We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In love with Sagewater”
Review of Sagewater Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sagewater Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In love with Sagewater”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My second visit to Sagewater was divine. The room was clean and comfortable, the water was healing and relaxing. Rhoni and Cristina were sweet, hospitable, and helpful, as always. They are pros at recommending where to eat and what to do in the area. My boyfriend and I left feeling completely recharged. I will definitely be coming back to Sagewater Spa.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank turkeyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    18
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
272
54
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our second visit, one year later. Warm hospitality awaits guests at the spa. We easily settled in and again enjoyed the desert ambience; the quiet mid-century modern decor, pure waters, silence, privacy, the gorgeous white desert light, palm trees, desert winds, etc. Soaking and swimming in the spring-fed waters is consistently refreshing and relaxing. Adults only a plus too! You can use the pools at any time, day or night.

No bells or whistles here. Just a relaxing and restorative spa with an emphasis on quiet and privacy. Rooms are immaculate and simple in decor. Cozy clean kitchenettes with every room. We brought a few groceries and made good use of ours rather than going out for breakfast and lunch.

Room Tip: There are only eight guest rooms, all ground level; all near pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyforth_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorterHouse09, Owner at Sagewater Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We lurved having you both return to your desert digs. Happy we could get catch up on your other travels, too. Keep looking and feeling fabulous! Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My girlfriend and I had such a wonderful and relaxing stay from the check-in till the end. Everything about the stay was absolutely perfect. Cristina's warm greeting, complimentary coffee cake, mineral water spa, room amenities, etc. Highly recommend this place for ANYONE visiting Desert Hot Springs to have a relaxing time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sccc2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorterHouse09, Owner at Sagewater Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for you sweet review. We know how busy you are and so appreciate your kind
words, it encourages us to always do our best. Cristina was especially happy that you even spelled her name correctly!. Come home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hollywood
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I always feel rejuvenated at the end of my trip to Sagewater. Rhoni and Cris are generous hosts whom care about the total experience. The massage was excellent, the accommodations relaxing, and the water is amazing!

Room Tip: I love the views in 8, 7 and 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LisaRefreshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spent three nights here as part of our tour around southern california and found the sagewater spa to be a relaxing, tranquil haven. With just 7 rooms this really is a private boutique hotel that merits its praise. Christina who runs the place has one aim, to make sure her guests are content and it really shows - she really is a lovely lady. The place is intimate and cozy with a sense of being able to escape from the world. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with a small kitcen area that has everything you need to prepare whatever takes your fancy. The slight dissapointment was the bathroom which was quite small and in need of a refresh cosmetically, but everything works perfectly fine. If you do not want to cook the centre of Hot Desert Springs is 1 minute away by car. Sagewater spa is also brilliantly placed for exploring the stunning Joshua Tree national park and Palm Springs.

The hot mineral water pool is the star of the show, the water has a beautiful temperature and it is a wonderful pool to swim in and the waters really are restoring. We had been in LA for a few days before and sagewater spa really made us relaxed and at peace with the world. It was by far the best hotel we stayed at in our road trip. You cannot beat the personal touch and this hotel has it by the bucket loads. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just returned from a delightful weekend at the Sagewater Spa. My boyfriend and I came here with the hope that we could relax for a couple of days. We got exactly what we wanted and so much more.

The spa is very small, only 7 rooms. Very minimalist, but very cozy and intimate. Rhoni and Cristina (the owners) make you feel right at home. They incredibly accommodating. If you want to go out to eat, ask them where to go. They will make a recommendation, and it will be exactly what you wanted.

Our second night, Cristina and Rhoni recommended we go to Johannes in Palm Springs. It was delicious. One of the best meals that I have eaten.

It is quiet and peaceful and the two pools are a dream. You can easily spend hours in them - and you should.

We also had two massages. They come to your room to do them. We did the unstress and the signature fusion. Both were great. The masseuse even gave me an exercise to do with my guy to help with his tight it band.

Already looking forward to our next visit.

P.S. - the coffee cake is amazing. Sage, the dog, is a wonderful helper. She makes sure that everything is going smoothly. I am not a dog person, and I absolutely adored her.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tasakolsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We chose the Sagewater Spa based on the reviews, but what really sealed the deal for me was talking to Christina on the phone for the initial call. She was warm, engaging, and very helpful. She and Rhoni were the same in person. They are truly interested in giving their guests a wonderful experience-which it was. The spa is the perfect place to relax. The mineral pools helped melt all troubles and aches and pains away. We loved the modern rooms with earth colors, and it was great having a kitchen so we could eat breakfast or lunch in the outdoor seating area which has a view of the mountains. And the coffee they served was the best we have had in a long time! The location is perfect because it is quite close to Joshua Tree Park which is a must see. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorterHouse09, Owner at Sagewater Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Our quests are the best part of the Sagewater experience, everyone seems to have such respect for our property and for their own experience. Loved having you and looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
1.5 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
554 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
153 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#18 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
467 reviews
11.2 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagewater Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagewater Spa

Property: Sagewater Spa
Address: 12689 Eliseo Rd, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240-4759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Green Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagewater Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 hot mineral water hotel in Desert Hot Springs. WINNER of 1 of the 25 BEST SMALL HOTELS in the US! Sagewater Spa, a seven room mid-century modern retreat, is a serene environment for adults who desire complete relaxation. Our facilities are exclusively for hotel guests and we do not have day spa guests sharing the property. We are known for our clean hot mineral well water pool and spa, minimalist designer rooms with desert or mountain views and well equipped kitchenettes. The finest Frette linens, TV, Wi-Fi, Aveda amenities, homemade Gramma B's Coffee cake and Organic European roast coffee. A gourmet poolside BBQ and views of Mount San Jacinto, professional massage treatments and facials add to the splendor. Featured on the cover of T + L , Cool Hotels, Best Designed Wellness Hotels, Tashen SPA, NY, LA, London Times, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, ELLE, SPA, Harper's, Traveler, LA, NY, SF Magazine ++. We understand that, "Quiet is the New Luxury." and a weekend away at Sagewater Spa feels like a week away anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sagewater Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Sagewater Spa Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing