We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Changes...mostly good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Bunch Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Two Bunch Palms
GreenLeadersGold level
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Changes...mostly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We lived in LA for many years and went to Two Bunch for weekends on a regular basis. We always loved the place for its quiet environment, wonderful hot springs, and completely amazing massages and spa treatments. We now live on the east coast and recently returned for a four-day visit. For the most part, Two Bunch lived up to our memory of it. Everything we loved is still in place, but changes are afoot. The restaurant has been completely renovated and its menu has been updated. Our first meal was really a disaster: service and food were really unacceptable. But we spoke with the chef and every meal thereafter was more than good: really superb. The place is under new-ish management, and the staff told us big changes are coming: more rooms, updating of the old ones, a bigger and more modern spa, and so on. We can see the good business reasons for doing these things. Two Bunch Palms is a really old-fashioned sort of place. For us, that has been part of its charm. But people's expectations have changed for this sort of resort and the new owners clearly want to respond. That's fine with us, as long as what we love remains: the quiet is especially important to us (no one is supposed to speak above whisper and most people respect that) and the feeling that even when the place is full, the size of the property gives you the sense that you have all of that natural beauty and quietly efficient service to yourself. Keep all of that and the unparalleled massages, keep improving the food (maybe have room service?), update the rooms and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spafan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are so glad that we were able to correct your negative experience while you were onsite. Improvements have been made and continue while keeping in mind that we are stewards of 600 year old waters amidst a lush 56 acre oasis that we will be expanding to 75 acres to maintain the park like setting of the place. All our changes are with the intention of providing our guests a true wellness experience and we hope you will return to experience the old with the new.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    95
    42
    26
    13
See reviews for
21
214
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

It's a Heaven on the Earth! It's quiet, nice, most beautiful place around Palm Spring area! Customer service worker are a very nice, professional.Updated restaurant look amazing, there chef Tomas preparing very healthy but unbelievable tasty food. If you need quiet, beautiful environmental, where you can meditate, relax, pray - go to Two Bunch Palms!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nella2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive experience. We look forward to always meeting and exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I have had some amazing stays here in the past. He was stressed out and really looking to our romantic getaway and to see the new changes. And changes they were! Gone is the cozy restaurant. It has been gutted and replaced by a sleek and lovely modern club look. We had great expectations but the staff is completely lost and looks out of place. Half our meals had no busboys and an overworked waitress/bartender/buslady trying to do it all and failing. The design of the restaurant looks great but is not functional. You hear the kitchen and worse see inside to a less than lovely view of dishes etc. If you are unfortunate enought to sit at the wrong table. Food is hit or miss. At $200 for two that shouldn't ever happen.Wine list is overpriced and uninspired. Also GONE is the lovely spa smell that used to float from the spa. Instead there is a nasty rosehips smell to your room soap and lotion. YUCK. People talk constantly/non stop in the mineral water pool labeled as "no talking zone" so no rest there.No towels or drinking water are set next to the mineral spa in the evening, so you get dehydrated and cold. Honestly it was not worth the $800 for our two day stay. Thank God we didn't compound it by ordering treatments. My husband was mad and frustrated. He wanted to leave first thing in the morning. Not the rest and relaxation he envisioned. I mentioned this in a letter to the management. Got a phone call and asked if we wanted to come back...really? If someone wrote to my business a letter detailing items that went wrong, I would at least offer monetary compansation..not return back...pay more and we'll try again. I also forgot to mention the moving of furniture at 1 am by my husband to find a cricket so we could sleep...a mosquito buzzing me ear at 3am and the breakfast that took over an hour to get right. Place needs a lot of work and their new prices do not reflect it. Sadly we will never tay here again and if we do 1 day only with our own food and protective earbuds in place to drown out the talking. Definitely not what it used to be.

Room Tip: I would just use the spa to soak. Maybe pay for the mud soak and stay in better and nicer value upsc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I have been visiting this venues for well over 30 years and have seen this venue change management and ownership over 5 times. My most recent experience was by far the worst check in that I have ever experienced in all of my extensive travels.

There are so many flaws in the hospitality or lack of hospitality that I will not be returning to this venue until its management or ownership changes. The crass and condescending snootiness starts at their top and pervades downhill to the unprofessional and unpleasant front office staff. The lack of towels, the constant nickle and diming, and a complete and total disrespect for the history and character of this once great hideaway has forced me to find better deals on the "right" side of the tracks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Spiritu365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
First of all, I'd like to apologize for a very delayed response to your issues. The property has gone through some growing pains and we are dedicated to creating a place that people can feel emotionally safe in so they can find their better selves. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and hope that one day, you can give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have been coming to Two Bunch for thirty years so that says a lot already. Many managers, few changes thank goodness. But now a new owner has given the restaurant an upgrade, thrown out the old furniture ( I know you loved that Casino piece left over from Al Capone) but it is truly worth it. The blond hard wood floors the tasteful lighting - the staff and the chef extraordinary. The food was fresh, healthy and new. WE enjoyed the vegetarian pasta that did not disappoint - in fact came back the next night and ordered it again. Everything comes with a price and this place has become pricy - if you are staying a long time, bring your own food and healthy drinks, and eat sparingly at the restaurant but don't deny yourself a couple of meals just to see the view if nothing else and sit by the fire…..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rianna R, Public Relations Manager at Two Bunch Palms, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this. We hope you can return this summer or afterwards so we can share more improvements with you. By the end of September, we will become the first carbon neutral resort in North America after we install a 3-acre solar farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

After seeing that TripAdvisor gave Two Bunch Palms numerous acalaids, my boyfriend and I decided to take a visit and unwind. The spa was very outdated and the massage and facial that we received were mediocre at best. We dined in at the restaurant within the spa and although it was decorated nicely, the food tasted mediocre and was over priced. The staff was friendly but I don't think we will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We realize our spa is outdated and the building of a new spa after we refurbish all our rooms will happen in 2015. Hopefully, you will return then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Two Bunch Palms is a unique experience. It isn't fancy but it's quite lovely. While the rooms could use an upgrade, it doesn't matter because one is never in their room except to sleep. The grounds are beautiful and the spa has a spiritual environment that nourishes the soul. There are Yoga classes, tennis courts and hiking available.

The water in the grotto ( natural hot springs) is very healing. I get into these waters as soon as I am able to soak out the everyday stresses that have accumulated in my body. The pool is filled the same mineral water, heavenly!! The expectation is to speak in a whisper while soaking in the grotto. This gives each guest a chance to relax and unwind.
The Spa treatments are pretty special. I had my first hot rock treatment; the first of many. They also have scrubs and facials that made me feel like royalty.

Room Tip: If you go off season, they have great discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imoobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
How wonderful that you experienced and captured the essence of what we are trying to achieve. Did you lie on the hammocks? Hopefully we'll see you in one of them soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
1.9 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.3 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Spa
El Morocco Inn & Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.8 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Bunch Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Bunch Palms

Property: Two Bunch Palms
Address: 67425 Two Bunch Palms Trl, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-6034
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#5 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Two Bunch Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marking 75 years in 2015, Two Bunch Palms has much to celebrate. Last year's incredible renovation of the 270-acre property resulted in 70 'soulful' new room accommodations, a farm-to-table restaurant Essense, passive solar earth mound yoga dome and a new View Point conference center and meeting facility with views of the valley against the San Jacinto Mountains. This physical transformation, including the addition of a 3.5-Acre solar field, puts Two Bunch Palms on the destination spa map as the first "Sustainable Wellness Resort" in North America and the first carbon-neutral resort. A legacy that spans several generations of guests-from notorious gangsters to Hollywood elite to romantic spa seekers-the property and its newest incarnation brings a rich and storied history full circle. This adult-only sanctuary (guests must be 18 or older) invites you to explore the four pillars of the resort: waters, spa, movement and cuisine. Their renowned, natural lithium-infused spring grotto features two mineral water pools carefully kept at a consistent temperature to ensure therapeutic and mood-enhancing properties. Guests are encouraged to "take to the 600-year old waters" and connect body with spirit before enjoying the spa well-known for its intuitive healers and authentic treatments. The new Essense restaurant features healthier gourmet dining prepared by a Le-Cordon Bleu trained chef with the help of a PHD nutritionist. With a nourished body, guests may partake in more than 35 wellness activities, such as meditation, art classes, tai chi, qigong and yoga in the beautiful new dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Two Bunch Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Bunch Palms Hotel Desert Hot Springs
2 Bunch Palms Resort & Spa
Two Bunch Palms Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing