We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Bunch Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Two Bunch Palms
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I admit that the route to this resort was a turn off. I didn't want to stay....and what's with "Quiet Area" signs all over the place? Before too long I was totally blown away with this awesome property! Loved the wild Road Runners, Rabbits, Ducks, Turtles, Fish, flowers, history, the Grotto, even our room! I understand renovations will be underway soon....adding about 50 more rooms. I appreciated the "quiet area" signs. Never been to a place where you can't talk "above a whisper". How refreshing. I opted not to sit in the Mud....wasn't impressed with the little "hot boxes" in which to soak. Seemed I would pass out. Got a great massage from Gabriel, however. My friend got an even better one from Elia. How cool? This used to be Al Capone's Desert Hideaway back in the days.

Room Tip: all the rooms/cottages are so cute....you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VoiceQueenViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Do you know that Two Bunch Palms was an oasis that travelers used to stop at for rest since 1857? Our healing waters have been flowing for 600 years and we pride ourselves in being stewards of the land and the history. It takes a special person to overcome their initial objections and allow themselves to let their guard down so they can really embrace the magic of this place. We hope you'll come back soon to your heaven on earth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    94
    42
    26
    13
See reviews for
21
213
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Highland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We totally loved this place! Everyone was friendly and helpful. As we were taking our bags to the room there was a roadrunner, who just stood and watched us. The room was decorated with a few choice antiques and had a small kitchen and a big closet. The grounds are well cared for with thoughtful consideration for meditation or just some relaxing quiet time. I spoke to the tai chi instructor, who seemed very knowledgeable and took the yoga class. The yoga dome is great. It's so hard to find healthy food when dining out but Two Bunch Palms does a great job with the meals. Service was wonderful. I didn't try any of the spa treatments but plan to on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallyscpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
You definitely have to try our spa the next time - our treatments are truly designed to help you feel better. Our spa has a seasoned team of intuitive therapists and we utilize only the best natural products. Our rooms will all be refreshed by the end of summer and we hope you return to try them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This property has not only the natural mineral spring water (almost no places in Palm Springs do), but it is historically interesting. There was a "Nature Walk" in the morning, which I enjoyed. The Suite that I upgraded to in the "Casa Blanca" was Amazing; with a private jacuzzi just off the bed, a bidet; very spacious, including a wall-mounted flat screen tv, leather couches, and kitchenette. But one of my favorite things about this property is the ponds containing turtles, which I love to feed.
Unique to this property are old-growth trees; one can float in the mineral springs grotto while still in the shade. I also appreciate the "whisper policy"; the quiet atmosphere helped me relax and decompress. The staff were helpful, warm, and accommodating. The Restaurant serves tasty, healthful food without being overpriced.

Room Tip: The Casa Blanca Suites consisted of a four-plex with a nice large jacuzzi in the center and private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
It's nice to read that people still get what we are all about - serenity and sanctuary. What we offer is the opportunity to find your better self - whether that be floating in our healing waters or feeding our ducks, turtles and fish by the pond. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Well, here is my third review of this property. We go every year in May, and were excited to see the changes that the new owners had made.

First, the good:
The spa was uniformly excellent. Every person there went out of their way, the facial (thanks, Linda!), the massages, and the mud bath were all terrific, with thoughtful touches. Thank goodness.
The restaurant looks nice. I was afraid that I would miss the deck, and I didn't. They did a really nice job of making it comfortable, with an outdoor area also. Very nice!
Our room was still quite comfortable and everything worked. That has not always been the case.

Now, the bad:
Service is amazingly inconsistent and amateurish. We arrived 30 minutes after check-in on an unseasonably warm day. Our room was not ready. So, we went to the restaurant, since there was nothing else to do. We were told that they were out of lots of foods, and the bartender wasn't sure how to make a marguerita. This was a theme for 3 days, as the regular (and very good) bartender was rarely there, and people were filling in.

At dinner, we were given the list of 5 dishes that they no longer had. The menu isn't that extensive to begin with, so this was odd. At one meal, the waitress spilled our wine twice, so we started pouring our own. EXTREMELY NICE people, but they need some training. Apparently, they have lost their chef, and have not replaced him.

I was stung by a wasp in a pool. There are bugs everywhere, many flies in the restaurant. Staff appears to be somewhat indifferent to all this. . I went to the front desk to ask if some repellant could be applied. No one was too interested.

We've been coming here for 30 years. They need to get their act together. It's very sad. Prices are up, service and property are down.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sandyrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention these service issues. The memorial day weekend was quite busy, and we were training several new people. Indifference is not an excuse... especially for a property that promises to create a nurturing space so people can find their better selves. We will be refreshing all the rooms this summer and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder City, Nevada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Two Bunch Palm has been around about 70 years. I started going back in the early 80's and it's still a great place. If you don't know it's the old great Hollywood hang out was built by Al Capone and he lived there at times. A great deal of history in this place and by far the best spa in the world. Hot water pools that come right out of Mother Earth! If you like to go chill out and relax this is the place. Rooms are very nice and have been updated or you can still rent the Al Capone suite! Have fun

Room Tip: Casablanca suits are very nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We agree! Our healers are some of the best in the world and they complement the therapeutic effects of our healing waters. Thank you for being such a loyal Two Buncher!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend & I got spa passes for the day to soak in their award winning mineral water. The grotto is pretty, but not as clean as I would hope (there were bees & other bugs in the water). The restaurant was actually very good (the roasted garlic & Brie plate is excellent) & the staff is very accommodating.
We decided to stay here for a romantic weekend. Absolutely not what we expected. They set us up in an outdated cabin. I may be a bit of a snob when it comes to hotel rooms, but I didn't even want to sit on the bed. We immediately called the front desk & told then how dissatisfied we were (this room was not at all what the pictures represent). They said they would call us back to see if they could do anything (they didn't after 20 minutes). We went up to the front desk & demanded a refund. They wouldn't agree to the refund (I was enraged). After about an hour, my boyfriend was able to get them to switch our room. This room was on an entirely different side of the property (the walkways leading there weren't the cleanest. In fact, at night, there are tons of cockroaches using the same walkway. One of my biggest fears turned reality). This room was also outdated & the patio appeared to have been abandoned for some time. I would not stay here again. **In their defense, it appears that they have remodeled since our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OHHAUDREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
I see that you stayed here almost a year ago in July of 2013. Since then, the grotto has been resurfaced, the restaurant has been renovated and the menu has been totally changed to reflect a healthier gourmet dining experience. This summer, we are refreshing all our rooms to look like our model room which is designed with very natural and sustainable materials in a more restful design. The vintage rooms around the grotto will remain with the same old world charm but with updated technology and finishes. We are also installing a 3 acre solar field that will make this property the first carbon neutral resort in the US. All of this will be finished by September and we hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our second visit was as wonderful as the first. We stayed last year while Two Bunch was under a transition and since then, the new owners have spruced things up while maintaining its historic charm. They remodeled the restaurant (food & views were great) and eliminated an old porch by adding a hip bar with patio seating. They also renovated the yoga yurt and added free classes. The only negative was the tempermental expresso maker and not as satisfying as a regular coffee maker. However, staff was very responsive in replacing a defective one with a new one. Soaking in the Grotto is still the highlight & the reason we will continue to go back. It was a great 48 hours!

Room Tip: The older rooms near the grotto have all been upgraded but still have an old-world charm. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AltheaH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hopefully next time, you can stay a few more days! Our rooms are being refreshed this summer, and the first set of rooms come online in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
1.9 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
9.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Bunch Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Bunch Palms

Property: Two Bunch Palms
Address: 67425 Two Bunch Palms Trl, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-6034
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#4 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Two Bunch Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marking 75 years in 2015, Two Bunch Palms has much to celebrate. Last year's incredible renovation of the 270-acre property resulted in 70 'soulful' new room accommodations, a farm-to-table restaurant Essense, passive solar earth mound yoga dome and a new View Point conference center and meeting facility with views of the valley against the San Jacinto Mountains. This physical transformation, including the addition of a 3.5-Acre solar field, puts Two Bunch Palms on the destination spa map as the first "Sustainable Wellness Resort" in North America and the first carbon-neutral resort. A legacy that spans several generations of guests-from notorious gangsters to Hollywood elite to romantic spa seekers-the property and its newest incarnation brings a rich and storied history full circle. This adult-only sanctuary (guests must be 18 or older) invites you to explore the four pillars of the resort: waters, spa, movement and cuisine. Their renowned, natural lithium-infused spring grotto features two mineral water pools carefully kept at a consistent temperature to ensure therapeutic and mood-enhancing properties. Guests are encouraged to "take to the 600-year old waters" and connect body with spirit before enjoying the spa well-known for its intuitive healers and authentic treatments. The new Essense restaurant features healthier gourmet dining prepared by a Le-Cordon Bleu trained chef with the help of a PHD nutritionist. With a nourished body, guests may partake in more than 35 wellness activities, such as meditation, art classes, tai chi, qigong and yoga in the beautiful new dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Two Bunch Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Bunch Palms Hotel Desert Hot Springs
2 Bunch Palms Resort & Spa
Two Bunch Palms Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing