We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Desert Hot Springs, California
1 review
“Hotel hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Never had such horrbile service front desk greg was rude he cared more about anwsering phones then servicing guest dining area filthy roaches crawling on countertops crystal the server was scolding another employee and was very rude to us if i could rate lower than a 1 for service i would never recommend to anyone plus place stinks like poop in changing area very disgusting.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertqueen718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B, Public Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We're very sorry for the interaction you've described. That is not the way we want guests to feel after using our brand. Thank you for sharing with us the problems you experienced.

We are seeking answers from the staff members you've identified. We will find solutions to help us continue to create positive experience for our guests. We would like to reiterate that our products and services are designed to make lives easier, more exciting, less stressful, and happier. The scenario you described does is the antithesis of our overall brand message.

Once your feelings have settled, we would like another chance to show you what the overall guest experience should be, and how our employees should behave. We are dedicated to providing exceptional customer service. Feel free to contact ReggieBickford@gmail.com a complimentary return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    120
    78
    67
    85
See reviews for
136
133
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel looks nothing like the photos. Very dated. Rooms are very run-down (ripped carpet, doors that won't open - have to body slam it, limited towel). Pools were OK. Restaurant was OK - poor service the second night. Massage was mediocre and then I saw the massage therapist the next day as a housekeeping staff which makes one wonder if she was even licensed. The way she attacked my body, I would think not.

Not charming - just meh. I won't be back. Oh and the yoga they talk about on the website - nonexistent!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliprncess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B, Public Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for your review. Our hotel is a local landmark and a AAA Three Diamond Resort that has been featured on PBS Television. Perhaps you'll come back and visit us once we've completed renovations. All of our spa therapists are licensed. We do not currently have a housekeeper who also works as a massage therapist, however, we would not discourage a housekeeper who sought professional training to become a spa therapist. We feel our housekeepers are smart enough and there's nothing wrong with working two jobs to support a family. We will continue to work hard to improve our customer service so that we do not disappoint our valued guests. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Desert Hot Springs hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed at this place for 2 nights and PAID $550! I specifically asked for 2 rooms next or close to each other TWO WEEKS in advance of my arrival! What I got was ridiculous! there were more than 15 rooms between my two rooms! After waiting for almost ONE hour they switched them and got them closer (Only 4 rooms apart!!!) On the second night my car was vandalized and they stole everything from my car!!!! Guess what! Their cameras were not working!!! So no one knows who did it! They took everything! From my 2 week old GPS that I got for this so called vacation to camera, money and whatever else they could see! Even a bag of candy that I had! Police came but nothing got solved since there was NO WORKING cameras for the parking lot!!! They said next time just park in front of lobby so we can watch your car!!! Like I would go back!

Room Tip: Make sure u have nothing in your car!!! Rooms were ok but there is NO WAY that I would go back to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B, Public Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
A properly installed security camera system helps us protect guests when staying at our hotel. Security cameras generally promote safety. We apologize that our system failed. Our management team is following-up with the authorities and we will contact you soon. Best practices would have had us book your rooms together. We have no explanation for that other than human error. We apologize for the mistake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

It was a busy Saturday filled with day-pass swimmers. We arrived in the afternoon and noticed the outdated property. The entire place is clean and seemed maintained. The staff was friendly but the rooms were pretty rough. Old, rippled carpets, shakey sliding doors (it was windy but the sliding doors shook all night) and a tiny bathroom-but the room was clean.
The Sunshine cafe was delightful-food was fresh and plentiful portion size. It was a cost effective menu with a variety of items.
The pools were clean but not as warm as expected. The sauna smelled like muscle creme and mint...a huge turn off for our romantic weekend.
Overall, it was the pools and cafe that saved the overall experience. The room was dissapointing...especially for the price point. The day pass swimmers can be loud and annoying...and they cause the bar/snack bar to create a 30 minute wait for nachos.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilMrsPatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B, Public Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time, particularly the Sunshine Café and the 8 hot mineral water pools. As a business, we are focused on modernizing the look and feel over time. We hope you come soak with us again soon!

Take care,
Reggie B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We went to Desert Hot Springs Spa to celebrate my father's 80th and Mother's day. There were 10 of us ranging in ages 10 months to 80. When we first got there we were a little taken back at the age of the place but soon settled into our room and it didn't matter. We consider it a "retro" hotel. We were on the 2nd floor with a view of the pools. My parents were on the ground floor pool side. Our room was very spacious with a king size bed, couch and chair and large balcony. My parents had a large fenced area with room for 2 lounges, 4 chairs and a table.The entire staff was helpful and friendly. We ate at the restaurant and the food was very good and resonable. There were a lot of day users but they did not impact us at all. They all seemed to be enjoying the pools as we were. It was perfect for our group. There was a small band that played during the day outside and it was just the right touch. With the restaurant and bar you don't need to drive anywhere. We will definately go back. It's a great place to relax.

Room Tip: For future trips I would definately get a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sophronia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B, Public Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Really glad to hear you and your family had a nice stay and enjoyed the Mother's Day and Birthday celebrations. Sundays are very relaxing and we have viewing friendly bands playing.

Look forward to having you back soon for stay and soak in the hot mineral waters!

Safe travels,
Reggie B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Have been coming here for years but lately love it even more…Nadine is a gem!!! Other than some unruly guests from time to time (mostly day guests) this is a great get away from the city…a bit of paradise in L.A's back yard….

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Palma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
So glad you've enjoyed our relaxing hot mineral water getaway!!

Hope to have you back soon.

Reggie B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Fun for the entire family ...the people there are nice , mostly locals ...nice to sit in the mineral springs in the rain..The Palm Springs Tram is near by and so is Knotts Soak City and the Living Desert

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthycat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie B, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay!!

Safe travels,
Reggie B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.8 mi away
Two Bunch Palms
Two Bunch Palms
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel

Property: Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Address: 10805 Palm Dr, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-2598
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel is famous for its natural hot mineral water! So come for the day and use our eight natural hot mineral pools. A classic example of retro 60s architecture, the Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel features fifty comfortable rooms wrapped around a large courtyard with towering palms and eight shimmering natural hot mineral spring pools open 24 hours. Spa-goers and sun worshipers come from far and wide to partake in the restful and relaxing atmosphere.Spas are nice, but natural mineral spring spas are paradise! We offer the desert’s most extensive and affordable spa therapies and beauty treatments in a fun, casual setting.You’ll also enjoy indoor and outdoor dining at the Sunshine Café, or sip your favorite beverage in the Sports Lounge or poolside while you sun and soak.And the Desert Hot Springs Spa is pet friendly! We also offer room service and wireless Internet for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hot Springs Hotel Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing