We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Yucaipa, California
1 review
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Had a great stay. Highly recommend using hotels-and-discounts.com , better pricing. My stay was fantastic. Rarely saw the the help around but the facility was very clean and the pool staff was out early a.m. cleaning the pool. Front desk upgraded my room to a pool view at no charge! That was great p.r. Will be there again next week just because...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skygot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    119
    77
    64
    83
See reviews for
131
132
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach CA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

4-14-2010
I spoke to Claudia their receptionist. She overcharged and refused to do anything about it. since I am a Travel Agent I thought i would report this to all people interested in the hotel. The maid turned our DONOTDISTURB SIGN AROUND TO SAY MAID CLEAN UP AND THEN KNOCKED ON OUR DOOR TO POINT THIS OUT TO US. YES I MADE SURE IT SAID DO NOT DISTURB AND YES SHE TURNED THE SIGN AROUND. after requesting to check out a day early after we checked out Claudia put a charge on our credit card of 200 with no explanation.Neither john or Claudia bothered to correct the situation for us. I would classify this as terrible service. The place is terribly run down also. Choose a different Hotel if you are going to go to Desert Hot Springs.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinr_goldrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevelopmentDirector, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2010
It is unfortunate that you had an uncomfortable experience at the Miracle Springs Resort & Spa. Nothing is more upsetting to us than to discover, after a Guest departs, that the visit was flawed. We are a three star hotel, but we train our employees to give four star service. If you read other reviews, you will see that is, indeed, our standard. We would have welcomed the opportunity to make your stay a four star experience if management knew about your unpleasant stay...in fact, if you contact our Operations Manager, we will be happy to issue you a complimentary stay.. and show you what we can really do! We apologize for your bad experience and hope that you will accept our complimentary offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Desert Hot Springs hotels

Barstow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

My friend and I went to the Desert Hot Springs Spa and Hotel for the second time last year and we loved it as much as the year before.The rooms were clean the staff was friendly.The pools are beautiful.The restaurant has a variety of good food at reasonable prizes. We had treatments which were very relaxing. Don't remember the last time I slept that well. We decided we make it an annual trip just to get away.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildkaetzchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

Don't let the pictures fool you, it looks like this place is an acutal spa, and it talks about it's fifties charm, and friendly staff. I, however had a different experience, the front desk staff was rude to me checking in, I was told over the phone that we could check in early, and ended up having to wait an hour for the guaranteed check in time. The rooms are clean, but very outdated and UNCOMFORTABLE! The bed is like a rock with cheesy Motel 6 linens. Need I say more? Well there is more, this hotel is in a very seedy part of town, our room was accessed from the outside and it looked as if the lock had been pried open. Also, if you insist on finding out for yourself, check the weather! The wind HOWLED the entire time we were there, so even if we could have at least enjoyed the mineral pools (which were lukewarm except for one) we couldn't because it was freezing and windy. So I paid 150 bucks to stay in a motel six in the desert. Don't waste your time or money on this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonnieqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

Go look at the website for this place...it is SO deceiving! I wanted to plan a romantic 3-day, Valentine's day weekend for my husband and I, I looked up spas in the palm springs area and found the website for this "Hotel & Spa Resort". The website made it sound secluded, all-inclusive, like what a fancy spa experience should be. It was NOT that. we arrived, we were send to park in an unfenced parking lot that had a big sign that said "park at your own risk" we asked the front desk person and she said that "this area is sketchy at night". We found our room which was advertised as a king-size suite with Mountain view. The rrom was very "motel" like with eighties furnishings that were dirty. No shower curtain in the shower, and no bath robes. The pools were full of drunk "teens". That's when we found out the pools were 24 hr pools that were open to the public if they paid a 8$ admission. That just gives you an idea of the rif-raf that was allowed in. 2 of the pools were dirty with debris floating on top. There was a guy in the hot tub in his boxers. YUK. The restaurant was also dirty and the food was not even "Denny's" quality. The "sports-bar" was having kareoke night and all the "local-yokels" were there, drunk and obnoxious. Save your money, at almost $300.00 for 2 nights, this was a waste. We didn't even stay the 2nd night. Oh, and our room was near the main gate to the pool, so all night we heard these trashy people going in and out of the pool and it's loud, squeaky gate. DON'T GO THERE, you will be upset. :(

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank like2travellocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, CA USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

The last time we visited the Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel was seven years ago. We decided to go back and try it again but after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor I was a little leery of what we might find. The reviews seem to be polarized, people either love it or hate it, so being of the adventursome sort we decided to try it again and find out for ourselves.....and as we found out the reality lies somewhere in between.

This is one of the original hot springs spas in the area and was probably built in the 50's or so. Contrary to a previous review, we did not find the premises dirty, in fact there were people out early every morning skimming the pools and hosing down the decks to make sure everything is clean for that day's visitors. We also observed staff checking the PH and temperature of the pools several times a day to be sure they are properly maintained.

The first day we were there the wind was blowing very hard as can happen in the desert and the pools being outdoors and surrounded by palm trees and other plants can collect dirt and minute plant debris blown in by the desert wind.....to me this is normal and bound to happen no matter how carefully the pools are maintained, it is not a symptom of neglect and does not mean the pools are "dirty". In fact the very next morning after the high winds died down the pools were crystal clear from the actions of the staff and the pool filters.

The staff was outstanding from beginning to end, Nadine in check in is a jewel and even remembered our names from when I called in our reservations. We had massages and skin therapy in the spa and the therapists were first class, professional, and personable, the treatment could not have been better.

The restaurant is excellent, nothing fancy but a great variety of food at reasonable prices and excellent service....I also noted they were rated Grade A by the county health department. We had both dinner and breakfast there and everything was perfect.

That brings us to the rooms.....we agree that they are old and a little tired but for us that kind of adds to the charm of the place. Could we find fault with the room, yes there were a couple of issues, however nothing major but if you equate old with unclean than this is probably not the place for you.

To sum it up, this place is as comfortable as an old shoe. I agree with a previous review by "happywanderer020", read her review and you will get some additional insight. I second her observation, if you are looking for a fancy resort and beautiful people this is not the place for you and that's why I titled my review "It is what it is" either accept the DHSHS for what it is or go somewhere else but don't try to make it something it isn't and doesn't try to be.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

My husband and I did not stay here but went there to use the hot springs after a day of hiking. Basically I would not refer this spa to anyone and was surprised that the visitor information place in Palm Springs sent us here.

We are not picky people and are usually open to new adventures however this place was so dirty i was actually concerned about being in the water. Yes we did actually go in the water however did not stay long.

We read these reviews before going however because Palm Springs raves about it we decided to go, do not go. I am thinking it was nice at one time however has not been maintained since the day it opened and therefore is what it is today.

In summary, just don't try it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Treavel_A_Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Two Bunch Palms
Two Bunch Palms
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyundae Resort And Spa
Hyundae Resort And Spa
#20 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel

Property: Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Address: 10805 Palm Dr, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-2598
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel is famous for its natural hot mineral water! So come for the day and use our eight natural hot mineral pools. A classic example of retro 60s architecture, the Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel features fifty comfortable rooms wrapped around a large courtyard with towering palms and eight shimmering natural hot mineral spring pools open 24 hours. Spa-goers and sun worshipers come from far and wide to partake in the restful and relaxing atmosphere.Spas are nice, but natural mineral spring spas are paradise! We offer the desert’s most extensive and affordable spa therapies and beauty treatments in a fun, casual setting.You’ll also enjoy indoor and outdoor dining at the Sunshine Café, or sip your favorite beverage in the Sports Lounge or poolside while you sun and soak.And the Desert Hot Springs Spa is pet friendly! We also offer room service and wireless Internet for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hot Springs Hotel Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing