We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If we can do it - so can you. Go for it and enjoy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Mountain Inn Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If we can do it - so can you. Go for it and enjoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Quite a sight we must have been standing there in the middle of the street outside of Sea Mountain, way overdressed, palms sweating, talking ourselves into the courage to lock the car and venture forth. We each took a shot of tequila and a couple of deep breaths, then headed for the entrance.

Our story really begins about 18 months ago when we received in the mail a greeting card - inside written one word "enjoy" - that contained a generous gift certificate to Sea Mountain from "secret admirers." After a year and a half of trying to figure out who gave us this gift and talking about going, we finally reached a point where we both could say "we are ready."

What lies inside the door of Sea Mountain is pretty well described in the other reviews. What we can attest to is that we were immediately put at ease our host and his assistants - is candor and personality is uniquely disarming and we were put instantly at ease. All was going to be just fine.

After enjoying a very nice couple's massage (we have paid twice the rate elsewhere for half the quality) we returned to our room for one more shot of courage, and then took THE PLUNGE literally into the pool. We will keep the details of our wonderful experience to ourselves, but we agree with the other reviewers that there is zero pressure to do anything but relax.

It is unfair to compare Sea Mountain to the full service mega-resorts of the Palm Springs area, so don't come expecting a La Quinta-ish facility. Sea Mountain is more akin to the boutique hotel properties that have been renovated and recently reopened around the area. Rooms are well appointed and tastefully done - our's compared favorably to the more expensive room at one of the very popular retro-hotels in PS that we stayed in during the same trip. The only real weakness is the lack of a solid, on or near site food option...but that can be easily solved by bringing in your own snacks and/or planning a nice dinner out - downtown PS and five star dining are all very close.

If a Sea Mountain experience is something that you would even remotely consider, our advice is to break out the calendar and give them a call.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMinpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Sea Mountain Inn Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
The SMI staff thanks these beautiful guest for their input and assessment of one of earths most sensual experiences. With Sensuality and comfort at a high end resort we take each of our guests ideas quite serious. We are reworking our 24 complimentary snack assortments and always trust our guest members intuitions. We always want our guests to alert our staff with any complaints on pools and spa mineral water temperatures or cleanliness too .The Sea Mountain mineral water pools can be adjusted hotter or milder any time and day of the year. On the midweek there are times when the Sea Mountain Lux Spa has only 30 or more guests and many enjoy the more mellow vibe of a Monday and as this New Resort grows we do hope more people can experience the midweek at the Spa. Again we thank our blessed guests for sharing their input and hope that each concern will find a solid commitment from the SMI organization for perfection in our guests experience .Although there was no mention of fried chicken --the roosters and cocks feel proud to see our guests each day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    57
    16
    12
    12
See reviews for
3
341
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a great place for what it is - a nude resort that is lifestyle-friendly. However, don't think there is anything "luxury" about it. Breakfast was cereal, packaged danish, and English muffins. Lunch is only available on the weekend days - good fried chicken with potato salad and mac salad. Not what we expected based on what their website claims. Aside from that, the crowd was friendly and staff were attentive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Borya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seamountaininn1, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Mountain Inn Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
WE want to thank our reviewer for visiting the Lux SMI ! The Sea Mountain Upscale Nude and clothing optional resort appreciates the observations about Sea Mountain Luxury Nude Spa And Nude lingerie and less lifestyles resort.
We wish thank all the Sea Mountain Luxury Nude Spa lovers for their kind words and devotion. Sea Mountain Spa Resort and day Club and Nude hotel has many visitors from around the world who frequently come to have a vacation in Paradise. The Small Intimate Spa Resort has many first time visitors who have never tried anything like this and The Hotel prides itself on providing the ultimate in pampering and safe upscale pleasures.The Sea Mountain Spa Luxury Nude Resort also provides something that no one else does. The Spa Includes Lunch and Breakfast to all guests whether they are our Day Spa Night Spa Day Club members or overnight VIP Suite guests.Sea Mountain Spa Resort also provides a 24 hour lifestyles taboo garden club complete with the worlds best music ,sound systems lighting and the infamous stripper poles every day of the year-
SMI does have Lunch each day of the year plus so much more --We are not certain why the reviewer did not speak about the amazing choice at breakfast-daily New York Bagels with all the shmears and 5 type of fresh fruits-8 types of hot and cold cereal and juices and the most amazing awarded by conde naste Special Vegan and NON Vegan Rice's for breakfast plus designers coffees and teas,home style croissants and creamed cheeses -and Saturday Sunday mimosas and OH so much more. Perhaps the reviewer had the 4 am breakfast .While SMI has breakfast any time,at 4 am there is less out! In terms of Luxury our rooms have 30k in beds and amenities that match the list required of 4 and 5 star hotels. The Asian art collection is considered one of the highest end and eclectic in the entire Palm Springs Valley
. This is the only semi all inclusive experience in the USA> With 24 hours dining area full of coke products,power bars,fruits,pastries,bakery goods,iced and heated coffees mineral waters,munchies like 24 hour chips ,salsas,teas,lemon and orange waters ,wines and other beverages and foods. --
- The SMI feels its a good value and when you travel to Las Vegas no one gives anything away for free or includes it and each drink at a pool can be up to 15 dollars two drinks 30 dollars and so it goes. SMI provides more then any other facility wether they be lifestyles,nude, or strictly vanilla

We are quite pleased that the reviewer was able to come to paradise however the word luxury is true- T This is why the SMI Sea Mountain Nude Resort and Lifestyles Resort has so many first time couples single women and groups of women who appreciate only the finest and most sensual and upscale experiences. Again while we are slowly massaging fried chickens -and have elf's creating NY bagels and Goddesses mixing magic porridge and dancing around the Spa with twinkling lights the staff is peaking over the safe and s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Az
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

This was our first experience to anything even close to this. We read reviews, packed our bags, and headed out. When we arrived at the resort we almost turned around and ran off (chickened out) . It was a little nerve racking as we rang the bell and waited to be escorted in. Here it’s the best part- the greeter introduced us to the crowd in the pool as we walker in and everyone smiled and waved as well as yelled and encouraged us to join in. What could have been awkward was just so simple and natural. The other guests were great. All shapes, sizes, colors and ages and each happy to be having fun. What a great way to strengthen our relationship. Truly a bucket list item and better than any trip we have ever taken to Vegas. We got to work on our tans and show off the dragon tattoo that stretches down my back. Dewy it was truly a blast.

Room Tip: The balcony room was great it has an overhead show place or viewing deck overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromazforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was our first time at a clothing optional resort. To say we were nervous, would be an understatement. We had a couple of drinks at lunch and "took the plunge". There was nothing to be nervous about. We were greeted by a beautiful, professional lady. She took us to the office, got us each a margarita and gave us the tour. By the time we got to our room, my wife was naked and I had to go get the bags. We had made reservations for one night, but after one night. we stayed for the afternoon (which is extra) and my wife decided we needed to come back after our weekend in San Diego. We were greeted by Dewey on Friday morning, HE was fabulous! If you are a committed couple with open fantasies, there are plenty of opportunities to fulfill those fantasies. Again, this was our first time and we felt more than comfortable! As far as the food and drink goes, the food is simple (but good), margaritas and non-alcoholic drinks were abundant. The delivery method rocked (constantly served margaritas by topless women & Dewey pouring shots)! On Wednesday, the hot tub was closed due to the fact that it had been repainted. The sign said that we could use it at 6:00 p.m on Thursday. At 6:00 p.m. we went in the hot tub and it was no where near dry. My wife's feet were covered in white paint that ruined her recent pedicure. The next morning, "Kat" came out to the pool deck w/ paint thinner and a rag and spent 45 minutes cleaning my wife's feet (bedside manner was perfect). When she was done with my wife's feet, she saw that mine were white, as well, and worked on mine for another 10 minutes. Because of what had happened, Dewey and his wife gave us Friday afternoon passes gratis! We totally weren't expecting that, but it was a great surprise. We came back on Sunday evening and were greeted like long-lost friends. Saw friends from earlier in the weekend & made new friends that evening. We will definitely be coming back to SMI & would not trade the experience for a night at Hedonism or Desire for anything. Just FYI, a couple we met there have been to both places and were not impressed with either! Great first time "clothing optional" resort and we will definitely return (hopefully to meet people that were there this last weekend)! Highly recommend SMI ~ worth every penny (and we are not anywhere near weatlhy)! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 & Room 10. Both were quiet and beautiful. We will ask for room 10 next tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank woohoo3943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

My bf and I who have never but always wanted to experience a "lifestyles resort", booked SMI for this past New Years weekend. Sadly they were booked New Years Eve, but we were lucky and got a room for New Years Day. The resort is across from a hotel called Miracle Springs which was fine to stay the Eve night. (SMI actually recommended it and it was exactly what they said it would be) Safe, clean, fine... But not nearly as nice as SMI!!!

Nervous and excited as this was our 1st time, we made our way out to Desert Hot Springs New Years Day afternoon. We read a tonnnn of reviews before we booked so I feel the need
to share a little about us to squash preconceived notions WE HAD before going even after the reviews we read:

We are:
Sexually- not swingers (@ least not yet), but enjoy sex a lot ;)
Age- early 30's
Marital status- both going thru divorce and have children from previous marriages
Education and Income- both have graduate degrees, +$300k/Yr together
Social scene- don't have friends we have shared our experiencebwith, yet!
Love for music, people, very social, and enjoy new experiences.
Body type- medium

I feel compelled to share the above since we wondered what type of people will be at SMI, and the truth is... All types and everyone, but I will say this... SMI is not for people who can't afford to choose what they want to do on the weekend. Great for us, as one of our fears were that there may be a sleazy vibe. NO WAY @ SMI, it is an amazing hidden Gem, w/the most classy, respectful people and atmosphere. Honestly when you think you are going to a lifestyle nudist
colony for the 1st time, you can't help but think there could be weirdos.. We discussed this
many times that we credit the positive, self-policing vibe to the amazing management.

1st as many reviews noted, we were greeted by a lovely SMI lady who walked us to the office, and then met the the infamous Dewey who was EVERYTHING reviews said. So welcoming, attentive, charismatic and comforting. He got us our margaritas and gave us the tour of the place, which we already read about so was nice to be a lil prepared of what to expect. After we settled in, he walked around constantly checking that everyone was comfortable and had what they needed, it was great.

New Years Eve festivities were amazing and I won't share all details, since you should be there if you want to be "in the know" :) I will say that they had a super hot lingerie contest, the place was packed, & the food & drinks were fantastic! The pool was 100 degrees, & the spa amazing as well. Action everywhere- exhibitionists, voyeurs, orgies, everything you could imagine... We couldn't have had a better New Years Eve experience just the two of us, period!

So we came back New Years day and got the full experience staying all day and all night. Again warmly greeted by lovely staff and Dewey, we got to our room which was #9, right next to the spa. We loved it, as it was so nice to be footsteps from everything. We spent the day under the sun at the pool which was a much smaller crowd, but found much more quiet exhibitionists which was fascinating. We would be conversating w/a couple who would stop in mid sentence to engage in oral sex, while 4 other couples around us were having sex and a threesome. We found it so inviting to just "do" whatever we pleased. And we did!

We met so many wonderful couples throughout the weekend and it was the most incredible vacation. The energy at SMI is so positive and erotic, you have to experience for yourselves if you haven't yet. My bf and I have been having the most amazing lovemaking sessions since, and we already had an INCREDIBLE sex life before SMI. I will say that we plan to visit SMI regularly, it has changed our lives in such a positive way. The way we thought when we read "lifestyle resort" has a whole new meaning now..

I also wanted to mention that we are music people... The music mixed playing at SMI is INCREDIBLE! We are certain Dewey must have been a dj or some guru in the music industry, it's that good! We would go and pay just to sunbathe nude and bask in the music!!!!

So to put everything I've experienced @ SMI in a nutshell, it is a classy place for couples of all ages to be true hedonists, do whatever they please, be free of all judgements, be so nicely located in the gem of Palm Springs, to be truly FREE. Some reviews have noted that the size or fees are an issue.... If SMI got any bigger or cheaper (we feel the fees are completely
reasonable btw), we probably would be weary to go.....
SMI - thank you for such an amazing 1st experience! You will see us again very soon!!!!!!!

For Life-
A & M :)
Room #9

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank peanut8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

If you are an open couple(or lady) this is the best place to visit. No pressure but by the end of the night you will find yourself very comfortable with the hedonistic nature of the resort. People of all ages shapes and colours are welcome. We went on New Years Eve 2011 and had a blast, next time we will do more then get a day pass. Lots of fun, friendly staff and non-judgmental lifestylers abound make this a place to be.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndrewAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

My husband and I have travelled to Hedo, Temptation and Desire and it was our first time to SMI and we loved it! It is the same type of atmosphere and so close for US travelers. No expensive airfare or a full day spent just to get there. Everyone was so open and friendly, not pushy sexually at all, just people having fun with their partner being naked and relaxing. If you want to hook up with others it is only couples and single women but again nothing pushy. We just had fun lounging by the pool, spa and being together. You can get great Thai food down the street, Mexican also down the street or they will order from a restaurant that delivers dinner nightly. Breakfast and lunch are provided along with soda/tea. We will definitely go back. The rooms were spotless, linens and comforters top quality and the supersoft robes made it so cozy when the air turns cool at night or early am.

Room Tip: ask for away from spa if you want to quiet nights in room otherwise pack or buy earplugs that is wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovinlifePasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Desert Sun Resort
Desert Sun Resort
#31 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mountain Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mountain Inn Resort

Property: Sea Mountain Inn Resort
Address: 66540 San Marcus Rd, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-2638
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Mountain Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mountain is a luxury nude resort for couples and women only and its adults only with a female staff and 5 star service and semi all inclusive and mineral water boutique hotel for couples and women. The sea mountain was named best of the USA by AOL and MSN and Maxim and FHM including ranked as best celebrity secret by MTV VH1. There are 15 awarded rooms with king beds Egyptian linens flatscreens and mineral water in the showers and sinks. There is a 24 hour dance lounge and 24 hour pools available for day spas night spas and vacation stays. There are No single men on the property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Mountain Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mountain Hotel Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing