We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caipirinha Coziness!!!”
Review of Sagewater Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sagewater Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 January 2009

This is the place to go if you're looking for a meticulously maintained property immersed in a scenic oasis that is Desert Hot Springs. Right when you arrive the gracious host Christina (and Sage) welcome you with open arms and a radiant smiles-clearly their objective is to be certain that you are relaxed right when you get to the front door. Any of the rooms are sparkling clean with finished cement floors and full kitchenettes equipped with all necessary utensils, toaster, coffee maker and fridge. At night the outdoor grill is always available to 'Que tasty burgers or whatever you want to cook up. Once settled in, we relaxed around, and in, the mineral pool and spa that leave your skin silky soft and smooth when you get out. Although you'll want to spend most of your time in them. And just when you think the day is coming to an end, lying there on the lounge chairs, watching stars begin to take the sunny sky's place, Christina busts out with her homemade Caipirinhas and Rhoni, equally all smiles and warmth, is right there to offer you chips with homemade (spicy) salsa. What happens after is your business. Enjoy.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank beelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2009

I love this place. There's a lot of attention paid to design, which is simple yet elegant. But the best part to me was their attention to saving energy (cooling) which is a big deal in the desert. We're not asked to sacrifice but just do smart things like shut stuff off when we leave. The pools were wonderful too as well as Cris, Rhoni, and Sage! I will definitely return! Chris

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank Olive58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

I've been to Sagewater Spa twice now to take a personal retreat from the pressures of work and the city -- just to read, write, soak, hike and reflect on life. Cris and Rhoni create a welcoming atmosphere, but also respect your quiet, personal space. Spend hours soaking in the pool, reading in your quiet room and generally enjoying the magic of the desert. It's only about a 20 minute ride up to Joshua Tree National Park -- another great place to reflect and to hike or scramble on rocks. If you're looking for a simple, zen-like getaway with not too many frills and a lot of warmth, this is your place!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank raedog_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2008

My wife and I have stayed here in the past, as well as some of the other spas in Desert Hot Springs.
Sagewater has some of the best water (we think) and Rhoni and Christina are the best hosts, hands down. But it really is all about the water. It really relaxes, soothes and generally makes you feel good.
All of the rooms have kitchens, which is a big plus, as the dining options are not great in the area. Besides, we prefer to maximize our time in the water and poolside relaxing. There is also an outdoor gas grill which used on a couple of nights.
We like the simple and open mid-century feel of the place and the very sunny outdoor area.
We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jamo009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

The owners and their dog, Sage, made us feel most welcome at the Sagewater Spa. The hotel is simple, clean and sleek but without the pretentious attitude...just right for my husband and I. We both had outstanding massages and loved the warm water pool. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank babachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

This was my second time at the Sagewater. I brought my brother and his wife along as well, and they loved it. We hiked Joshua Tree by day and returned to the Sagewater late each afternoon. There is nothing like soaking in that restorative water after a taxing hike. My sister-in-law got an aromatherapy massage that she said was incredible. We grilled lamb the first night, and had a beautiful dinner under the stars. The beds are super comfortable, and the linens are luxe. We all slept well.
Rhoni and Christina, who by now feel like family, pointed us towards the family-run Capri steakhouse in Desert Hot Springs, where we had an incredible steak dinner our second night. Afterwards, we tore it up with the locals at Playoffs sports bar-fun!
The Sagewater is simple, lovely, and without gimmicks. It's all about Rhoni and Chris and their effortless ease at hosting. Desert Hot Springs is a strange little town, but once you walk into the courtyard, you have your own haven. I plan to continue using Sagewater as my base whenever I return to the splendor of the Joshua Tree area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank eeleeleel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

I first went to Sagewater Spa 3 years ago and have been dreaming ever since of the day I would go back. And the time finally came for my return for my birthday this year. It was everything I remembered and more. Sagewater is the place of ultimate serenity and for someone who has been desperately overworked and severely needed to "get off the grid," it was absolutely PERFECT! The pool is a perfect 90 degrees and slipping in and out is never a shock on the body no matter what time of day or night. The beds are divine with the Frette linens and staying there is the ultimate in laziness without any sort of associated guilt. If you bring in all your own wine and food, there's no reason to ever leave this perfect Oasis in the desert. And if that's not enough, Rhoni and Cristina (the proprietors) are just amazingly awesome and make you feel completely at home. I will be going back every year for the rest of my life.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank spygirlprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
1.5 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,246 reviews
1 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#16 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
492 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sea Mountain Nude Resort and Spa Hotel
Sea Mountain Nude Resort and Spa...
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagewater Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagewater Spa

Address: 12689 Eliseo Rd, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Green Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range: £126 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagewater Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sagewater Spa, located in Desert Hot Springs, also known as California’s Spa City is among the top 50 leading boutique hotels in the world and currently a #1 hotel on Trip Advisor. This award-winning, Mid-Century Modern hotel has been thoughtfully renovated, with careful consideration to its original design details of 1945 when Desert Hot Springs became a celebrity playground known for its curative waters. Surrounding the geothermal pools are seven rooms; five with desert views and three with expansive views of the San Jacinto Mountains. Each room is equipped with well-appointed kitchen areas and luxurious amenities, including Frette linens, towels and robes. The internationally renowned natural mineral water is sourced from the property’s own hot water well at 165 degrees. The 90-degree mineral water pool and 104-degree spa is rejuvenating for the body and mind and promotes wellness on all levels. Spa services include; expert in-room massages, facials and intuitive readings ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sagewater Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Sagewater Spa Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing