We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis in the Desert” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Ok cliche' I know but very very true. This refreshing gem of a spa is just what we needed after a hot greuling weekend in a rather *ahem* awkward living arrangement during our Labor Day weekend. But it was all good because it brought us to Living Waters. First plus...our hostess called us by our names as soon as she opened the door. I instantly felt like a V.I.P. But I'm skeptical....let's see what else they've got. Our hostess (I can't remember her name) but she was a cutie pie with wavy dark hair, got us checked in and explained our options, gave us the tour and we were off to enjoy the day. Completely no nonsense. They don't try to sell you on anything because they know what they've got. Love that!!
The energy of the desert is already calming and relaxing, but walking into this place you feel like you are in your own private paradise. Black, white, latino, plump, or pin thin, everyone is there for the same reasons and you feel completely free to relax and do you whatever you are.

OMG

And the complimentary hors d' oeuvres at 3?

CLASS ACT!!

You have a chance to mingle and fellowship with everyone at the resort in the tub, including your hostess. I mean, how could it possibly get any better? Maybe if someone was walking around giving away foot massages. But that's just me.

*blank stare*

All in all this place is top notch and my man and I will cut out the middleman and not even bother renting a hotel room on our annual P.S. trip. Next year? Living Waters will be our address for Labor Day weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khadijah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    12
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
266
51
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We arrived there after a 6-7hour stop-and-go horror-drive from L.A. - but forgot about it immediately when we were received by the very friendly hosts who made us feel at home right away. Staying there, lying in the outside hot tub and pool, enjoying the complementary breakfast and the stylish rooms gives you a true honeymoon feeling.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Terrific owners, great employees, well kept facility and great weather! Not so far away that we visited Costa Mesa for a production of La Cage Aux Folles and went to Laguna Beach for the Pageant of the Masters. The other guests at LWS are all ladies and gentleman which is the atmosphere that Jeff and Judy bring to LWS. If you want to relax and be among friends that you haven't met before, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmister
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We loved our visit here. It was just what we needed for a pieceful, relaxing, great massage and condo stay. We will be back. Jeff and Judy make you feel at home. The wonderful water was great for us. We enjoyed the quiet, pieceful surroundings to get away from the hustle and bustle of our everyday lives. Usually when I take a vacation, I get back and am so tired that I need a vaction from my vacation. But not this time. It was truly a vacation heaven sent. We stayed in the condo at night which was very relaxing and cool. Then, we enjoyed the desert sun, tanning, swimming, and just relaxing by the pool during the day. It was great. I recommend it to anyone wanting to just be yourself and relax, restore, and rejuvenate.

Room Tip: Condos were wonderful and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetheBWestmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

First I like to mention that I am an African American female age 26. For what we got for 45$ , me and my husband (age 32) give it a 5. We had a day spa pass and it was the cheapest we could find with the best reviews so we went for it. The spa is located in a quiet area in desert hot springs. There is nothing super fancy about the spa, but it was clean and empty. We went there on a Thrusday afternoon and we were the only people using the pools for about 1hr untill another couple came out.

They have comp water, soda, and games to play in a little breakfast area.

The owners we nice and welcoming. GO!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alluuna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My spouse and I have been to a few different clothing optional resorts in the area. The most relaxing, by far, is Living Waters Spa. Jeff and Judy are excellent, professional, hosts. I was impressed that they both take positive roles in making the community, beyond their business, a better, safer, place.

If you have not been to a clothing optional spa, I recommend this as your first experience. The place is clean and well maintained. The jacuzzi and pool are fed by hot mineral water from the ground. The water does not smell bad like some can. The jacuzzi has a slight discoloration from the mineral water, but it is clean, and Jeff openly discussed the sanitation methods used. The kitchen area of the room got a little warm, not unpleasantly so, but it was also 108 degrees F. in Desert Hot Springs the weekend that we were there.

We decided to take the couples massage classes, to include the sensual massage classes. They were presented in a mature and appropriate manner, given the content. We never felt uncomfortable during any of the classes, and learned useful massage techniques. We even had a few good laughs.

We never thought that we would meet people we would want to be friends with, at a clothing optional resort. We are not swingers, nor is this Spa a location for that sort of thing. We met other couples and made new friends. Friends that we could hang out with and enjoy conversation with at any location.

If you want a relaxing location, or you want to give clothing optional a first try, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Your2Friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We had never been to Living Waters Spa but decided to celebrate our anniversary there. What a great choice. The facility was excellent and Jeff & Judy were the best host ever. We enjoyed a couples massage as part of our stay and it was so relaxing and romantic.The mineral water hot tub and pool were just as good as advertised. The spa atmosphere was preaceful, so refreshing and always friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachgoers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
2.1 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.0 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
8.5 mi away
Desert Sun Resort
Desert Sun Resort
#29 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa

Property: Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa
Address: 13340 Mountain View Rd, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-6444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#1 Best Value Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates: $99-$209. We are a clothing optional mini-resort spa with two natural hot mineral water pools, stylish rooms and condos, distinctive massage and spa treatments, king size beds, custom mattresses, free wifi, massage workshops, breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres, early check-in and late check-out, complete privacy, great people and a relaxing, romantic and de-stressing environment. Experience "more than a vacation" at Living Waters Spa and you take home the coolest vacation souvenir of all: no tan-lines! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Living Waters Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Living Waters Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing