We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Thanksgiving to remember” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Thanksgiving to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

I can not say enough good things about those four nights and five days we spent at the Living Waters Spa in Desert Hot Springs, CA. It was an incredible experience.
The days were spent enjoying the natural beauty of this part of the country. We could have spent several weeks here and not run out of hikes, drives, museums, galleries and things to do. Joshua Tree National Park, Palm Springs, Little Morongo Canyon, Big Morongo Canyon Preserve only scratch the surface of local gems to see.
Living Waters Spa is also a gem not to be missed. Jeff and Judy are most welcoming hosts at this wonderful spa. We found the natural hot spring waters to be just what was needed to ease the pain and tension of living and working in Manhattan. We stayed in one of their larger rooms and found the views, kitchen, and comfortable bed were perfect for our needs. Clean and comfortable with easy access to the pool and spa tub.
We were fortunate to have booked this Thanksgiving time frame with them. We found the other guests were upbeat, intelligent souls who also were happy to have found this spot or glad to be returning back for another visit. We became friends with a number of couples during the spa soaks and afternoon treats that Jeff and Judy provided. Then on Thanksgiving the owners invited all guests to bring a dish to pass and they provided the turkey. This dinner was one we will remember forever. The food was gourmet quality delicious, the conversation was lively, and several of the guests provided entertainment. The magician warmed the crowd but the main act was the one that was that rocked the house. The couple that were musicians played and sang a set of songs that were enjoyed by all. A high end Martin acoustic guitar and a vintage french fiddle complimented the velvet voices that melted the room. It was a privilege to be at this great meal and hear the music.
We will certainly return to Living Waters Spa and will spread the word word to worthy friends. We will keep it secret from those who are loud and obnoxious boors.
Thank you Jeff and Judy!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatskillMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    12
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
266
51
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

We have been escaping to Living Waters from grey UK Novembers since just after it opened. The rooms and pools are spotlessly clean, the water is warm and soft, Judy provides wonderful massages and home-baked breakfasts, and the atmosphere is calm and quiet. (No mobile phones round the pool!)
Jeff and Judy are welcoming hosts who make a point of inviting everyone to have hors d'oeuvres with them at 3pm every afternoon. In this way, they enable their guests fo meet each other without forcing sociability on anyone. We have met a range of interesting people during our stays, most of whom, like us, are return visitors.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyLemmings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prineville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

We have been guests at LWS 4 times. No place better for real relaxation.
Judy, Jeff and staff are some of the most caring, friendly people you could ever meet.
Rooms are nice size, very clean, comfortable, AND have a kitchenette.
All guests we have met are very friendly and respectful.
Owners & staff, atmosphere, guests and water are just a few reasons we keep going back.
We would highly reccomend this resort to anyone who is looking for relaxation in a clothing optional enviroment that is truely relaxing and we all have nothing to hide.
Dale & Kathy

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papaPrineville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

First time here, found it on the web and were we surprised. Two days of relaxation ready made. Jeff and Judy make your stay by their ever attentive care. The massage is amazing and the pools subperb. We even enjoyed our last day dispite the wind. Wish I could tell you to bypass this place (to keep it to ourselves) but alas I cannot. Amazing spa, amazing hosts, and amazing rooms.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Luv2triparound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

As my husband can attest, I can be kind of picky. However, I am not comfortable in a pretentious and stuffy "typical" spa atmosphere. Living Waters Spa was right up our alley. The rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. The clientele were a great group of people that you can actually have a conversation with (now try to find that at other spas!). The pools were a perfect temperature. You could soak all day, but there is a lot to do in the area (Joshua Tree National Park, Big Morongo Canyon Preserve). The location is easy to find, and in a quiet part of the town. This would be a perfect place to make your base camp and explore JTNP and go birding in the nearby canyons. We arrived in time to soak before the daily hors d'oeuvres. It wasn't hard to convince us to stay another night. Judy and Jeff made a spectacular Thanksgiving dinner for all of the guests. It was a perfect end to a wonderful stay with an amazing community of folks.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank estellablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mena ar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

I will say only this….. Living waters spa…. It is a sliver of shimmering tranquility hidden in the desert...... if your soul is in need of healing and restoring… the peace and comfort that Jeff and Judy surround you with is surreal. Its a place where you can linger from the conversation spa to the pool as you find your self drifting to the soothing music that weaves in and out of the gentle winds…. It is a place where you will find solitude… quite chatter of new friends… transcending massage…beautiful sunrises and sunsets and the power of healing that i have found only their water to bring.... my holidays have found me visiting in July and November… and although the weather was different each visit… it was absolutely amazing…. It is a place I will find myself going again and again…. as a single 30 something female it was so wonderful to find myself in an environment that i felt completely safe and could allow myself to simply "be".... if this is what your body and soul are in search of on your next stop along the way..... once you arrive at living waters... you wont even have to look.... it will find you... enjoy....

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liberta_freedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Warm, sun, warm water, warm hearts. Great people and a wonderful philosophy of relax and rejuvenate. LWS is the perfect getaway to relieve stress and remember why you are with your partner. We always come back to the calm, welcoming setting that Jeff and Judy provide because they care about the well-being of each guest.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LabBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
2.1 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.0 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
8.5 mi away
Desert Sun Resort
Desert Sun Resort
#28 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa

Property: Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa
Address: 13340 Mountain View Rd, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-6444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates: $99-$209. We are a clothing optional mini-resort spa with two natural hot mineral water pools, stylish rooms and condos, distinctive massage and spa treatments, king size beds, custom mattresses, free wifi, massage workshops, breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres, early check-in and late check-out, complete privacy, great people and a relaxing, romantic and de-stressing environment. Experience "more than a vacation" at Living Waters Spa and you take home the coolest vacation souvenir of all: no tan-lines! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Living Waters Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Living Waters Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing