We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HUMAN HAIR "ALL OVER" THE BEDSPREAD!!! IN plain english "DISGUSTING"!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
420 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“HUMAN HAIR "ALL OVER" THE BEDSPREAD!!! IN plain english "DISGUSTING"!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

I frankly do NOT like giving these types of reviews, browse my reviews you will take notice that I like to be "fair". I am a business owner myself, we all know that this economy needs boosting & I am ALL for it! I LOVE PROMOTING BUSINESSES that "EARN" it! People work hard pleasing customers with no "validation" I go out of my way to ENSURE people are aware that I appreciated their hospitality. I could not get myself to turn a blind eye to this FILTH, no reason for it, whatsoever. I AM SORRY, I NEED TO POST WHAT OCCURRED!

THE HAIR WAS ENMESHED IN THE BEDSPREAD SO BADLY IT WAS IMPOSSIBLE TO REMOVE! IT WAS A GROSS NIGHTMARE!!!

I thought "maybe they cut someone's hair on the bed & never washed the bedspread" but once I lifted the fitted sheet off the bed I realized their was DRIED UP OLD PAINT CHIPS & who knows what else! My husband & I quickly placed the sheet back on the bed & grabbed towels & wrapped ourselves in the towels (believe it or not we slept on chairs in the room wrapped in bath towels). We were so disgusted & discouraged we QUICKLY left once we found availability.

WHY...did we not leave that night....
It was 11 p.m. & unfortunately the places we called were booked & over 25 miles away. This place is NOT WORTH your hard earned money NOR your time!!! Too many nice hotels, B&B's, villas to take a RISK at this property. Not to mention CLEANLINESS should be a priority before DECOR...not at this property!!!

Neighborhood?
Nothing to be desired, very unpleasant, nothing but a field across the way that looks like it has not been touched in over a decade, the surrounding area is not mediocre it is less than. I have NO IDEA why the reviews do not comment on any of this. YEA! If you ONLY care about esthetics this is the PROPERTY for you! Who would ENJOY Disneyland if it contained rats.... It's obvious the grounds have not been hosed down in a long time, no thanks!

I have been vacationing in the P. Springs area for over 35 years & I have NEVER in my life seen such a filthy room! NOT EVEN IN LOW BUDGET HOTELS, THIS IS THE HONEST TRUTH! I have traveled to CUBA (3rd world country) & the B&B's were SPOTLESS!!! Not "1" bad experience. I travel often all OVER the U.S. & NEVER have I encountered such lack of hygiene :(

The reason this PLACE has high ratings is due to the esthetics of the property. YES THIS IS TRUE! The spa, the metal lounge beds, the wood beams, the warm interior of the lobby is FANTASTIC! Very impressive actually, I was stunned that the interior has nothing in common with CLEANLINESS. The decor is AMAZING!! The woodwork alone is a standout. TOO BAD they do not have "HYGIENE" on their list of priorities :(

The property needs to be STRIPPED down & cleaned thoroughly!!!!!

BTW...the customer service was indeed EXCELLENT.....

*Noteworthy
Management really needs to have checks in place for cleanliness!

FIVE STAR'S FOR THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billionsandnocure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TUSCANSPRINGS, Owner at Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
We take all of our reviews, whether positive or negative into account and always try to address any issue. I understand that you are saying you had a bad experience with us however, we do not understand why our "excellent" customer service was never given the opportunity to address your issue or even be notified about your experience. When you arrived at the hotel you were already noticeably upset because you weren't located in the heart of Palm Springs. We are located in Desert Hot Springs and though this area is not like Palm Springs guests come to our Hotel & Spa to enjoy our place. Most of our guests hardly leave our hotel and come for relaxation and to enjoy our mineral water pools. All of our guest rooms have their own fridge so many of our guests bring food with them or have food delivered from a near by restaurant. You mentioned in your review that you are surprised why most reviews don't address this issue of location. This is because guests come to our hotel FOR the HOTEL and not the location. Our hotel creates an atmosphere of relaxation and a feeling of serenity. From the moment you step into our lobby you feel transported to a magical place. I noticed in your review that you used the example of Disneyland and that makes sense since like Disneyland we are in fact a special place and strive to give our guests the best experience possible. Our hotel is not a cookie cutter basic hotel with minimal amenities. And therefore guests come out to Desert Hot Springs for our Hotel & Spa. In fact most of our guests say they prefer Desert Hot Springs over Palm Springs because it is a more relaxed city and not crowded with too many tourists. You mentioned that the land around looks like it has not been touched for ten years and that is in fact correct because we have surrounding the hotel natural native untouched desert land. So for once and for all we are not located anywhere else but Desert Hot Springs and we have owned and operated this property for over twenty years and we are very proud of our city with its beautiful mountain views and magical healing mineral waters that only this city has!
Now as far as you saying that our guestroom is "filthy" that comes to us as a complete shock. First of all you mention that we have bed spreads in our rooms, this is untrue. Every guestroom has a white duvet (sheet) that covers the down comforter on the bed which is replaced and washed after each guest. So you say that this white sheet was covered in so much hair that it looked like someone cut their hair. This cannot be true since I the owner double check every guest room before each check in. You also say that you found "paint chips" in the mattress this also cannot be true since the mattresses are completely taken out of any room being renovated. Also we do not paint our rooms we have them Venetianed Plastered which would not look like paint chips. I went back and checked each mattress and cannot identify anything. You mention that you yourself is a bussiness owner and that you thought we had excellent customer service then I wonder why would you not come and address these issues with us. With each guest we do a tour of the property and escort you to your guestroom. I (the owner) personnally stood at the entrance of your room while you checked out your accomodations which included you touching the top of the bed. I asked you if everything is ok and you said yes. If later on you discover an issue, and feel you have to sleep on chairs why would you not come inform me since we are there 24 hours a day? When you checked in I informed you that I am there 24 hours a day and always accessible if you need anything. Also if you had to sleep on a chair why would you not tell me the next day since again you felt our customer service was EXCELLENT? If someone has a bad experience at our Hotel & Spa we will do anything to help rectify the situation in any way we can! You mention you are a avid travelor then why not discuss this issue with us?
All of our guestrooms are newly renovated and are thoroughly cleaned daily. We pride ourselves on keeping everything well maintained including cleanliness and making it beautifull! How can we have excellent customer service, beautiful detailed decor, a "fantastic" lobby and spa area, as you state, and yet leave a bed covered in hair? We pay close attention to every detail and are bewildered at such a harsh claim!

You mention in your review that you like to be "fair" however you never gave us a fair opportuity to work out this issue that you have stated occured. At Tuscan Springs Hotel & Spa we are not happy that you had a negative experience and wish we could have given you that wonderful experience that so many of our guests have. We wish you well on many more of your future travels!
Camelia
Owner Tuscan Springs Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    23
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
81
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Tuscan Springs 4 times in the past few years for 3-5 day getaways. I decided to write a review because this place is so perfect. The rooms are beautiful and romantic. The mineral springs are healing. The breakfast area is easy and excellent. The hosts are excellent at helping make everything suitable but also giving you your privacy. The views of the mountains and the deserts are gorgeous. And the prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and comfortable, but if you want an extra bonus then go for the room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshuatreefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here President's Day weekend 2013 because we decided to go to the desert "last minute" and everything that looked good to us in Palm Springs was booked. We discovered this gem after we expanded our search. I cannot say enough nice things about this place. Relaxing. Beautiful. Wonderful staff. Gorgeous rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

My daughter and I were in town for Thanksgiving and decided to spend a day at Tuscan Springs. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. The pool area is beautiful, with comfortable poolside chaises, couches and poolside beds. There are three pools, each offering a different temperature of therapeutic, detoxifying, natural mineral water. The pools themselves are lovely, tiled in shades of blue with stone accents. Since the facility is adults-only, the atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. After we had soaked for awhile, it was time for our treatments. We each had the European Rose Mud Wrap, followed by a massage. These were provided by very expert therapists, and we were more than happy with the entire hedonistic experience. We spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing and soaking. Next time we are in the Palm Springs area we will stay at Tuscan Springs. Its absolutely more than we hoped for.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rubbertgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for a nice Day Spa in the Desert Springs area. This place did not disappoint. If you book a treatment at the spa, you can use their jacuzzis and mineral pools. So we decided to arrive early and enjoy some jacuzzi time before getting a couple's massage. The place was beautiful. The spa area had cute cabanas set up around the pools. There was a place to make tea or coffee. That in itself was relaxing. But the massages were amazing. Gloria and Shamera were wonderful. We got the signature massage that incorporates aromatherapy. We both were so relaxed after leaving. We enjoyed our day there so much, we plan to come back later and stay at the hotel. The owner was so pleasant to chat with. We will come back here for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

This place is like a home away from home. The owner is very welcoming. The coffee was amazing. The rooms are cozy and beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

My GF and I went to get away from the busy day to day life of Los Angeles. Upon a recommendation from a friend (who knew we were in some desperate need of R&R), we decided to stay at Tuscan Springs.

We rarely left the hotel grounds as it was so accomodating. The volcanic water hot tubs were very refreshing/relaxing. GF got a massage & a facial and feel asleep immediately afterward.

Capped the trip with a wonderful continental breakfast.

If you are looking for a beautiful hotel to get some R&R in. This is your place!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
2.1 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.1 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.0 mi away
Two Bunch Palms
Two Bunch Palms
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa

Property: Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Address: 68187 Club Circle Dr, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-4366 (Formerly Highland Spring Waters)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#11 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuscan Springs is a lavish Italian inspired Hotel & Spa tucked away in Desert Hot Springs, Ca just north of Palm Springs, Ca. Come and enjoy your stay in any of our newly renovated Garden View or Mountain View Terrace rooms. Treat you or someone special to any of our wide array of spa services. Wrap yourself in your plush robe and grab a light snack in our Tuscan Lounge before going to relax in one of our three hot mineral pools. Here at Tuscan Springs we look forward to transporting you to a comfortable and relaxing reality. Tuscan Springs Hotel & Spa is a Sixteen Room Boutique Hotel which features two natural mineral water Jacuzzis and a large natural mineral water pool. All of our water is pumped from a 350 ft aqua well that is naturally volcanically heated to 115 degrees. All the pools are held at varying temperatures for swimming and soaking comfort. Tuscan Springs offers a complimentary expanded continental breakfast which features French Press Coffees and a variety of fruits, breads, and bagels, avocados, fresh pressed waffles and hard boiled eggs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscan Springs Hotel Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing