We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Local Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pannikin Coffee & Tea - CLOSED

Pannikin Coffee & Tea
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Dallas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Local Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We visit Pannikin everytime we go to San Diego. There is always a line out the door but it is well worth the short wait. From the scrumptious quiche and scones to the enormous muffins and breakfast bagels - you're sure to find something to complement one of their fabulous cups of coffee or tea. Homemade everything, your mouth tells you so. I wish I could pick this place up and plunk it down in my neighborhood. The food, the kind people, the atmosphere - it all sucks you in and makes you want to stay a while. So take 30 min. and stop by sometime...I assure you it will become one of your favorite secret spots!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brashsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A San Diego Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Whether you are a long term resident like me or just visiting, I strongly recommend Pannikin at either its Del Mar location or on Highway 101 in Leucadia. Both are a reminder of how coffee houses used to be before Starbucks (which I love, but need to take a break from occasionally). Pannikin makes its own pastries and is a big coffee roaster in its own right, including for others. Try the vegan granola bar, its fantastic. Pannikin also has great teas and a selection which you will never find at a BUX or Peets (e.g. a decaf vanilla/black tea). It is family owned so you can say hi to Dempsey (hope I spelled it right) who took over from his Dad Sean to run things. The atmosphere in both locations is quite unique (and different from each other) and makes them both well worth a visit. Free Wi-Fi with no sign-in or special one hour code (like Peets) required. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davebrit858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Locals always have a line out the door”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

This place is a local favorite. Great coffee shop, great place to bring your dog.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank rlsybrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great, comfortable spot in Flower Hill center upstairs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Really neat coffee shop with unique steamed egg dishes, bakery items and broad array of coffee and tea drinks. Whole front opens up to semi-outdoor seating along atrium. Has salad and sandwiches for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phineasfogg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
“AMAZING ATMOSPHERE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

Great place to go to grab a cup of coffee, or tea, and catch up with a friend. There are seats outside the entrance that make for a person yet open setting. Live music also played on the friday night I was at Pannikin. It's for sure a place I will go back to often!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drozul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pannikin Coffee & Tea also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing