We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Dogspa!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Hot Springs Inn
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We loved this little place. Our stay was on a Wednesday night in March, and there were only two other couples there with their dogs. We stayed here because we like to travel with our miniature schnauzer. Our plan was to visit Joshua Tree National Park, and this motel was nearby. The room was spacious and clean and king bed comfortable. The pool and jacuzzi are heated by the hot springs. There is a nice fenced dog park in the back. Healthy items for breakfast. It's worth it to get the kitchen access if you want to prepare a meal. The only downside is that it is on a main street in the town although it was not noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula31952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

The night we arrived all was quiet, though it was 10:00 pm. As moving into the plea sent room, my husband noticed something on the pool bottom. The pool lights were on and it certainly looked like a dog poop to both of us. Swimming was a huge part of our decision to make reservations here. Not a welcoming sight.

On the positive side, the King bed was very comfortable with nice linens. The room was tastefully appointed and had some charm. Nice french doors leading right out to the pretty patio.

We had the optional kitchenette leading off the bedroom. The connecting door to the next room had a two inch space under it without any rubber runner attracted. This caused a huge commotion from the next door dogs every time we used it. Then the pets owner would shout at their dogs to be quiet. This gap made it sound like the other guests were in the same unit. You could hear all the tv noise and their conversation. So we kept the kitchenette door closed unless we were using it.

The spa was nice and clean so we got into that every day. First night it was too cool, but the temp when tip to 102 the next morning and stayed there. Then we saw the pool had been clean after two days, so we used it on the last day. Nice patio and lounge setup, with plenty of towels and chairs.

The dog park and patio within was very nice and kept clean. BBQ and has fire place, though didn't use either.

The breakfasts were marginal. First morning they only had one bagel left when my husband went to retrieve it for both of us. Yogurt was sweet and runny, got a hard boils egg one day. Nothing to write home about. So we bought our own fruit and bread after that to supliment.

Our dog is well socialized, very small and used to travel. Other people there had dogs that were not. We had another guests two dogs barking at us on the patio. The owner noticed with only a scowl. Actually, the owner's main facial expression was a scowl. The owner's two terriers are lovely and behave well.

This leads me to tell you that the owner who lives on the property seems to not be a happy hotel proprietor, she let us know it on to different occasions...by leaving her office door open while on the phone. She is obviously not happy with the town council and the water taxes...she spoke about as loud as she could without screaming into the phone, for at least an hour one morning. We were laying around the pool only yards from her open door. She wanted everyone to hear, this was obvious and quite stressful for both my husband and I. The next day she complained to a friend in person about the situation again with her door opened to the patio. A very bad hospitality host she makes. She also walked around cleaning the pool or doing something on the patio, with never a smile and a few short remarks as conversation.

We were on our way back from a trip to Mexico, stoping for a family birthday in Palm Desert. We thought that this dog friendly retreat sounded relaxing though farther away than was necessary. With adding the high road traffic noise, ants in the bathroom, plus the low end neighborhood surroundings, I will not say that it was worth the trouble. The Homewood suites in PD would have been a better choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ThreeMares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My brother and I recently spent four days and three nights at Paula's Desert Spa Resort. Initially, we were only going to stay for two nights, but as it was so relaxing there, we opted for a third night. The pictures on her Airbnb site do justice to the beautiful resort. We stayed in the two bedroom suite featured on the site's picture slideshow, and it is just as tastefully furnished as it appears there.

Even though this resort is an optimum location for dog lovers, those without pooches are welcome too. Paula caters to our furry friends' every care: there are dog beds provided in rooms where dog owners and their doggies stay; in addition, there is a lovely outdoor fenced area where pet owners can relax on a delightful patio and watch their pets at play.

We enjoyed the pool one evening which is kept at a cozy 88 degrees; we also dipped into the spa which provides a great temperature contrast to the pool as it is kept at 102 degrees.

In the evening, we chatted in the very comfortable and relaxing doggy lounge with a well -appointed stainless steel kitchen nearby in case we wanted to make some coffee or tea. This is the same kitchen where a continental breakfast is served each morning from 8-10 a.m. complete with cereal choices, bagels and cream with preserves and yoghurt.

Desert Spa Resort is well-located for access to Palm Springs and the other desert cities. It takes 15 -20 minutes to get to PS and about 45 minutes to travel to Joshua Tree.

I will definitely be returning to Paula's in the near future as it is a beautiful retreat only two hours from LA.

Room Tip: If two couples are traveling together, they may want to opt for the suites available. There are two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed over President's Day weekend, read about DogSpa in Sunset magazine and had to give it a go. We are always looking for places we can go with our 2 beagles, as we find most "pet friendly" places are really only "pet tolerant" and charge exorbitant fees to allow the fur babies to stay. DogSpa is a different approach to the traveling pet owner and we were thrilled to experience it. Dogs are the real guests here with all the pamperings of home and no additional fees.

* Intimate setting with 8 rooms all facing the pool and hot tub which is secluded behind the brick wall, allowing for privacy and safety.
* Completely leash free with an accessible dog area off the kitchen lounge area. Dogs can roam and make new friends while owners relax.
* Comfortable rooms tailored to pet and human comfort. The property is 50's era with some great renovations. Comfortable beds, bathrobes and contemporary furnishings.
* Close to freeway and short drive to town.
* Great breakfast choices included in your stay. Soft bagels, juice, cereal, yogurt.
* Overall FANTASTIC experience for all of us, the dogs slept well every night (as did we) after frolicking around the pool.

Hats off to the owner who has created a wonderful space for doggies and their owners to both enjoy quality time together.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in Feb. The weather was so warm and sunny and the nights desert crisp. The dogs (3) had a great time having the run of the place. We were the only guests during that time. We enjoyed the pool, the spa and the rooms, linens, towels and other amenities were all we could ask for. The breakfast available was totally sufficient, since that's the way we eat anyway. We had connecting rooms and the dogs enjoyed romping back and forth, we were all very happy.

Room Tip: my room had French doors and it was way too light for me. My friend had a regular door so we switch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We went to unwind before the holidays. Paula was awesome. The facilities were perfect. We stayed in one of the wellness rooms and it was probably one of the best night's sleep I'd had in ages. Thanks, we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WP92504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We loved staying at the Dogspa Resort. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We got a number of good recommendation for dining in the area. The facilities were great. And, our dog was on cloud 9, she just loved roaming around and meeting all kind of new friends.

Room Tip: Book a suite for a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
1.9 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,236 reviews
1.8 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#17 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
484 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
156 reviews
1.3 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hot Springs Inn

Address: 67840 Hacienda Ave, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240-4818 (Formerly DogSpa Resort)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Desert Hot Springs Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to discover our healing desert hideaway. Soak, swim and rejuvenate in natural hot mineral waters in our 90F pool and 102F spa. Our intimate six room boutique hotel overlooks the city of Palm Springs with unobstructed mountain views.Relax in our casual B&B style inn and enjoy our pet friendly policies. Dogs are like family, so there are no additional fees to bring them along. No extra room charge, No size limits, and No breed restrictions is our unique offering! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Desert Hot Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing