We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you MUST request a room with new beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I must start by saying that every staff member I met was extremely nice and accommodating. Nice people. However, the beds are hideous. I am not a princess; I don't complain easily. I mean, the beds are hideous. I cut myself - twice - actually drew blood twice - by sitting up in the bed and having a severed metal bed spring poke through a large hole in the mattress and cut my skin. Also, my two year old son woke up in the morning and said, "My back hurts," which of course made us die laughing. (I didn't know a two-year-old's back COULD hurt.) The very nice manager discounted our room, etc. for our pains, and he told us that half the rooms have new beds, while half still have the terrible old beds. ASK FOR A ROOM WITH NEW BEDS. If you can get one, make a reservation. If you can't, do not stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stauchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2011

Its old but fun. Sure there may be nicer places to stay, but overall its a great place to chill and relax. It is like going back in time. Give it a try.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atollmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

When I am in the Palm Springs area, I always stop at the DHS Spa. I find it quaint and laid-back. It is not a Hyatt or Hilton and it is not fancy. If you want that - stay in Palm Springs proper and you can have all the amenities. At this spa, you cannot beat the day rates to use the Spa and pools. It is extremely reasonable. If you have a love of the desert and desert vistas, go there and walk up to the second floor and take in the views. They are sensational! I also like the "European feel" as there are usually alot of foreigners out sunning and taking in the desert air. You can also wear the tiniest bikini out there thanks to the Europeans!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max77056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

First off, there is no reason to stay in Desert Hot Springs unless you are visiting family and you need a convenient location. DHS is a low income town that most people don't feel safe in. This hotel was probably pretty cool in its heyday, but today is rundown and shabby. The rooms are in terrible need of renovation (peeling paint, stained sinks, clogged drains, broken fixtures) and the bar/restaurant area is run down. The staff is very friendly, but that doesn't offset the crappy environment. Stay at Miracle Springs instead.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Amazing views of the mountain areas from the pool area. The mineral spas were fantastic. The mineral water is piped right into many different pools. The pools were of many different sizes. From the smallest to the biggest. You had a choice. The service was fantastic. I felt bad checking out knowing I was leaving. Wish I could stay another week !!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALEXJAMES007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We went with our extended family and stayed here because their sister hotel would not allow pets. OMG-Our room had ants in the bathroom and cockroaches on the wall. The beds were harder than the floor. The hotel is in one of the worst neighborhoods I thought I was in a East LA. I went to walk my dog in front of the hotel and found a heroin spoon on the lawn. As we were leaving a neighborhood family from down the street was trying to sneak in the back. They brought their entire extended family of about 12 people with coolers and all their accessories. One highlight was they did have wireless so, we got on line a made reservations in San Diego and got the hell out of there. I am sure this hotel was the best thing in the 60's and 70's but it was left in the 60's and 70's and needs to be remodeled. The owner needs to spend the night in this hotel. If the owner spent the night here he would demolish it and start over.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonMrtnAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Had a great stay. Highly recommend using hotels-and-discounts.com , better pricing. My stay was fantastic. Rarely saw the the help around but the facility was very clean and the pool staff was out early a.m. cleaning the pool. Front desk upgraded my room to a pool view at no charge! That was great p.r. Will be there again next week just because...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skygot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,208 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
154 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
126 reviews
1.7 mi away
Two Bunch Palms
Two Bunch Palms
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel

Address: 10805 Palm Dr, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240-2598
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range: £48 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel is famous for its natural hot mineral water! So come for the day and use our eight natural hot mineral pools. A classic example of retro 60s architecture, the Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel features fifty comfortable rooms wrapped around a large courtyard with towering palms and eight shimmering natural hot mineral spring pools open 24 hours. Spa-goers and sun worshipers come from far and wide to partake in the restful and relaxing atmosphere.Spas are nice, but natural mineral spring spas are paradise! We offer the desert’s most extensive and affordable spa therapies and beauty treatments in a fun, casual setting.You’ll also enjoy indoor and outdoor dining at the Sunshine Café, or sip your favorite beverage in the Sports Lounge or poolside while you sun and soak.And the Desert Hot Springs Spa is pet friendly! We also offer room service and wireless Internet for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hot Springs Hotel Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing