We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Needs some upgrades”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Nice staff, good location, but noisy if you face the pool - their website showed a different perspective. showers were dreadful - weak water pressure- fluctuating temperature. Co7uld hear a nearby shower running.

pool was very noisy - street traffic

breakfast was mediocre - don't give me a free dreadful breakfast- .tyupical "continental" style - they talk about a hot breakfast - but that's just if you toast the day old bagels. I'd rather have a decent breakfast I pay for

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baryshka, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
Dear MC116: Thank you for your email comments. As it states in our lobby signage, we’re under renovations – soon to be completed. It’s unfortunate to read your expectations weren’t completely met.
All of us here at The Clarion Del Mar Inn attempt to exceed our guests’ expectations while visiting the Hotel in the beautiful Sea Side Village of Del Mar. We hope to have you visit us again in the near future to enjoy all of our new furnishings and amenities.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    122
    50
    17
    27
See reviews for
111
145
33
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Although undergoing some renovations, this motor inn was very charming. The pool area and garden were pretty and they had a good continental breakfast. This inn is walking distance to the village of Del Mar, with great restaurants, and it's beautiful beach. *Use caution when walking at night for some areas don't have a sidewalk and is dimly lighted! Bully's Prime Rib is a great old skool steakhouse. My only complaint was that the weather sucked, the pool was too cold to swim in, the garden view room balcony was too small, and of course some rudely tenants.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippychick2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 8 July 2010
Dear trippychick2008: Thank you for your kind comments and photo’s. Reviewing your other contributions and travels; you seem to be a seasoned veteran traveler. Bully’s is the best when it comes to a old school steak house.

That's why it’s so very important when a seasoned traveler like yourself writes a pleasant & positive review of our hotel. Your comments help others to review and decide for themselves to visit The Clarion Del Mar Inn and our Sea Side Village of Del Mar.

My apologies for the weather, “the off again/on again June Gloom has held on into July” I’m confident it will pass in a day or so and our beautiful summer whether will prevail for the rest of our summer season.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

I stayed at the Clarion Del Mar Inn for 4 nights in early June and was pleasantly surprised. The bathroom had been renovated and was clean. The whole room was very clean even if the furniture is a tad outdated. We had a 3rd floor ocean view room. Be advised there are apartment buildings and houses between the hotel and the view of the ocean. The pool area/breakfast area is very charming. Customer service was really good from everyone, including the breakfast staff.

There are 3 things I am particular about in a hotel, and this one was great for all 3. The first is cleanliness. I don't like finding old food, food wrappers, or other things in a hotel room upon checking in. This had none of those. It was pretty darn clean and didn't have a smell at all.

The second is quietness. I was right across the hall from the elevators and had no issues sleeping. I heard nothing from the other rooms but the plumbing in the bathroom, which is hard to avoid in any hotel. I only heard it while I was IN the bathroom.

The third (which also helps with the noise level) is the air conditioning/fan. The fan/heat/A/C unit in this room ran constantly if you turned it on, and could be turned on low or high. I ran it on high all night for some great white noise, which drowned out any outside noises and I slept like a log, as did my 3-year-old daughter.

For the money, this hotel is a great value in the Del Mar area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Contesstant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
Dear Contesstant: Reviewing your contributions seems you travel often. This makes your comments important for others to read! We greatly appreciate your compliments and kind words.

All of us here at The Clarion Del Mar Inn always hope to achieve guest satisfaction and beyond.

Hope to have you and your family visits us again very soon.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We had a great time staying at the Del Mar Inn! Not to far from San Diego, actual perfect distance. Right near the ocean. Great view. We walked to restuarants. Great restaurants near by. Loved the pool and jaccuzi. Would definitely stay there again if traveling to San Diego!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jons83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
Dear jons83: Thank you for your kind remarks regarding The Clarion Del Mar Inn. We greatly appreciate you taking time out to comment regarding our hotel.

Our location offers visitors the beautiful white sandy beaches of Del Mar; in addition to some great restaurants within walking distance.

We greatly appreciate your compliments and kind words.

All of us here at The Clarion Del Mar Inn always hope to go beyond guest satisfaction.

Hope to have you and your family visits us again very soon.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

The Del Mar Inn is located within walking distance of most attractions in Del Mar, inlcuding the beach. The sea view in my room was fantastic. The room was old and worn-out but clean. Although I did not use it, their pool and hot-tub in the garden looked very inviting. The staff was helpful and nice.
I was there on a business trip and therefore internet access (or lack thereof) was a major drawback for me. In the evening hours their "high-speed internet access" (advertised) was barely usable, sometimes it took 5 minutes to get logged in and another 5 to load the first web site. The other drawback is that you could almost hear people breathe in the rooms next to yours.
In general, I would recommend to stay in this hotel, especially if you travel for leisure.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
Dear bjmmmm: Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. My apologies if for any reason you couldn’t locate our WIFI. We offer complimentary WIFI with multiple DSL lines equaling speeds of 12+ Mbps (Mega bits per second) and a quadrant around the hotel from the street level to the lower parking lot.

I’m hoping you located our tent card on top of the desk in your room offering our 24/7 support company Informanet WIFI services. Or, contacted our Front Office for assistance, recommendations or additional directions. Reviewing our call log from Informanet – unfortunately, they determined no service calls were made since May 23rd 2010.

I sincerely hope upon future visits we can offer you services above and beyond your expectations.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galena Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Very satisfied...I was planning to stay at mission beach, but was skeptical of some negative feedback (noise etc) saw reviews of this hotel, and have no regrets upon changing our plans. Great proximity to scenic Del Mar coast spots... very helpful staff...reasonable price...good value and comp. breakfast. Thought I'd booked ocean view (my online error)...but garden view was fine. I had room next to elevator...and still slept like a log
If you are looking for peaceful pleasant clean and friendly...this is your place...if looking for nite life and excitement... go somewhere else (please)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Dear Markie59: Thank you for your kind comments regarding The Clarion Del Mar Inn.

Based on a brief review of your travels & destinations, you truly enjoy beach locations.

All of us here at the hotel look forward to you visiting again in the near future. Upon returning, request a walking map – they’re the best for finding those nooks throughout Del Mar and one of a kind shops and dining off the beaten path, similar to a treasure map.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentfield, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

This Chain Hotel had the charm of a country inn. My room had a lovely view of the ocean and the hotel is close enough to hear the surf. You do have to walk a few blocks to the beach. My room's decor was also charming, with lace curtains and new everything except the TV. Even the bath amenities were better quality than usual-Bath & Body Works Cononut Verbena. There is a small pool and free continental breakfast served in the adjacent "carriage house".

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silversurfersocal, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, 8 March 2010
Dear Travelmarcia: Thank you for your review! It’s always a pleasure to review kind and positive comments regarding our staff and property. It’s truly a wonderful little property located in a beautiful quaint Sea Side Village. We hope to have you return at your earliest opportunity.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
7.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Address: 720 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014 (Formerly Del Mar Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#1 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing