We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are much better hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There are much better hotels”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Filthy room, stained, wore out carpet wrinkled so you would trip when walking on it. Bedding is wore out and maid service never showed up.Loud kids around the pool early morning hours. Calling this place a hotel is like putting lipstick on a pig. Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZO6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carsonparlan, Public Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Well, I guess you won't be staying with us again. We are a family-owned & run hotel...a beautiful mid-century modern property delivering 2-1/2 to 3-star amenities and service at 2-star prices. Our full-acre courtyard has 8 natural mineral springs pools all at different temperatures to deliver an authentic hot springs spa experience.

The Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel has a loyal base of repeat visitors who come back year after year and really enjoy the laid-back family-oriented ambiance we provide.

Yes, you can go elsewhere, but not for the reasonable rates we charge, and not with an underground aquifer providing hot natural mineral water.

Thanks for writing...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    120
    78
    67
    85
See reviews for
136
133
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I found this hotel on expedia and the rate was really good but I had few questions so I called the customer service and got someone with very poor english! I had to keep asking them to repeat what they said. They also kept trying to get me to reserve over the phone at a higher rate then what was online. Then when I explained I was still just shopping for the like the 3rd time he hung up on me in mid sentence!! So I called this hotel directly and Bree answered the phone and it was so nice to get someone I could understand and who was polite and did an AMAZING job answering all my questions and finally booking the room for me. She was so polite and working with the public myself customer service is something I HIGHLY prize. This young lady is the reason I and my family are staying here!!! I will update my review again after our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flakeangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carsonparlan, Public Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
yes, bree is reaaly good! i'll forward this to management so she gets due credit. we look forward to your post-stay review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The only place we will go for a mini-vacation! We usually get a downstairs room which has a patio, so if you don't want to be in 1 of the pools, you can relax on your patio! They have different pools- all have a different temperature! They have a coffee shop/ bar & kids can eat in the lounge area as long as they aren't at the bar! They also have outside tables for those who want to eat outside! The coffee shop is on the cool side so bring a sweater!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the "shady side"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fetch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carsonparlan, Public Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. You really get us. We look forward to seeing you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have NEVER seen a more disgusting hotel room or hotel in my life. We hurriedly asked for a refund at the front desk (woman didn't argue, in fact didn't say anything) after we described the
conditions of the room. Dirty, smelly and worn carpet, couch, chair, drapes, bed sunk in, bed-spread filthy, couldn't get cold water from the tap - GROSS GROSS GROSS!!!!!! One set of the
door keys didn't work. DON'T GO!!!!!

This hotel should be closed by the city's health department!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank cynthia92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelbickford, Owner at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hi Cynthia,
Thank you for sharing your comments. I was concerned with the comments regarding the condition of your room. While we do embrace a traditional style, in theme with our mid-modern architecture, I can assure you that we maintain the highest standard of cleanliness for all of our guest rooms. We are proud that we have passed every health inspection in the 30 years that our family has owned this property. We have remodeled over half of our rooms now and hope you get a chance to see the upgrades.

We boast a one of a kind hot mineral spa experience. The Desert Hot Springs Spa, one of Desert Hot Springs' flagship properties, has one Olympic size pool and seven soaking and Champagne pools range in temperature from 90°F to 104°F and are open 24 hours for guests!! Its too bad you didn't have a chance to take our World Famous Water.

Best regards,
Michael B, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Desert Hot Springs hotels

Varysburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I have noticed that the DHS Spa Hotel gets somewhat mixed reviews, so I thought I would throw my two cents in. I have not stayed at the hotel so I cannot comment on that. However, I have been a "Day Spa" guest a few times, most recently on July 22, 2013.

I have never had anything but positive experiences at the Spa. Sure, the facility is older and appears a bit run down compared to some other places in the area, but I find that part of the charm- "mid-century modern architecture," the owner would probably call it. There are 8 different pools of varying sizes and temperatures to choose from, and I have always found the pools to be clean, pleasant, and mostly well-maintained (although some minor repairs would probably be welcome, as long as the older-style feel is preserved). I am not really sure what the other reviewers are referring to about things floating in the pools, but it was a relatively slow day when I was there last- maybe the pools get dirtier on busier days? The Spa does attract a diverse crowd owing to the low price, but I never felt concerned for my safety and thought it seemed very family friendly.

I have also eaten at the on-site Sunshine Cafe restaurant a couple of times and found it to also be an exceptional value. My grilled chicken salad was so huge that the second half of it became lunch on the next day (and I have a rather large appetite), and it cost only about $8 if I remember correctly. It was also quite tasty.

The staff I encountered on my most recent trip, both at the Spa and in the restaurant, were all extremely helpful, friendly, and welcoming. The level of customer service I encountered was above average compared to many other facilities I have visited.

Overall, I find the Spa Hotel to be a unique place to visit and a terrific value for the price. I definitely hope to come back again soon. I highly recommend it for any individual, couple, or family to spend the afternoon enjoying the various pools and sauna, and then stay for dinner and/or a drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelbickford, Owner at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thanks for your recommendation, Matthew! I appreciate you taking the time to write about your experiences with us in such great detail. Hope to have you back to relax in our spa again soon!

Until then,
Michael, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Yes, it's funky, compared to the higher priced resorts in town, but we prefer it to others!
Why? Fewer kids, same great water, restaurant and bar on site, can walk to bus stop
to catch bus to Palm Springs (while HE golfs!), and super rates. The beds are not the
best, but as economy improves, believe resort will improve where needed, as last couple
years have been very hard on this region. We have been staying here last 3 Decembers in
a row and have had good service at desk and by staff.

Room Tip: Do NOT come during Spring Break, and be aware that Spring Break locally may be different from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliceKathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelbickford, Owner at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thanks for your recommendation! I'm delighted to hear you appreciate not only our amenities, but also our competitive prices. We'e always working to keep our facilities up-to-date, so hopefully there will be some more visible changes in place by your next visit!

Until then,
Michael, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I was just at this place on July 13th and we had a very rocky start. The girls at the counter didn't have a clear grasp on which rooms where vacant and/or cleaned. I reserved a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. When they sent me to my first of 3 rooms, they debated back and forth about whether the previous occupant was checked out or not and then decided that they were but told me that they only had one set of keys for the room. So I was a bit leery about going to the room but reluctantly went anyway, only to find that the room had not been cleaned yet. I went back to the front and they moved me to a 2nd room, which did not have the balcony overlooking the pool. At which time, they moved me to a 3rd room.
Luckily the weekend got better once we finally had a room to stay in!
-Kari Brown-

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelbickford, Owner at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thanks for bringing this to my attention, Kari. I hope you'll accept my sincerest apologies for any unnecessary frustration we caused you. It certainly isn't like us to be so disorganized!

Although summer is our busiest time of year, that's no excuse for sending a guest to three different rooms before finding them the right one. Please know that I plan on speaking about this with my staff as soon as possible so we can avoid this kind of confusion going forward.

Safe travels,
Michael, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.8 mi away
Two Bunch Palms
Two Bunch Palms
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel

Property: Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Address: 10805 Palm Dr, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-2598
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel is famous for its natural hot mineral water! So come for the day and use our eight natural hot mineral pools. A classic example of retro 60s architecture, the Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel features fifty comfortable rooms wrapped around a large courtyard with towering palms and eight shimmering natural hot mineral spring pools open 24 hours. Spa-goers and sun worshipers come from far and wide to partake in the restful and relaxing atmosphere.Spas are nice, but natural mineral spring spas are paradise! We offer the desert’s most extensive and affordable spa therapies and beauty treatments in a fun, casual setting.You’ll also enjoy indoor and outdoor dining at the Sunshine Café, or sip your favorite beverage in the Sports Lounge or poolside while you sun and soak.And the Desert Hot Springs Spa is pet friendly! We also offer room service and wireless Internet for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hot Springs Hotel Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing