We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Weekend at Living Waters Spa is like a WEEK anywhere else!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Weekend at Living Waters Spa is like a WEEK anywhere else!”
Reviewed 28 June 2009

The relaxatiion we feel in just two days at Living Waters Spa is so complete, it's like being on vacation for an entire week anywhere else. Just an hour away from our home, it's the perfect "get away". The pool area is quiet and relaxing, with gentle soothing music. You can read, visit with friends (you'll meet some of the nicest people at Living Waters Spa), or even sleep on a lounge chair in the shade of a bunch of tall palms, next to the pool. This European style clothing optional retreat is very comfortable. It's all about the sun and the water at Living Waters Spa. Wear a suit if you want, or enjoy the experience without. Pack lightly, a towel, hat, toothbrush, flip flops and I'm ready to go! Oh, I take my laptop because they have wireless internet. We especially enjoy staying in the condos. They are new, clean and very comfortable with TV's and full kitchens. We've had massages on many occasions. The massage staff are wonderfully skilled and all the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbMassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    12
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
269
52
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

My wife and I have visited Living Waters Spa (LWS) a few times, and each visit is more enjoyable. Hotel description: small private 8 room hotel, with a small mineral water pool and Jacuzzi. The environment is relaxing because of its’ size, comfortable rooms, and policy of no cell phones in public areas and no TV's in the rooms. LWS is a place my wife and I go to rest, relax, and communicate. Due to the relaxing nature of LWS, my wife and I have the opportunity to clearly think and talk to each other free of distractions. Somewhat, like “detoxing” your mind. I highly recommend this hotel to any couple or person who wants to relax and build a stronger bond with their partner or one self. If you wish to party and listen to loud music by the pool, this place is not for you. The website for LWS is informative, true and accurate. The owners Jeff and Judy are wonderful hosts, who strive to maintain a relaxing environment. The atmosphere does not change from weekend to weekend, or according to guests. Thanks Jeff and Judy for the wonderful job of providing a consistently relaxing environment. And their massages are the best.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2009

What a wonderful place! Jeff and Judy are so warm and welcoming, the waters are amazing, and the spa is so serene -the perfect place to duck out of the rat-race and recharge.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kktho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Behind the Orange Curtain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

JUST KEEPING IT REAL: Although this little 7 bed inn is the owners home and they do not let you forget it, reminding you often of the rules and their wishes, you can still have a fairly nice visit. I saw one of the staff carry "wine in a box" and not sure if this is in their sangria they serve afternoons, so I avoided that. Unless you are a total lizard and can bake in the sun all day, you will not be excited that no umbrellas or shade can be found. If you look at the old postcards in the dining room, the original owners used umbrellas widely and with success. They have no misting system so avoid hot days unless you can stay in the pool all day. The rooms are nice, but take some shin guards because the beds have an oversized platform that protrudes out and busts your shins every time you enter/exit. All of the windows are original single pane glass with aluminum frames and tracks, none of the windows in our room could be opened or closed without considerable effort and were very noisy due to worn out bearings or worn tracks. The sliding glass door entries about the same. The owners seem more intent on buying up the block then upgrading the inn for their guests and it shows. They keep the place very controlled and if you talk a bit too loud, don't expect a smile. They used to have a no alcohol policy that they enforced, but with the current economy, it appears that they have had to ignore this rule. Unless you are a cigarette smoker, you will not be able to sit at the table that is in the lower level, I would have loved at table to dine at in that area, but I do not like smoke. As for the only other outdoor table, it sits in the spa area and the people in the closest room sat their most of the time. One of us got a massage and found it too rough so will not be getting a massage again unless this improves. We have noticed the massage staff (1 person) seems to change on each visit, not sure if its busy enough to keep an employee or if they are on call. We have stayed at many other resorts in DHS and Palm Springs and overall, find this a nice place to visit and stay although a bit monastic.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stinkycheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivingWatersSpa, Owners - Jeff & Judy at Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
As the owners of Living Waters Spa, we want every guest to have a wonderful visit and we’re sorry that this guest didn’t love his/her visit as much as the thousands of other people who have loved their stays. (Just see some of the other reviews on this website!) And the same with our massages: nearly everyone tells us that they got the best massage of their lives here at Living Waters Spa. (Again, see our other reviews on TripAdvisor.) Just for the record, our mineral water spa offers plenty of shade (the large overhanging eves off our Mid-Century Modern building provide ample places to escape the sun, our smaller pool is under an awning and we don’t use umbrellas as they block the views of Mt. San Jacinto), almost all of our windows are brand new, all our windows and doors work well, and we are devoted to keeping everything clean and sparkling. We are a true “spa” in every sense, not a place to “party as our website clearly states. Our motto is: Relax, Rejuvenate, and Restore. We hope to see you soon.
—Jeff and Judy Bowman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

This was our 2nd. trip here. Our first over night stay at the pool side rooms.
Not only is the place very relaxing, and the 3pm snacks wonderful, the rooms are better than some 5 start hotels that we have stayed at. The library is great, and the massage's are to die for. I have had many massages over the years, theirs is truly the best i've ever had.

I took my boyfriend to a local steak house for his birthday dinner, and it was very good and reasonably priced. We loved being able to skinny dip late in the evening and just be with each other in such a quiet atmosphere. We enjoyed the silky waters, which left our skin so smooth.
Judy and Jeff, the owners are very nice and easy to talk with.

We look forward to our next trip there.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevergiveup64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago suburbs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2009

This is our second visit to Living Waters Spa and certainly not our last. The owners, Jeff and Judy, take great pride in ensuring that each guest feels welcome. The facilities are gorgeous and well maintained. Also, check out the beautifully furnished and spacious condos across the street which are also part of the spa. For those visitors who may be somewhat intimidated by the clothing optional billing, your anxieties will be allayed within minutes of your arrival.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizardChicagosuburbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L.A. suburbs
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Quiet, relaxing and friendly - like a day visiting friends. Premises clean and inviting without pretense, hosts extend personal touch. Massage wonderfully relaxing by skilled, attentive professionals. Great stress reliever in home-like atmosphere away from city, with nice views. Also nice get-away for day if staying elsewhere. Will return often.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
2.1 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,166 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
550 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
462 reviews
8.5 mi away
Desert Sun Resort
Desert Sun Resort
#31 of 73 in Palm Springs
276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa

Property: Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa
Address: 13340 Mountain View Rd, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-6444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates: $99-$209. We are a clothing optional mini-resort spa with two natural hot mineral water pools, stylish rooms and condos, distinctive massage and spa treatments, king size beds, custom mattresses, free wifi, massage workshops, breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres, early check-in and late check-out, complete privacy, great people and a relaxing, romantic and de-stressing environment. Experience "more than a vacation" at Living Waters Spa and you take home the coolest vacation souvenir of all: no tan-lines! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Living Waters Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Living Waters Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing