We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the desert”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the El. Morocco over the past weekend and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is set up as if you were actually in Morocco. Authentic items adorned the entire hotel. Great care was made to give the patrons a feel that they in fact were special. From a Sultan's tent (doubling as a yoga exercise forum) to incredible hot springs feeding both the spa and pool. The staff were excellent and were always available. The rooms again carried out the feeling that you were in fact in Morocco. This is now our favorite desert getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    42
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
224
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Great fun, wonderful time. My sister, a world traveller and decorating book author took me and our cousins here. What a fantastic time we had. Owner and staff very friendly and welcoming. Definately would love to go back there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84reidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Absolutely awesome! A dream-come-true! I'm a writer/photographer of interior design books of eco-retreats as well as running my own BnB. This is one of the dreamiest and best values of anywhere I've stayed all around the world. The decor and ambience are so superbly done that you are transported to sensual, spiritual world of the Kasbah the minute you pass through the blue door. The natural hot spring water of the pool and hot tub are so healing and relaxing, and all the little extra's - the sakitini Happy Hour, the evening fire pits, the delicious breakfast and much more - make your stay a never-ending series of delights. I'm already booking my next stay -- this time with spa treatments which I missed last time. Although I've always gone to one of the most posh resorts in the desert, this is my new favorite... and, at a much better price!

Room Tip: Each room is unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We just returned home from a wonderful stay at El Morocco! Sadly, we only had one free day off together, so we drove up in the evening and stayed one night and the following day. My partner had a deep tissue massage by Gloria-he swears it is the best he has ever experienced, and he has had many, many massages. Our room was cozy and well appointed. We enjoyed the ample breakfast spread and movie selection. We highly recommend take out from Thai Palms-lots of yummy fresh veggies!
Everyone at El Morocco seemed gracious and ready to make our short stay perfect, until the end. Ten minutes after the massage ended, we were told they "needed us to leave", as they were going to begin happy hour (odd, as it was 2:30pm and it was a peaceful, low-occupancy day at the spa with no other guests in sight). Previously, we had been told we could stay until 4pm, and we were planning to savor every minute. We were bummed to not enjoy one last soak before our long drive home, and felt unwelcome and rushed.
Overall, it was a great little trip, but for a busy couple like us, every minute counts. We plan to return, and hopefully can stay for more than one night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Berber's Boudoir, which was cozy and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed at this resort over a long holiday weekend. Greeted with peacock feathers and spa scents as you enter the property. The location is kind of funky in a residential area, but the hotel was very private once you were inside. Rooms are very themed and personalized decor, the continental breakfast was great and we completely enjoyed our stay. No children are allowed, so reading and relaxing in the mineral spring pool and jacuzzi are the highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceylevasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Hint: Stay the Night! Avoid Day Use at all cost:

1st Impressions: Day Use was our first experience and it was discouraging, we were offered a tiny bathroom, their "public facility," barely enough room to move and change, not to mention tiny lockers that barely fit anything but a towel. We made the mistake of doing this on a weekend --apparently they're completely booked on the weekends, and though the inn never felt crowded, people were constantly in and out of the "public facility". We had no privacy, there were several times we couldn't get our things in the lockers --which are located in the bathroom, and the bathroom was all wet from the other guest. On top of which, it ran out of important necessities quickly --I don't think I have to elaborate what I mean by that.

2nd Chances: Friends highly recommend we STAY at El Morocco --we value their judgement, and we desperately needed a mini holiday out of LA. So we gave El Morocco a second chance, this time we stayed... The difference was like comparing day to night! No curfew for guest staying at the inn, which means a late dip in the hot mineral jacuzzi pool! Not to mention the water, wow! Comp breakfast, which is quite the feast and Happy Hour for Morocco Tinis --Florence is especially helpful if in need of recommendations for dining... The property is intimate and cozy, friendly staff who are attentive but not overbearing, bath amenities could use a bit more consideration given the price of the rooms --but hey, Morocco Tinis! The location isn't the most desirable, but we enjoy the seclusion of Desert Hot Springs. We came to relax and recoup, and Palm Springs was just 20mins away. Spa service was amazing (from our first and second trip); Gloria and Rudy are fantastic! And we've had our fair share of spa services from our travels. A trip here is definitely one I'd recommend, an overnight stay though, don't bother with Day Use...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AgenTTomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

My friend and I were in town for her sister's wedding and our only regret is that we couldn't spend more time there! The moment you step in the door there is the fresh scent of eucalyptus and a smiling face. You truly feel as if you have stepped into another world. Bruce was kind and soulful. He gives you a pleasant tour that is filled with an excitement and pride that is truly humble. The atmosphere is calming, inviting, and positive. This can only be the result of Bruce's hard work and attention to detail. The staff is nothing but polite and helpful as well.

The room was romantic and charming. The flowing veiled tapestries throughout the inn are enchanting and hypnotizing. The fire places add a cozy, home feel to the pool area and library. I could go on and on about the refreshments and every detail, but it is something you must experience for yourself.

My friend and I did not want to leave and will be returning next month to simply escape the daily stresses of life. Spa treatments and cocktails will be a must on our up coming trip. Thank you so much for our new weekend escape to another world :)

Love,
Michelle

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Two Bunch Palms
Two Bunch Palms
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Morocco Inn & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Morocco Inn & Day Spa

Property: El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
Address: 66810 4th St, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-3269
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#5 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to get away and feel like you've really done it without the high cost??? Silky warm and natural spring-fed mineral swimming pool & jacuzzi spa open for you around the clock! This Moroccan inspired getaway features 12 guestrooms, each with a Cal King "Dream Deeply" bed, microwave & minifridge, exotic textiles, bistro tables and chairs, beautiful lamps,Moroccan furnishings & artwork. A Lavish complimentary continental breakfast is set out daily in the Kasbah Lounge and we offer our complimentary nightly signature cocktail,the "Morocco-tini"! Besides having 2 pools filled with those healing geothermal spring mineral waters, you can also choose from a wide range of deeply relaxing Spa treatments including Massages, Body Scrubs, Clay Wraps and Facials! We also offer Discount Spa Packages year 'round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your El Morocco Inn & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morocco Inn And Spa
El Morocco Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Hotel El Morocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing