We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific relaxation and diversity...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, OR
1 review
“Terrific relaxation and diversity...”
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The LWS website does a good job of explaining the European spa aspects of Living Waters and it lives up to that billing. What my wife & I found additionally rewarding during our week there was the warmth of the staff and diversity of the guests.

Very noticeable at arrival was an air of calmness, professionalism and acceptance. It wasn't long before the LWS folks felt less like staff and more like family. We each received multiple massages and agreed that they were at once technically excellent and lovingly applied. We also participated in and enjoyed the yoga classes.

During the week we enjoyed meeting and spending time with other guests. Their backgrounds and conversations were always interesting & entertaining.

We were also fortunate at various times during the week to have a parent and (grown) children stop by. They were made welcome and greatly enjoyed their visits.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oregoncouple97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    12
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
269
52
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamitos, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We discovered Living Waters a few years ago on one of our sojourns to the desert. Like many others, this was our first experience at a clothing optional resort, and we were a bit nervous and apprehensive. But the owners Jeff and Judy are great at making first-timers feel at ease, and realize that being sans clothing is liberating and not that big a deal.

The facility is a small old motel (mid-century vintage) that has been completely renovated, even retaining the original neon signage. The resort is oriented around a pool and spa that are fed by natural springs, so no chlorine! And the views of the mountains from the spa are killer.

The massages are among the best either my wife or I have had. Jeff and Judy are both skilled massage therapists, and the couples massage is highly recommended. We normally do a day use in connection with a massage, and have only stayed here once, but the rooms are nice . . clean and simple without a lot of distractions (meaning no TV).

We almost always schedule a day here when we come to the desert. Great place to relax and rejuvenate.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Law Vegas
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2009

My wife and I wanted to slip away from our busy professional lives and young children to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We decided to go to a spa, and wanted something quiet and off the beaten track. We live in Las Vegas and wanted the opposite of the corporate style here. We had been to Two Bunch in 2003 (our last spa getaway) and had a wonderful experience at that time. but wanted to try something new. So we kept looking and found this place while browsing the internet.

We are 40 and 50 year old professionals and had not tried a clothing optional spa before, so this was a step for us. However, the owners took the extra effort to answer our questions, and then were very helpful in accomodating our last minute scheduling hassles.

We were a bit nervous as we pulled up. But we were immediately put at ease by the intimate, clean facilities, the wonderful owners and the other friendly guests of varied ages (mostly repeats) with whom we enjoyed chatting. We have had a fair amout of massages in Las Vegas and other places when have traveled. The massages and treatments we had at Living Waters were particularly fulfilling and memorable, far superior to what we have previously experienced. We loved sitting in the wonderful pools and just reading and relaxing. This place is definitely a repeat for us in 2010.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2009

My wife and I just spent a weekend in one of Living Water's beautiful condos for our 2nd anniversary. This was our first time going to a clothing optional resort and we went in with a bit of nervousness and trepidation. However, from the moment we went inside to check in, our fears were set aside by Jeff and Judy's (Owners) welcoming attitude and exemplary service. It only took us a day to decide we would be booking a return trip before too long.
Stripping down to get in the perfection of the mineral waters was an easy task in this setting. The guests were very friendly, Jeff and Judy are very involved in everything that goes on, and Living Waters truly feels like a secluded, serene, and (most important for first timers) safe place to experience the true bliss of floating nude in rejuvinating waters.
Do yourselves, and your relationships, a favor and go experience Living Waters for yourself.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RatPackRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

If you want to go to a relaxing natural hot spring spa and enjoy the freedom of clothes free enviroment then Living Waters Spa is a must visit location. The hosts Jeff and Judy treat their guests more like family, in this secluded spa where you can leave the bustle of the world behind , and your clothes, as you enter the property. The rejeuvenating natural ( no chlorine ) hot spring water soothes the body and does wonders for your skin.
To wake in the morning and walk straight out of your poolside room and plunge into the warm water naked is the most refreshing way to start a relaxing, quiet day at Living Waters. The views of the sun rising on Mt. Jacinto make you feel blessed to be alive. If all else fails to help you leave the pressures of the world behind, sign up for a full body massage, to complete your experience in total relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Au_NaturelAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2009

My wife and I wanted to do something sexy for our 9th anniversary and the erotic couple’s weekend sounded like the ticket. We are a monogamous open minded couple still very much in love and when we were dating we had gone to a few nude beaches together. In those few excursions, we had never interacted or spoke with other people and the thought of that was a bit unsettling.

The hosts (Jeff & Judy) do a great job in setting up a relaxing and comfortable environment. Right from the beginning, Judy set up the ‘tone’ of Living Waters by asking a few inquisitive questions as we booked the weekend. They really embody the idea that it is not about the party but about spending time in any level of dress (or undress) you feel like. Swimming, laying out and sitting in the spa was so natural and relaxing that it is truly difficult to articulate.

The people we met were great as well. At the couple’s weekend, the other couples were married between 22 and 32 years, were friendly and completely respectable. We thought we were so adventurous and ‘hip’ but seeing these other couples have been married almost as long as we were old, really put things into perspective. Life and Love is a journey and we are all traveling at different paces.

As a final endorsement all we can say are these few statements: we both learned some things in the erotic workshops that we are incorporating in our lives, we are looking forward to trying some other clothing optional resorts and we will definitely be coming back to Living Waters! If you are a happy couple, go to Living Waters and you will find that you enjoy it more than you might expect.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SD_Beak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I had never tried a clothing optional spa before and was kind of hesitant. After taking a tour of the beautiful facilities, the crystal clear mineral water, and the sauna, I was ready to take the plunge! Nothing is so freeing than to feel clean, crisp water on every inch of your skin without the everyday constrictions of modern day fabric. Even the sun feels different, touching areas that have never before seen the outdoor rays. It was a very healing experience and I plan to return whenever my schedule permits me to do so. Jeff and Judy had a wonderful vision and with their sweetness, generosity, and determination, they made it happen! I would definitely recommend visiting this spa to anyone who's willing to try something new!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelbaby644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
2.1 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,176 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
551 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Desert Sun Resort
Desert Sun Resort
#31 of 73 in Palm Springs
276 reviews
2.0 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#18 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa

Property: Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa
Address: 13340 Mountain View Rd, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-6444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates: $99-$209. We are a clothing optional mini-resort spa with two natural hot mineral water pools, stylish rooms and condos, distinctive massage and spa treatments, king size beds, custom mattresses, free wifi, massage workshops, breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres, early check-in and late check-out, complete privacy, great people and a relaxing, romantic and de-stressing environment. Experience "more than a vacation" at Living Waters Spa and you take home the coolest vacation souvenir of all: no tan-lines! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Living Waters Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Living Waters Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing