We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Favorite things: warm mineral swimming pool, giant Jacuzzi pool swathed in fabric, and spa garden at night. Had a delightful time and thoroughly enjoyed the nightly complimentary Happy Hour! One night I sat quietly reading on my ipad while they brought me those yummy Moroccotinis and the other nights I sat at the bar and shared laughs with the other guests.

I found my room immaculate with interesting and authentic Moroccan furniture - loved those doors and lanterns - thought I had taken a magic carpet ride! Spa garden was fun with hammocks and at night it was another world. (Okay the hot spring pools were great at night, but that goes without saying.)

We will return soon!

Room Tip: Love the room with the kitchenette even though I didn't cook! I understand that none of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnCollectors, Owner at El Morocco Inn & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Hi JoanJ,

Thank-you for this review! We continue to strive for great stays for all of our guests...and hope to see you again and again! The warm mineral spring-water swimming pool and Jacuzzi (open all night long!) are calling....come back and let's raise a "Morocco-tini" at happy hour to pure relaxation!
Bruce and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

My best friend was visiting Desert Hot Springs and I drove up to have dinner with her from San Diego. I met her at El Morocco where she was staying before ur dinner and thought it was so adorable and quaint that I would incorporate a trip there into my next "staycation." I am so SO happy I did. We hiked all day at Joshua Tree, and after arriving in the mid-afternoon filthy and exhausted, we were greeted by a super-friendly young lady who before even checking us in, gave us a full tour of the property. You don't get that at the Hilton's of the world. I was so impressed by all of thought that went into planning every single detail of this place. They have a full library of DVD's on loan, a delicious continental breakfast with fresh ground Starbucks French Press coffee, a "Morocco-tini" complimentary cocktail hour, complinmentary snacks around the clock, a pool that is the PERFECT temperature, hot tub, sauna, and a constant supply of the most delicious untreated water I have ever tasted. (SOOO refreshing after a day of hiking!) I genuinely wish we could've stayed longer. This family ran property is the definition of customer service and personal touch that I guarantee you will never get elsewhere. OH! And did I mention they offer a discount for military (a definite plus for us!) and if you mention you're a YELP user? They do, and it's awesome. I will be raving about this place to everyone. All of the other guests were also loyal to El Morocco and were all on their 4th plus stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnCollectors, Owner at El Morocco Inn & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Hi Ray Clay...

Just wanted to say thank-you for this wonderful review of our services! As you already know, we are a small 12 room inn and so we are always thrilled when we hear we got it right. And...we agree it's a great place to retreat to (and relax in these magical mineral waters) after a day of hiking or sightseeing! We hope you'll keep coming back like the others you mentioned in your review!
Bruce and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Went to El Morocco (EM) on a whim recently w the wife, and were let down by: an untidy slightly musty room with particles (apparently crumbs) on the floor, slightly soiled sheets; a cold pool which according to owner was so on account of a broken pool heater; kitschy movie set style of location decor, ie how westerners envisage Morocco (think 1001 Arabian Nights or Thief of Baghdad w Steve Reeves and you get the picture); a far too nosy/micro-managing on-site owner who lassos you at check-in and keeps hanging on (avoid "story-time" over "Moroccatini's"); and a valley-like location in the suburbs. EM is not worth the time or $, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank countjunuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnCollectors, Owner at El Morocco Inn & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear countjunuzi,

We've just received the coveted TRIPADVISOR Certificate of Excellence Award for 2013...so you can't imagine how disappointed we were to read your review.

We work tirelessly to provide every guest with a high quality escape from everyday life, and we take your input very seriously when you feel we've missed our mark. You can be certain we'll work more closely with our housekeepers to further insure a top notch room cleaning and to that end, we'll be inspecting each room a second time prior to our guests' arrival. We've also added a checklist so hopefully, we won't miss a thing..even crumbs!

You are right, our check-in tour is pretty detailed. We try to cover most things such as our spring-fed pools which are open around the clock, the Spa Garden with Hammocks and games like giant chess, the Kasbah Lounge with breakfast hours, etc. We're doing our best to be helpful.

Our nightly Happy Hour offering-where we serve "Morocco-tinis" (Iced, Sugar rimmed, Sake based Martinis) is a time where guests can sit around and chat-asking about Restaurant suggestions, Morocco, things to do like hiking in Joshua Tree, visiting the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, etc., but it's always optional.

We also serve our other guests directly in the pool or spa-and over at their chaise lounges-offering them their own private time to relax.

By the way, our natural mineral-spring water comes from our very own well and flows into both pools-our covered Jacuzzi Spa is at 104 degrees and we do cool the larger swimming pool down to about 89 degrees-which is still pretty nice for those silky midnight swims!

Always working for your best getaway,
Bruce and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times and enjoy being able to go for a late night dip in the pool. Since it's in a residential location we had pizza delivered for dinner and didn't leave once we checked in. No kids gives it a relaxing vibe - we'll be back.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RachaelRachaelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnCollectors, Owner at El Morocco Inn & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Hello Rachel,

Just wanted to say thanks for coming to stay again...and for taking the time to post this kind review! We love that you love the ability to use those warm pools all night long-with a little pizza on the side! Hope to see you again soon!
Bruce and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Here's what we were looking for: adults only, romantic atmosphere, pool/hot tub, spa services small, affordable, a bar and walking distance to restaurants. So we had to forego the last two. This place was exactly what we needed for a short weekend reprieve and they do have an evening happy hour and a lovely brunch. The sheets were decadently soft (we ordered a set of our own). We highly recommend having food delivered (we were more than satisfied with the pizza & thai) rather than venturing out - unless you're up for the drive to Pappy & Harriett's. We had a couples Thai massage and next time we'll probably skip massages. I probably would've given this place a 5 except that there's one woman who worked the office with a less than pleasant attitude (she didn't want to honor the Yelp discount, etc). Jacklyn & Ernest were lovely, however.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soleilciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi R, Public Relations Manager at El Morocco Inn & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Hi soleilciel, thank you for taking the time to review El Morocco Inn & Spa on TripAdvisor. We apologize that you experienced an unpleasant attitude, as it is a priority that we treat our guests with the utmost respect, and we want you to know we are working on this. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and ordered sheets for yourselves (they really are soft!). We invite you to return so we can prove to you that all of our staff values you and your business. Be sure to mention Yelp in advance when calling to book your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

At least we stayed in 10 Hotels during our trip to CA - but El Morocco Inn Spa was the most wonderful place we had. All our memories are there.

And the reason it not because it is a very top location around or whatever - they only reason - you are warmly welcome from the first beginning - everything works - all areas and rooms are well designed...

We stayed at Sultan Playpen on the 2. floor. The room was not to big - but big enough, very individual. The bath is a kind of different, but even very ok.

The pool areas so lovely. You can use it 24 hours, all the chairs and little lounges are so cozy, it is never crowded and you can wonderful relax.

Of course, this place is not cheap - but every cent you spend - is a really good decision.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabine555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi R, Public Relations Manager at El Morocco Inn & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Hi sabine555, thank you for taking the time to review El Morocco Inn & Spa. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself and had a great time. We’re also happy you were able to relax. We welcome you back for more relaxation and rest! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We did not expect to find something this charming in Desert Hot Springs of all places. From the outside, it looks like a typical 1950 era motel, but the owner has done a fantastic job of converting the place into a desert oasis. It was a delicate balance, not over done like in a typical Vegas hotel, or under done as someone trying to relive their memories of their Moroccan vacation. The pool was adequate, and the large jacuzzi filled with water from the desert hot springs was a nice way to relax before retiring for the night. The rooms themselves were small but comfortable, nicely done in a Moroccan theme. This is not a five star resort, but it has enough charm to welcome any weary traveler, especially those who just spent the day discovering Joshua Tree or the surrounding desert. They even have massage service that you can order. This is, of course, extra.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisFromOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi R, Public Relations Manager at El Morocco Inn & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Hi LouisFromOC, thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a nice time at our Inn and were able to explore the surrounding area. We would love for you to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,246 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
591 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#16 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Mountain Nude Resort and Spa Hotel
Sea Mountain Nude Resort and Spa...
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Morocco Inn & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Morocco Inn & Day Spa

Address: 66810 4th St, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240-3269
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#5 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range: £143 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to really feel "transported"? Without the high cost??? Our silky warm and natural spring-fed mineral water swimming pool & huge bubbling spa are open for you around the clock! This Moroccan inspired getaway features 12 guestrooms, each with a California King bed, microwave & mini fridge, exotic textiles, bistro tables and chairs, beautiful lamps,Moroccan furnishings & artwork. A Lavish complimentary continental breakfast is set out daily in the Kasbah Lounge and we offer our complimentary nightly signature cocktail, the "Morocco-tini"! Besides having 2 pools filled with healing geothermal spring mineral waters, you can also choose from a wide range of deeply relaxing Spa treatments including Massages, Body Scrubs, Clay Wraps and Facials! We also offer Discount Spa Packages year 'round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your El Morocco Inn & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morocco Inn And Spa
El Morocco Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Hotel El Morocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing