We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sublime return”
Review of Sagewater Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sagewater Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
los angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A sublime return”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I just returned to the Sagewater Spa for the fourth time. I crave returning to this place after I've finished a really big work project or some other intense or stressful event because of its amazing ability to restore and rejuvenate me, body and soul. We arrived this past weekend and the place was just as I remembered it: the two pools, the carefully designed patio, the palm trees at the front of the property, the vibe of simplicity and relaxation. Cris, Rhoni and their dog Sage welcomed us back, handed us the delicious complimentary coffee cake and promised to make me a caipirinha poolside. (Which Rhoni delivered to blended perfection the following evening while I soaked in the glorious 90 degree pool.) Our room was spotless, the concrete floors perfectly polished, the kitchen appointed with organic coffee, every utensil and plate we could possibly need and that enormous pitcher of lemon flavored water. For the next 48 hours, my husband and I only left the place to go out for dinners in Palm Springs. Otherwise, we soaked in those pools, gazed out at the surrounding desert landscape, read books, talked to our fellow travelers and felt like we were old friends of Cris and Rhoni, hanging out at their house. Both women go out of their way to talk with you, to find out what you're about and how they can make you feel even more at home and at peace.

I cannot recommend this place enough to those seeking a unique, intimate, perfectly restful Desert Hot Springs experience. The waters in those pools and the hospitality of Cris and Rhoni will literally melt your stress away.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank angeleno59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    17
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
271
53
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our friends introduced us to Christina and Rhoni when we joined them at their delightful and quietly elegant retreat. It is a delight to become a part of the group of people who have delighted in finding this place and keep on returning. We are lucky enough to be near by in Los Angeles, others come from much farther away. The best part for me: in the night, walking 5 steps from my room, slipping into the pool, floating on my back, absorbed into the star filled night sky. Oh- and the sweet cinnamon coffee cakes that they greet you with- and taste so wonderful; with wine that evening, or with coffee in the morning! Oh- bring a quick drying swimsuit or two of them, so it is always comfortable when you keep returning to the pool…

Room Tip: We have been here twice- I don't have a preference- all of the rooms are very similarly consider...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent- additionally, one of the best aspects- the soothing pool mineral waters are heated by the underground springs particular to the area, all with a carbon free "footprint".
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Wonderful serene gracious hosts quietude healing massage perfect place for rnr

We were attracted to the minimalist (but comfortable) decor and were delighted that it surpassed our expectations -- loved the smooth cool floors, Squeaky clean room, fully loaded cute kitchen, adorable hostesses, and dreamy pool! Can't wait to come back!! Such a perfect place to unwind and take in the quietude and elemental beauty of the desert -- and feel pampered, and private.

ps barbecue by the pool was an excellent touch!

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms, but we had room #4 and could lay in bed and see a patch of desert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

When I entered this place, I was struck by its serenity, most likely heightened by the minimalistic decor and vastness of the desert landscape. Not to mention, its rooms surround the pools that beckon you to them. Soaking in the hot springs pools late night looking up at the desert night sky and feeling the soft breeze was nothing short of magical. Sagewater Spa is a place for total relaxation. Plus, the spa attracts such a fabulous clientele. By the time Sunday came, we (the guests) were soaking and chatting in the pool as if we were previous acquaintances. The owners give so graciously of their five-star hospitality. They are remarkable. I look forward to going again next month.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I am rarely impressed with the service industry. Taking care of people requires talent, dedication, and above all, caring. If there is one thing that the proprietors of Sagewater spa do better than any hotel, B&B, or resort in the US, its care. Cristina and Rhoni swept us through the front door and into their nurturing arms. They did not let us go for 3 glorious days, and even then, reluctantly.
These talented, traveled, and industrious women, renovated Sagewater from a grim status, to a Don Draper shine. The 7 rooms are appointed smartly, and comfortably. The homage to the mid-century era is not lost, and at the same time it did not feel wholly anachronistic. Perhaps the only thing "old" about Sagewater was the service. Lemonade and coffee cake upon arrival, smiles, intros to other guests, tips on local activity, and explanations of the healing waters all felt very much like a bygone era of service.
Cook here! The outdoor dining area, the well-maintained grill, the candlelight at a moment of spontaneity, all lend themselves to making evenings here an event. Next time we come, we are bringing a group, cooking all together, and celebrating the healing life with Cristina and Rhoni.
Sagewater is convivial and personal, and although it would be easy to remain anonymous and keep to oneself, the joy for us was to commune with other creative guests, and meet very cool people from other countries. Read the about page for this place. The story is lovely, and it is easy to see why the owners are passionate about their guests and their water.
Travel and Leisure readers would feel just as at home here as Afar subscribers. The circles of society run concentrically through Sagewater, but do not turn a blind eye Mr/Mrs Independent backpacker, there is a healing and love for you here as well.
Rarely has lodging seemed so truly egalitarian. Rarely have I been so pleased with any place for 3 full nights. Go to the desert, seek something within yourself, and do yourself a favor, stay at Sagewatwer.

Room Tip: Call in advance and explain the reason for your trip. The ladies will suggest a room for you.
See more room tips
Green Features: Outstanding. These folks clearly care about sustainability
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhousewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagewater1, Owner at Sagewater Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We appreciate our guests and when they choose to write a review we are extremely grateful.
It was great to have you here and you have left us with a permanent memory of your visit.
Your review was so thoughtful and appreciative, I'm sure my parents enjoyed reading it, too! Looking forward to your next Sagewater Spa visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Sagewater Spa has the most wonderful views, the mineral water in the pool is exquisite. The hotel is a peaceful environment. We found the other guests to be very interesting and friendly. It was very near to Joshua Tree Park and Palm Springs so the location was wonderful. We were always happy after our day trips to come back, relax and soak n the pool. Hosts are very passionate about the hotel and care so much about the guests.

Room Tip: any room would be wonderful at this hotel
See more room tips
Green Features: We found the hotel to be very environmentally friendly
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My experience at Sagewater Spa was beyond my expectations. First there are the owners, Cris and Rhoni, two warm people who really care about their clients. The atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing, and the water was inviting me in every chance it got. It's a great location, close to Joshua Tree and one of the nights I stayed there, we all cooked a meal together. After meeting the other guests that were staying there it's clear to see that Sagewater attracts a certain type of person. Everyone was friendly. I definitely plan on going back again when I can.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
1.5 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagewater Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagewater Spa

Property: Sagewater Spa
Address: 12689 Eliseo Rd, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-4759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Green Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagewater Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 hot mineral water hotel in Desert Hot Springs. WINNER of 1 of the 25 BEST SMALL HOTELS in the US! Sagewater Spa, a seven room mid-century modern retreat, is a serene environment for adults who desire complete relaxation. Our facilities are exclusively for hotel guests and we do not have day spa guests sharing the property. We are known for our clean hot mineral well water pool and spa, minimalist designer rooms with desert or mountain views and well equipped kitchenettes. The finest Frette linens, TV, Wi-Fi, Aveda amenities, homemade Gramma B's Coffee cake and Organic European roast coffee. A gourmet poolside BBQ and views of Mount San Jacinto, professional massage treatments and facials add to the splendor. Featured on the cover of T + L , Cool Hotels, Best Designed Wellness Hotels, Tashen SPA, NY, LA, London Times, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, ELLE, SPA, Harper's, Traveler, LA, NY, SF Magazine ++. We understand that, "Quiet is the New Luxury." and a weekend away at Sagewater Spa feels like a week away anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sagewater Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Sagewater Spa Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing