW!!!

I’m truly sorry if your bed felt hard, all our beds are only a year old & we normally receive great compliments on our Serta Sleeper Beds. Unfortunate to read you were uncomfortable.

Sounds like either you felt miserable, OR, you believe the room was miserable?

In either case, I truly hope you have a great rest of the summer.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nice hotel, clean, rooms are comfortable the staff are all highly service originated and aim to please. I have stayed at many hotels in the Del Mar Village area and will now add this to my list of ones I will definitely return to. I believe you too will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: I have only stayed her once and had room 121 and found it quite pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4EIEIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear 4EIEIO: Big shout out to you in Pasadena – Love old parts of that town… Hope you and yours had a grrrreat time at the races; they’ve become an event to truly enjoy with races, concerts, Beer & Wine festivals, Chile Cook-offs and sooo much more.

Thank you for your great comments and compliments on TripAdvisor, we truly appreciate you taking time out of your day to write a few words to offer a heads-up to other visitors.

We really do try our best to make everything great for our guests and visitors. Great to read you enjoyed yourself while visiting America’s Finest City and our own Sea Side Village of Del Mar –Where the Surf really does Meets the Turf…
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was traveling solo and was spending most of my time with friends who live in Del Mar.

With that in mind, this was a great location since I did want to be on the beach and not on the east side of the I-5. Not only was it an easy walk to the beach, if you use the 15th Street access to the beach you walk through the Dell Mar restaurant / store district.

The room was good for me. Free wifi and a kitchenette with a mini-fridge. Very useful if you are like me and have left overs from American restaurants (servings too large).

Also it is a great location for all of the local sites. An easy jump down to Mexico. Or an easy drive to LA.

Room Tip: Beach view- only on one side of the hotel (of course)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Peter H: Thank you for the great compliments regarding our facility. Great location to bounce around San Diego altogether – North, South, East OR a short walk to the West at the beautiful Blue Pacific Ocean.

Unfortunately YES, we only have ½ the hotel facing the Ocean – wish we had more, someday…

We try not to be sneaky – No hidden charges here, NO RESORT FEES, Free WIFI, Free Parking, Great views and sooooo much more for those wanting fun and adventure.

Hope to have you back when you’re in town for visiting friends in Del Mar.
Take care and safe travels…
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here two nights with two children and enjoyed the stay. Five minutes to La Jolla and only twenty minutes from Sea World. A very easy walk down to the beach to enjoy the most amazing sunset and a very active shopping/restaurant district. The room wasn't anything over the top spectacular, but it had everything you need... mini-fridge (for the beer after the kids go to bed), coffee maker (to wake you up before you embark off to Sea World), microwave and sink. The bathroom has a spectacular walk-in shower and the property as a whole was very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Steve C: Thanks’ for the great comments on TripAdvisor. Always a great read knowing the little ones also enjoyed themselves, while the grown-ups had a blast…

Great location, great beaches and I agree AMAZING SUNSETS…

Having the essentials for you and the family is why we renovated in the first place, thank you for the compliment on our NEW Bathrooms, they’re the best.

If you ever make it out this way again, we’ll be sure to have a room for family fun for you folk from Kansas.
Cheers,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I liked this hotel. It was clean and updated, well located, beautiful landscaping and it had a small kitchenette area in the closet. The shower was huge and cool. I would recommend this hotel.

I did have my mom traveling w/ me and we forgot her handicap sticker which made the parking difficult. It in on a slope and stairs need to be taken into the building if you park in the back. If she was with me, I would have to reconsider this location.

Also to get in and out of the parking lot, it was sloped so much that, unless you were an experienced driver, it could make you uncomfortable.

All and all, a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Debbie S: My sincerest apologies for any inconvenience your mother may have encountered, yes we’re on a serious slope, BUT, also gives you some of the most beautiful Ocean Views AND Sunsets ever.

I certainly hope you’ll return with your mother, we’re working on permitted ADA parking to make it much easier for path of travel.

Hope you visit soon, and thank you for your kind words on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We felt at home in this very clean quaint property. The service and friendly accommodating staff were impressive. There is a very functional small kitchen nook with refrigerator, sink, microwave, and cupboards in each room. We are very particular about hotel properties and would return to this property. We rated the sleep quality a 4 rather than 5 because of the loud wall air conditioner.

Room Tip: Request 2nd or 3rd ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Jan H: We can always promise quaint, friendly, and clean – but sometimes with the crowds, it can be a little noisy. But, it’s the kind of noise you enjoy hearing when family and friends are laughing out loud to a funny joke or some other comical prank.

Lots of families stay and enjoy the hotel and park next door with basketball, football, and soccer and other family or friendly sports.

Of course, let’s not forget the world famous beaches of La Jolla/Del Mar/Torrey Pines. It’s all great here for fun in the sun in The Sea Side Village of Del Mar.

Thank you for the great comments on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Del Mar, san diego is a BEAUTIFUL area. this hotel is close to the beach and a shopping area and you can easily walk to a trail type thing that looks out over the whole beach and ocean and look at the sunset etc. loved it. theres a very nice pool and hot tub there and theres a small cafe just out the back with very good food. i loved everything in this hotel, it was a very nice, clean, welcoming environment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Meisg: It’s always great to read comments from a “SENIOR REVIEWER ON TripAdvisor” your comments help others determine where to / or where not to visit.

In our case, we greatly appreciate your very kind comments with respect to our facilities and amenities.

So THANK YOU for visiting and we all hope you have a great adventure here in Sunny Southern California.
Hope you return again and again.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
110 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#67 of 286 in San Diego
778 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

Address: 720 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-3008 (Formerly Del Mar Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#1 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range: £103 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing