We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, unsafe, insecure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Merced, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing, unsafe, insecure”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Room was not ready at 3pm, when available it had rusty drains, leaking faucets, no smoke detector, sliding door had evidence of several breaking, the outside security gate was broken and would not lock. Carpet was pulling up and had large bumps in it. Other than that Mrs Lincoln how was the play? Courteous, friendly staff, but 24 hour pool echoed noise back up to room until much later than expected.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B, Public Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
I'm disappointed to hear that your stay wasn't up to your standards, or ours either. I'm curious what room you were in? Our daily room inspections help us keep all guest rooms clean and functional to the very last detail.. but I would like to ensure that we didn't miss something. My family runs the property and we are very involved in the day to day operations of the business and strive to constantly improve the operation and the physical product we present. You can reach me at reggiebickford@gmail.com.

Take care,
Reggie B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    126
    83
    71
    91
See reviews for
151
141
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Desert Hot Springs is our little secret, okay. It delivers mineral-infused waters to the needy urban soul, makes it feel healthy again, and invigorates the body and the mind with bliss. Heat is the Great Equalizer, talking us down from that road rage and redirecting that temper tantrum schmutz toward laughter and love. I would stand in line for this (luckily you don't have to). There must always be room in life for this. Who would have thought that so much schvitzing could be so good for you.

And don't forget the people, the weird and wonderful and fascinating people who share one thing, a love for that magic cure which is . . . . the healing waters. Keep it a secret, please.

Room Tip: Stick to the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Randall J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B, Public Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for sharing the "secret" about our Spa Hotel retreat. You're spot on about the amazing mineral infused hot mineral water that freely flows from the grounds of our hotel!! And we celebrate the diversity of the guests we draw from far and wide to soak in our world famous waters.

Hope to have you back soon,
Reggie B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Desert Hot Springs is 20 minutes of driving from Palm Springs, it is more quiet place. There are pools with hot and cold mineral water and sauna, very nice. It is good for your joints and arthritis.
The rooms are big and comfortable, the staff is friendly. They have a good r4estaurant with affordable prices. There are mostly older couples visiting the hotel.

Room Tip: They are all alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elenpower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B, Public Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us! Having quality hot mineral water is a constant for us, and good food and customer service in the restaurant is just as reliable. Hope you come back to see us soon.

Feel free to contact me anytime for your future trips! Reggeb@miraclesprings.com

Take care,
Reggie Bickford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

What great hot springs pools. Week days that we were there were not crowded although locals can get day passes to the pools. Our room was definitely dated but clean. Rooms were huge and our king size bed was really comfortable. All staff friendly and the little restaurant very adequate and great selection and prices. We had the grilled chicken salad and the soup special which really hit the spot and right on the pool deck! We paid $91 and change for one night.including tax. We soaked twice and really rested up. Our skin felt really soft and the pools were kept hot and varied. Nice down to earth place.

Room Tip: We had a cheaper room on the second floor back side, but very easy access to the pools. Poolside wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poetjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B, Public Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
I'm so glad you had a great stay! And touched on everything, from large clean rooms, amazing hot mineral water, speedy affordable cafe and solid customer service. We hope to see you back again.

Take care,
Reggie Bickford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a queen poolside room. Surprisingly large rooms but very basic and out dated. Can't expect anything better for a 2 star hotel. I was expecting the rooms to be much worse based off the reviews, and the pools to be much better. Was disappointed in the pools (all quite cold). All in all, if you're looking for a bargain hotel to stay at for exploring the desert, this is a decent option.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank frankviz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B, Public Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hi Frank,
Thanks for leaving your post. I'm glad everything was adequate for your stay, but wish you came away with a better soak in the water! We do pump water out of the ground at 140 degrees 24/7, and there is only one pool we keep cool. We hope you stop in again sometime.

Take care,
Reggie Bickford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jacinto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I come all the time. But every time we book a room something happens. Either I am charged for an extra night or I can never get in my room by 3pm. I am always told that I would receive a credit in the mail and I never get a thing. When we come back I ask again and no one knows what I am talking about. I am stilled OWED $99.99 credit!!!

The rooms are run down, pool deck is cracked, pools are in need of repair, and the whole building needs money put in to it. Why isn't this place updated? Why aren't the owners putting money back in the DHS?

If your looking to drink low key then this is the place. But for families and couples go some where else. You kids will get hurt on the pool deck. Also the life guards are they even certified? I would not trust them to save anyone. I hope to hear back from someone from the DHS regarding these issues.

John

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruckus_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B, Public Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi John,
I'm glad I got the chance to hear from you. My family owns and operates the property, and we are closely involved in all aspects of the operation. We work around the clock maintaining the pools, after all, its the core of our business. In fact, we pump fresh hot mineral water into all 8 pools, at 200 gallons a minute, 24 hours a day 365 days a year.

I can say in confidence that we have the finest and most plentiful hot mineral water source in Southern California. With that said, we want to make sure the entire property is kept to equally high standards, and that is our mission.

Please email me regarding the billing issue, I would like to resolve this with you immediately. Email me at reggieb@miraclesprings.com

Thank you for your feedback, John.

Take care,
Reggie B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Desert Hot Springs hotels

Santa Clarita
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

not a good place for families. The cheap day use pass attracts sketchy undesirables which create many problems. Two fights broke out while we were there one of which involved a transvestite pepper spraying a male in one of the spots tubs causing the police and fire department to respond.I will never stay there again unless I become homeless and want to use the facilities for bathing

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brazentiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
I'm sorry you had the unplanned for "excitement".. The Spa Hotel is an awesome place to hang out and is a lot of fun, but people's behavior doesn't always fall in line, as is the case at any facility anywhere. The Coachella Valley is home to many in the LGBT community and we certainly don't hold that against anyone. With that said, we have begun phasing in higher day pass rates to minimize traffic from the outside.

Thanks for your feedback.

Take care,
Reggie B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,175 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
551 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
125 reviews
1.8 mi away
Two Bunch Palms
Two Bunch Palms
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel

Property: Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Address: 10805 Palm Dr, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-2598
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel is famous for its natural hot mineral water! So come for the day and use our eight natural hot mineral pools. A classic example of retro 60s architecture, the Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel features fifty comfortable rooms wrapped around a large courtyard with towering palms and eight shimmering natural hot mineral spring pools open 24 hours. Spa-goers and sun worshipers come from far and wide to partake in the restful and relaxing atmosphere.Spas are nice, but natural mineral spring spas are paradise! We offer the desert’s most extensive and affordable spa therapies and beauty treatments in a fun, casual setting.You’ll also enjoy indoor and outdoor dining at the Sunshine Café, or sip your favorite beverage in the Sports Lounge or poolside while you sun and soak.And the Desert Hot Springs Spa is pet friendly! We also offer room service and wireless Internet for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hot Springs Hotel Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing