We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My perfect paradise.”
Review of Sagewater Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sagewater Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I had the best vacation ever. Rhoni and Cris make minimalism look effortless. The pool is insanely pure, warm, and medatative. The New Year's Eve party they hosted rang in the year with the best food, champagne and people. There is something about the intimacy of seven rooms. We've all sworn to meet there soon...very soon. The treatment melt all stress and the massage therapists are true healers.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaRefreshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2010

I rely heavily on reviews posted on Tripadvisor and in the past I have always found the property as described, but I was disappointed with some aspects of Sagewater Spa
Everything said about the beautiful pool, filled with wonderful mineral water from their own hot springs is true.
However, there are some things intending travellers should be aware of. The rooms although clean are very basic, concrete floors, mid century bathroom fittings, furniture and crockery from Ikea with an extremely hard bed. Our 'Frette' sheets had small holes and the towels were discoloured and showing signs of wear.
The biggest shock though was the note in our room stating they do not service the rooms - so as not to disturb you! We've stayed in numerous accommodations all over the world, including the humble and primative, never has houskeeping not been offered.
For those unfamiliar with Desert Hot Springs, it is a low rent area with many disadvantaged people living there, not a place to go walking at night and nowhere to go anyway. The neighbourhood restaurants are in keeping with the area so unless you drive to Palm Desert, which is 15-20 minutes away, self catering becomes a necessity.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank AlterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We spent two frenetic weeks touring California. On previous trips we made our last stop in Palm Springs, but I remembered your recommendation of Sagewater Spa and we are so glad we decided to spend our last three days there. We were pretty well beat when we arrived but left with mind and body completely refreshed. Rhoni and Cris made us feel like old friends and Grandma B's coffee cake engendered a sense of family that we had never previosly experienced.
There are a number of outstanding features. We can believe that Sagewater has the best mineral water pool, or pools, because there is a hot water pool within the main pool which is a guaranteed tension reducer. The completely equipped kitchenette is a great convenience. Frette bedding makes sound sleeping a surety. The atmosphere is conducive to friendliness among the guests and we enjoyed the afternoon Brazilian
cocktails supplied by our great hosts. There is a complete array of massages available
which further enhanced our delightful experience at Sagewater. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weights8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We came to Los Angeles for a photo shoot and had some free days, so my husband and I went to sagewater spa for some relaxing time. We loved our visit. The Spa is this beautiful oasis, a gem and the hosts Cristina and Rhoni were just such wonderful people and so accomodating.... The spa water felt very healing and we loved our room so much as well. We cannot say enough how wonderful our time at the spa was....

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bengiwestpalmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

everytime i have gone to Sagewater, somehow, my life was touched. there is no doubt that these are truly healing waters that feed their pool. something alchemical happens when you combine them with the owners, Rhoni and Christina, who operate Sagewater Spa with great delicacy and sensitivity to your needs. healers in their own right. what a combination !!!
go.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romaroma05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

We've been coming to sagewater for years. The owners, Cristina and Rhoni, are fabulous and extremely welcoming. Once they've welcomed you, they are there to help if you need it but if you don't you won't be bothered. It's kind of like having your own apartment in the desert.... your own apartment with spring-fed pools. At any time of day or night you can slip into the large warm pool or the smaller and hotter jacuzzi.

Somehow Sagewater has cultivated a clientele that gets it. The pools are open at all times but there's never any splashing chaos. Everyone I've ever met here is friendly and seems to understand whether or not your in the mood to chat or would prefer to keep to yourself. There is no scene here. Sagewater attracts people who want to enjoy the pools and explore Joshua Tree and other local attractions.

Accommodations are always extremely clean. This is a restored motor inn from the middle of the century so don't expect extreme luxury. Nice beds and robes are waiting for you and there's a well-maintained outdoor grill if you want to cook some steaks.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChipBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

My wife and I were looking for an unpretentious destination to relax and unwind in the desert. We absolutely found such a place at the Sagewater Spa in Desert Hot Springs, CA. The pool and jacuzzi, set against the background of the mountains, circulating the warmest, clear mineral water, is not to be believed! We soaked away our aches and pains within the first twenty minutes. After forty-five minutes, I was looking forward to the best sleep of my life in the most comfortable bed in which I ever have lied. Owners, Rhoni and Cris, are warm, personable and accommodating in every way. My wife and I could not stuff down enough of "Grandma's" coffee cake which is provided to every guest on arrival. If you are seeking a friendly, comfortable, unassuming spa experience, Sagewater is an absolute must!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawyerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
1.5 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,236 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
315 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#17 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagewater Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagewater Spa

Address: 12689 Eliseo Rd, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240-4759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Green Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range: £132 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagewater Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 hot mineral water hotel in Desert Hot Springs. WINNER of 1 of the 25 BEST SMALL HOTELS in the US! Sagewater Spa, a seven room mid-century modern retreat, is a serene environment for adults who desire complete relaxation. Our facilities are exclusively for hotel guests and we do not have day spa guests sharing the property. We are known for our clean hot mineral well water pool and spa, minimalist designer rooms with desert or mountain views and well equipped kitchenettes. The finest Frette linens, TV, Wi-Fi, Aveda amenities, homemade Gramma B's Coffee cake and Organic European roast coffee. A gourmet poolside BBQ and views of Mount San Jacinto, professional massage treatments and facials add to the splendor. Featured on the cover of T + L , Cool Hotels, Best Designed Wellness Hotels, Tashen SPA, NY, LA, London Times, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, ELLE, SPA, Harper's, Traveler, LA, NY, SF Magazine ++. We understand that, "Quiet is the New Luxury." and a weekend away at Sagewater Spa feels like a week away anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sagewater Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Sagewater Spa Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing