We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had a great time staying at Lido. The people were wonderful! The other guests all loved it so much that they were all regulars. There is nothing better than stepping out of your room, walking 10' or less and being in those hot springs. Very relaxing!

We also stayed at Two Bunch Palms during that trip because the Lido was sold out. What a mistake. The place looked good, but the staff was rude and pretentious. The spas felt overcrowded and we wished we were back at the Lido.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

I've been staying at Lido Palms in Desert Hot Springs since the early 1990s. But I hadn't been for over a year and was concerned about changes new owners might have brought when we visited for my husband's birthday in early January. No need to worry: this small (under 20 units) motel retains its period charm and has added elegant new updates that freshen its look. Lido Palms offers three spring-fed hot pools: one indoors (that may be the hottest), one that is a jacuzzi outdoors, and a small, cool swimming pool--also outdoors. The pool area is surrounded by comfortable lounging chairs and mature palms. There is also an outdoor barbeque situated in a small, lovely rock garden. Each room has comfortable beds (ours was a king-size Tempurpedic mattress), a kitchenette (with refrigerator, coffee-maker, place settings, plates and saucers), and a small, but nice bathroom.
The grounds, pools and rooms are spotless. The small staff are very friendly and helpful. A plus for us is that this is an adults-only hotel, or at least only older teens are permitted. We love the quiet, beautiful surroundings. Dessert Hot Springs is smaller, less cosmopolitan and a bit rougher than Palm Springs, but it has its own charms and some fun restaurants. It's also a reasonable drive to Joshua Tree, Palm Springs, and other attractions. Lido Palms is perfect for a relaxing, soothing weekend away.

Room Tip: The larger rooms on are on the south side of the building and may be slightly quieter. But generall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I have been coming to the Lido Palms since God was a child. Literally, it's been 15+ years, and we have seen three sets of owners along the way. We love the Lido Palms for many reasons: located in Desert Hot Springs, it has a natural source of hot mineral water that is incomparable in the US. Think of taking a bath in pure Evian water. It's great to drink right from the tap, and people swear by its healing powers. The town itself isn't anything special, just a shabby little place, but the LP is a real find. We have taken many people here over the years, including several group retreats, and everyone finds it wonderful

They have 3 pools -- a super hot hot tub, a large swimming pool and an indoor pool. The grounds are minimally landscaped, appropriate for the desert, with nearly tame roadrunner birds who dash about amusingly. It's got a retro vibe without being forced. The rooms have kitchens, making it easy and economical. How wonderful to drink your coffee and eat your muffin by the pool in the bright California sunshine! Otherwise the rooms are attractive, clean and fairly recently updated. BBQ grills and a picnic table are available for those who want to cook and eat there. Guests are always quiet and respectful, allowing everyone to relax and enjoy, maybe chat a bit but otherwise, it's great for those who want to get away from it all. Room rates are very affordable, and no kids are allowed, making it perfect for couples or those who just want a peaceful experience.

Greg the manager is cheerful and responds quickly to any request. As mentioned, we have brought groups of people from L.A. out here for retreats, meditation and discussion, game nights, etc., and everybody just loves the place. It's also close to local shopping, so you can get to a drug store or grocery store in a couple of minutes. To be honest, the restaurant options in DHS are limited -- Chinese, Mexican, a steak house and a couple of breakfast joints -- but if you want more choices, Palm Springs is just 9 miles away.

Fun hints: Stop at Hadley's en route for date shakes, great weekend snacks and sandwiches. And bring some Phillip Glass music to play as you drive through the astonishing acres of windmills. Played at top volume, it's truly a surreal experience!

Room Tip: The larger rooms have bigger kitchens and 2 beds....for a king bed, get one of the regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MedWrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Thanks to other Trip Advisor contributors for alerting us to this great property. It might not have occurred to me to look across the highway from Palm Springs in Desert Hot Springs to find a reasonably priced but comfortable lodging option, but the reveiws were so compelling we had to try the Lido Palms. Despite the 12-15 minute drive to the heart of Palm Springs (made a bit longer by construction projects at the end of last fall), this place is a winner. The manager clearly takes great pride in the property, and that pride is reflected in every detail. Pools are heated to exact temperatures (delightfully warm in even the largest and coolest pool) and monitored and maintained -- along with each of the rooms, the common areas, and the gardens. If you want two beds in one room, this is probably your best bet in the entire Coachella Valley, where, like other picturesque areas, all the hoteliers seem to assume that any two people who travel together want to sleep together. About half the rooms at the Lido Palms enjoy 2 queen beds (vs. one king in the others), but all are Tempurpedic and wonderfully comfortable, even for fussy sleepers. The rooms are huge with full kitchens and breakfast seating areas, and best of all, no room is farther than a few steps from those fabulous pools. The decor is more funky than flashy, but it's all wonderfully functional, comfortable, and clean
One of us was recovering from arthroscopic knee surgery, and found the Lido Palms to be just what the doctor ordered -- well, not really, but he would have ordered it if he'd known about it!

Room Tip: You can select a specific room on-line; we asked for advice when we called, and the manager was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThriftyPosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The Lido Palms is a refreshing alternative to the big corporate hotels that are so common these days. We stayed two days and luxuriated in the three pools that the resort offers. The rooms are clean, perfectly maintained and there is simply a relaxing feel to the place. This is a great place to stay if you are touring the Palm Springs area. A real gem. Honest.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodtravelkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in November and loved it. The pools were perfect. The air was cool (50ish), the pools warm and the moon full. The room was bigger than my first apartment and the kitchen area a very welcome feature. Our host (Greg? Gary?) was helpful but unobtrusive - the perfect host. I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank work_4_beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I have been coming and bringing groups to the lido palms for about 8 years. I rent the whole hotel and have found my experiences and treatment outstanding. The hotel is always spotlessly clean, the grounds have a beauty to them, the water is perfect and our hosts are always willing to adjust the water to our likes. I am made to feel it is my home and when i host retreats twice a year, the women's comments are always about how wonderful the place is.Beds are quite comfortable , the public areas are lovely. I have also been coming when i can with my husband and it is always a wonderful get away. I highly recommend the lido palms

Room Tip: The rooms with only a kingsize bed have a kitchen area where the door can be closed. The other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olivia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
574 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#17 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
484 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Two Bunch Palms
Two Bunch Palms
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Palms Resort and Spa

Address: 12801 Tamar Dr, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240-4615
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#9 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range: £106 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lido Palms Resort and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lido Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Palms Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Lido Palms Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing