We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Nearby Hotels
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Les Artistes(Del Mar)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winners Circle Resort(Solana Beach)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach(Solana Beach)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa L'Auberge(Del Mar)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
237
129
53
17
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
129
53
17
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewburritonice pool and hot tubon premisesquaint hotelbeautiful landscapingwithin walking distancethird floorwet barsan diegomini fridgerailroad trackslocation is greattwo blocksnice stayup to datecoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We thought we would watch a movie in the room. All that was offered was basic cable. For having such a big tv in room that was a big disappointment..great location nice staff..air conditioning is next to bed. Its loud...it was a rare day very humid so we couldn't open the sliding door...over all hotel is ok will never stay there again will pay 50 dollars more and stay somewhere nice..

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Matt M: Thank you for your comments; it’s unfortunate to read you’re unhappy. My staff should have informed you we offer TMC (((The Movie Channel))) for our guests along with 77 other basic Cable channels to choose.

I’d definitely agree it’s been a humid summer, again, I feel we failed you if the air conditioning being too loud for your taste.

Not opening the 6 foot sliders really lets the Sea Breeze in to cool the room, I’m guessing you’re much like me; I enjoy a constant 68-degrees in my office.

I sincerely hope you’ll allow us another opportunity to “make it right” into the future – Please…

Hope to have you visit again sooo we can make your visit more enjoyable.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Clarion on a Saturday night , we're locals to San Diego and wanted to spend sometime around Del mar and catch a Race night and concert. I ended up booking quite early in advance the rate was higher then we wanted for a double bed room one night. Buuuuttt You can see the Ocean and a short drive to the sand and a great flat trail close by made for a great morning walk. So based on that alone the fee is comprable to many spots in SD close to the shore for hotels. We had an ocean view the balcony we had 3rd floor spacey; looks out over other buildings , but you can feel the ocean in the air and you see the blue sea and I'm sure sun up ; sunset are beautiful, we unfortunately had a gloomy weekend so we didn't see it And slept in the next morning ..... The double beds are small you can call them average if you wish Clarion but im a shorty and my husband and I prob would have slept separately if we had though of it. They are also pretty hard beds I'm ok with it but my husband was uncomfortable. The room was clean and was new and updated We loved the mini kitchen fridge, micro sink Awesome !!If I had remembered that I would have brought more of our own snacks. So a small family, older couple or any one with diet needs would prob find that helpful and convenient. The AC got cold but is loud and cliky to where we would wake up to the noise, so that sucked but alot of hotels put the ac and bed too close.... What else, ... parking was tight But im sure its too room ration and thats the beach for you not alot If you have large travel vehicle or hauler it might be super hard to park around there. We were thankful after coming home in a taxi from the races ,about $15++ for that,we were starving and were greatful that the cafe was open at 930pm and they made us a delish burger and fri for around $10, they also gave us coupons for thr cafe at check in so thats great marketing to eat there because you do have other close food options if you decided to eat out and walk around. Its a cute little spot and walking to shops is close we prob would stay again. But Im not a fan of the cancelation policy 2weeks in advance is really out dated and doesn't make much sense in the hospitality world I can see if you are a resort but not a small hotel?!! Maybe think of a better strategy or that otherwise you might not get local guests to return even Vegas gives you 48hrs leway del mar hotel at races time always always book fast so im not sure why you would be so strict and leave people no room to change plans your gonna book the room again So guest just make sure you gonna go or cancel in advance becuase they don't care if you have an emergency and cant come thry will still try and get your$ without helping you change dates!!! And was truly appalled the only thing they said to us about it was that the8r hands are tied a manager will call you and never did...... that was a poor decision.

pretty cheesy customer services, despite the 2 free water bottles at check in. So only 3 stars because of customer service issues, even though we had a great weekend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank momgq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear momgq: Thank you for the perks and all your other comments, these are great so we can review to better serve other guests into the future.

Great to read you enjoyed your vacation and your visit to Del Mar.

The unexpected benefits are our Bistro C café due to “fresh to order food” – No prefabbed fake eggs here, all fresh salads and sooo much more to enjoy.

Parking is always tight in Del Mar; this is why we offer “FREEEE PARKING in Del Mar” WOW!!!

Sorry about the weather, weird weekend, rain in August??? We turned on our Fire Pits and too numerous guests requested we turn them off, I do apologize for that one, but we’re really here to serve our guest – just like you and yours.

Seems you enjoyed the new rooms and bathrooms, they’re the best, and many guests rank them right up there with Hyatt and Hiltons, and for most even better.

Over all, reading your comments, you had a great time in Del Mar and we have a bit of Tweaking to do to make our Boutique Hotel all the better.

We greatly appreciate you taking time out to offer great comments to us to better ourselves.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We cannot say enough nice things about this beautiful and most perfect place in Del Mar. First I would like to say that it's location is among one of the nicest areas in San Diego County and it is in walking distant to the beach. We have stayed at the Clarion Del Mar in many times over the past year because of doctor appointments at Scripps. We feel very safe and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The desk is open all night. Check-in and out is very easy. Rooms were recently remodeled and are very nice. Beds are so comfortable and there are four pillows-two on the bed... two are down pillows and two are foam so you have a choice. The tropical landscaping is well groomed and the swimming pool and jacuzzi are spotless...so inviting. It gets even better as they gave added a quaint bistro with indoor and outdoor seating with an outdoor fireplace to enjoy on cool evenings. The menu offers salads, flatbread pizzas, hamburgers and sandwiches. They also offer beer and wine and have a cooler with fruit, yogurt and other snack items. The food is excellent and very fresh. I ordered a Cali-wrap which had turkey, bacon, lettuce, tomato and fresh avocado on it. The avocado was fresh and not a dip from a plastic bag. I had just had knee surgery and this bistro was so convenient for my husband to get a meal for us to enjoy from the room. They have patios on rooms facing the oceans but don't be disappointed if you can't get an ocean view room because the other rooms face the beautiful tropical gardens and pool and have a beauty of their own. I believe this quaint and beautiful Inn is truly a San Diego secret! I did not mention that this beautiful place is a Del Mar original and has a wonderful history. There is also a library and sitting area to that is worth spending time. The owners of the hotel spend a lot of time on sight and are very friendly and proud of their Inn. They are a pleasure to visit with.

Room Tip: We feel all the rooms are great but they do have rooms that are larger than others. We have stayed in large and small rooms and were very satisfied. Cleanliness is important to us and we have found all the rooms to be very clean. I am pretty sure all the rooms have been remodeled and the bathrooms are very nice. Showers are very large with glass paneling and beautiful tile. There is never even a water spot on them when you walk in the first time so you know they are clean.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Nancy C: Can I say “THANK YOU” Great compliments on the hotel, amenities and staff. This is what we’re all about – making you feel great about being here, thank you, thank you, thank you…

Thank you for the perks and all your other comments, these are great so others can review to better know all we have to offer – and we now have lots to offer with our wet bars, free coffee and assorted teas in the room. NOT IN THE BATHROOM…

Reading your comments, you had a great, great time while visiting. (((Really hope knee surgery went as well as your visit did))) Great to read you enjoyed your visit to Del Mar.

The unexpected benefits are our Bistro C café due to “fresh to order food” – No prefabbed fake eggs here, all fresh salads and avocados - sooo much more to enjoy.

We’re contemplating changing the name of our Library to “The Living Room” we’re hoping more guests will use the living room if we rename it to be more inviting. Library maybe a bit too formal.

Hope to have you return again and again And Again...
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hotel was okay. Rooms were adequate. Beds not too comfortable. Stingy with the towels. Always had to be asking for more. We were showering 2 x daily with all our activities. Air conditioner was very noisy. Bathroom was beautiful and large. Walk to the beach is longer than what was told to us before booking.

Room Tip: Ocean view room was worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
3  Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Annie G: Great to read you and yours had a very active time while visiting our hotel and Sea Side Village and our incredible beaches.

Reading of all your adventures, Horse Races, Jakes at Del Mar, Surf School, WOW!!! No wonder you were showering several times a day.

Reading all you’ve done in Del Mar really seems like you enjoyed all Del Mar has to offer.

Thank you for the compliments on our beautiful new bathrooms, pretty cool!!! My apologies on the towels, we’re careful due to so so many guests taking them to the beach, instead of using our pool towels which we offer free to take to the beaches…

Hope to have you return again to our incredible little hotel for fun and adventures.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was a very nice hotel and the town is supernice and then, of course, there's the fabulous ocean. Small, but nicely appointed rooms. Very nice staff. We did not use the pool but it and the area around it looked very nice. Caveat: It really is more like an inn than a hotel. Don't expect conference rooms or ballrooms. Or a big lobby with places to lounge around.Or a lot of any kind of public inside space. The business center is part of the small lobby. Instead of room service, there's the grill. The fitness center, which didn't look to be very large, was closed, anyway. Instead you could go to a fully equipped gym in town for free. The ocean-view rooms have a view, but it's over the tops of several multi-million-dollar bungalows that lead down to the cliffs over the ocean. It's a short walk to the ocean. To get to the town, with the residents and the guarded beach you have to walk perhaps three-quarters of a mile on a pleasant-enough street. The restaurants begin in maybe 200 yards, if you're really hungry. (Double-check me on Google Maps.) Bottom line: If you plan to be outside and use the hotel as a base to explore the town and the majestic beach, this is a great place to stay. If you like to lounge around hotels, then maybe it's not for you.

Room Tip: Apparently, the best rooms are on the third floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 497martinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Martin F: A great big hello and thank you to you Bostonians! Thank you for the great compliments on TripAdvisor, I agree we’re not the great big hotels around the Downtown San Diego area. As you mentioned, we’re a Boutique Hotel located in a Sea Side Village in Beautiful Del Mar/La Jolla/Torrey Pines.

If you’re wanting to hang around the hotel, we offer our Bistro C for food & beverages, have a great large pool and spa, in the evenings - our fire pits really set the mood for engaging with others, our own Library to hang out and un-plug while reading various books; OR plug-in and use our great WIFI to play computer games and more.

AND, next door is our Public Park for basketball – to shoot some hoops, throw a football, kick around a soccer ball, or even throw a Frisbee. Even walk through town and explore Del Mar with one of a kind shops, galleries, and over 25 of the finest restaurants in San Diego. (((AND, yes please double check all I’ve said on Google Maps.)))

Oh yes, not to mention the ocean – for sun bathing, boogie boarding, surfing, paddle boarding, kayaking, and body surfing or swimming in the 74 degree tempered ocean waters. I may sound a bit biased --- but I’ve lived in San Diego for 20+ years, and still haven’t done all there’s to do here.

Not wanting to sound like a commercial, but there’s so much to do here, you only have to ask.

Thank you again for the great comments on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews