We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Mountain Inn Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Centennial, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

So my wife and I spent our first weekend at SMI and we are going to give a you a real description of the resort and our weekend. We read all of the reviews prior, a lot of really good ones, and some really bad, so we went into our weekend very open minded.
First of all, the resort is not filthy. Yes it is small, but do they advertise it as big? The grounds, the pool, hot tub, and even the dance club are all well-kept, clean and the staff is constantly keeping it up. Sylvia is the person responsible for the day-to-day upkeep of the grounds and she works all day long and keeps things looking great! Other staff members were the same. All attentive to the resort and to the guests throughout the day and extremely friendly!! In fact, we were looking for a nice dinner location out on Saturday night, and one of the staff members made a great suggestion and even called to make a reservation for us.
The rooms are nicely done, the beds and linens are really nice and comfortable. We stayed in a room off of the pool and loved the location. Nice to be able to use our bathroom or get drinks right next to the pool all day long.
As for the lifestyle, we are not full on into it, but did get to experience some excitement throughout the weekend, which made us feel so close as a couple and the experience completely enhanced our intimacy. No pressure from anyone and you are able to do whatever and at what level you prefer. It was really amazing...
And yes, Dewey is everything he is described. Fun, caring about the guests and his resort, and makes you feel at home and comfortable from the moment you meet him.

So here is the bottom line truth... Anyone who writes a really negative review is either very high-maintenance, just generally unhappy, or has expectations that are different than what is described on the website or other reviews. The vibe and condition of the resort is absolutely wonderful, the atmosphere for a couple seeking intimacy and fun is perfect, and we will be back on a regular basis because we not only found a new level of romance for us, but also a place with great people, great guests who are friendly and fun and an owner and staff that truly care about making this type of resort comfortable for everyone!!! Thank you Dewey!!! See you soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FunCouple1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    57
    16
    12
    12
See reviews for
3
342
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

SMI is a small, resort with 15 rooms, a pool, hot tub and plenty of lounge chairs. The rooms are clean and well appointed. I can only guess that the reviews claiming it is run down or unkept are old, because it is not at all. The rooms are clean, fresh and modern in every way. The bed linens are crisp and include a down comforter and fuzzy throw blanket. The whole Inn is decorated with a Balinese flair that provides an exotic ambiance.

The front office has an endless supply of fresh pool towels, breakfast, snacks and lunch.

SMI is one of the most unique get-a-away spots you'll find. I've yet to hear about anything that comes close to what Dewey, the owner, has been able to accomplish here. He is always on premises on the weekends, and keeps things going. He is a natural host and loves his guests.

Obviously a nude/lifestyle resort isn't for everyone, but our experience was that the non-lifestyle nudists blended well with the more lifestyle guests. This is a very chill, non-judgement crowd. Everyone we met was friendly, open minded, and ready to enjoy themselves.

The vibe ranges from extremely mellow during the week to something more like a small club on Saturday night.

A good attitude is all you need to bring because everything else is provided and you don't need to pack any clothes!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amygoestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I have visited Sea Mountain Inn (SMI) many times over the years and have never been disappointed. While we have also traveled to Desire Riviera and Cabo (before it closed) and both Hedo’s in years past, those larger facilities cannot really compare to Sea Mountain’s unique style. It is simply different, and we like it. The resort is small and intimate, providing a comfortable setting for couples to relax and enjoy each other. Dewey provides a welcoming personal touch to the resort and sets the tone for your visit from the moment you arrive and are handed an icy beverage before being shown to your private quarters. The rooms are lovely with plush linens and robes, and the beds are excellent. There’s a small refrigerator in the room where you can keep your own refreshments should you prefer something besides what Dewey is serving poolside or offering in the poolside room where food is set up buffet style. There is also a very nice garden picnic area where you can sit with new friends and share a casual meal. The grounds and poolside are kept tidy throughout the day by attentive staff picking up after guests and the pool and spa are always clean and have never been otherwise during any of our stays. The setting is very easy going. We particularly like Dewey’s music selections which start early in the day with softer sounds and build throughout the afternoon to harder beat dance music for the evening party.
SMI is a “Lifestyles” friendly resort, so one is never sure of what the “vibe” will be when they get there—some days are wilder, some quieter. There is never any pressure to be or do anything but what one wants, and whether just watching and flirting or engaging with new-found or returning friends in a variety of situations, the enjoyable options are infinite—after all, that is reason enough to be going there. We really like SMI, and though it is not for everyone, it is certainly right for us and seems to be right for happy and adventurous couples with whom we visit when we are there. Thank you SMI!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are basically the same but we like to stay in poolside rooms 2 or 3 for easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Merry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beecher
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Although advertised as the ultimate nude/lifestyle resort- this place was a filthy pit!!!!
We arrived at 3 PM on a Wed, the front looked like a run down hacienda not a resort (although I do understand being discrete). We were let in through the locked door to the enclosed compound (by the very pleasant manager).
We were first escorted to the "front desk" to check in. We noticed the place looked to be in a bit of disrepair on the walk to the front desk, but no real alarm bells went off at this point. We were given a cold drink and our reservation was processed. The manager then brought us through the property on the way to show us our room.
The "disco" was the passage to the remainder of the resort. It was VERY tiny. Possibly holding 30 people, max.
Upon exiting the disco the decline REALLY began.
Garden and housekeeping tools were left helter skelter through out the common area, empty beer cans scattered on the ground, tables,and most other level surfaces throughout and (to add to the ambiance) half empty drinks mixed in to residual junk/garbage. There were no less than 15 heaping ash trays were on the tables and chairs-with even more cigarette butts lying all over the concrete around the pool and hot tub. The patio furniture was packed in so tightly one could barely navigate around it. The cushions on the furniture looked as if they were about to "crawl away" on their own as there was so much disgusting residue (of goodness knows what) on them we would not have put a rat on them, let alone ourselves.
There was an extreme amount of sediment and dirt we noticed in the green, cloudy water of the tiny pool. However, the most disgusting was the 4 inches of brown foam on the surface of the hot tub water.
When we commented on the condition of the pool and hot tub the manager was quick to say that all the problems were due to "the VERY abundant wind" and immediately got the staff busy cleaning but it was to late for us to even think of staying in this grossly overpriced establishment.
To their credit-the room was clean and although outdated it appeared comfortable.
We could not get out of the place quickly enough!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose ANY other resort!!!!!!!! YUCK!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank dean n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seamountaininn1, General Manager at Sea Mountain Inn Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Our sincere apologies to those who are sponsor for another Nude resort. If you notice you can see they review the competitor favorable - thus the problem with social media. -Sea Mountain Has 24 hour staff keeping our gardens and grounds women -And yes Sea Mountain often can have 50 mile per hour blasts of Wind however there is no excuse for not being up to par- We thank the reviewer and their agenda shows-We thanks them for liking our 5 diamond rooms -And sea mountain has just done a $35,000 pool refurbish and the health dept this week once again awarded and A rating for our pools and food service. Thanks for making your Sea Mountain always striving for perfection even through jaded eyes..We always want fair but open minded critiques -Love to those who understand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I think the reason for the negitive reviews is people not understanding where they are going before they get there. SMI is not a huge resort with 500 rooms, 4 bars, 12 pools and 1500 people. SMI is a small "lifestyle" resort. By the end of the second day, we had chatted with almost everyone. The resort is very clean and comfortable. The rooms are geat. The best beds I have been on. The staff bent over backwards to make sure everyone was having a great time. This is a no pressure enviorment where everyone is free to do what they are comfortable doing. Just watching, enjoying the ones they came with or meeting some of the other friendly guests.
Where else in the US are guests free to enjoy themselfs and others in the nude. Other resorts just show guests sitting around. If a lifestyle resort is what you are looking for, SMI is the best and really only choice in the US. And by the way, I do not own or work for SMI in any way. I am just a very happy recent guest.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I fully agree with other visitors who have been in Mexico or Hedo in Jamaica that Sea Mountain is by far not comparable. It is much smaller and less convenient. We have paid for 2 nights $ 450 per night (!!!) and received a room with hardly any food, no lounges and no place to eat. We reserved in advance 4 nights but informed after 1 night that we have to leave due to unforseen reasons (we donot live in the U.S.) the next day but were fully charged another $ 558.- although the spa was half empty. We never received any reply - despite 3 reminders - to our question who was the manager or the owners. Customer relations is not exactly what they know !
As we saw in other visitors reviews , whenever the review was negative, the comments of the management were rude so we know what to expect .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank elimesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seamountaininn1, Manager at Sea Mountain Inn Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank You for bringing a very important issue to the community.

Our wonderful caring staff want to thank all of our many guests from around the globe who visit the Only Nude couples and lifestyles resort in the USA>
Because of the size of the Sea Mountain Spa Resort we must adhere to a very firm cancellation policy. The Resort Spa for couples has suite rooms for guests and we do have a seven day cancellation policy.
We are aware of the elderly and perhaps infirm guest that has written. Our wonderful staff had many meals catered to this elderly couple and monitored them in a dance of passion full use of all our packed facilities.This special couple also had the Thai day beds each day and wondrous foods and unlimited beverages which were consumed in abundance with our blessings. The problem occurred when after 3 days the guest decided to leave One day early ,and wanted a refund of the last night. In the morning after hurling numerous and quite inappropriate threats at our female staff for many incidents of abuse this guest was told they could have the future credits etc. The guest was abusive when Sea Mountain really is about a cool contemplation of life. Our emails were left unanswered and we apologize that this guest wanted to leave early but our policy was clear before the arrival too. This awarded spa Inn Resort would always like to cater to guests who must cancel or must depart early but as with all hotels our policy must be firm. As Sea Mountain Spa Hotel Club Resort expands we look forward to a time when we can have the most liberal of refund policies however at this time the is not possible. We hope our friends will have open eyes and hearts to understand the Sea Mountain Strives for perfection and always appreciates feedback. WE welcome them home in the future as we had indicated. We hope our Tripadvisor family will understand the views of our organization.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife popped over to Sea Mountain after dinner on a Saturday for a chance to unwind--and it was so enjoyable--she didn't return until well after 10pm. She said everything was "so delightful", from the gracious hospitality of the hosts and staff to the creatively beautiful decor, lighting and comfy atmosphere. She also said the small crowd of guests were the most friendly she has ever met in one place and that the happy mood just flows from pool to jacuzzi, onto the dance floor and onto the cozy chairs and plush seats that surround everything. "When can I go back?" she said to me on Sunday, "I'm ready now!"

Room Tip: Any room that opens to the healing waters is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,166 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
550 reviews
9.4 mi away
Desert Sun Resort
Desert Sun Resort
#31 of 73 in Palm Springs
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
461 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mountain Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mountain Inn Resort

Property: Sea Mountain Inn Resort
Address: 66540 San Marcus Rd, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-2638
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Mountain Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mountain is a luxury nude resort for couples and women only and its adults only with a female staff and 5 star service and semi all inclusive and mineral water boutique hotel for couples and women. The sea mountain was named best of the USA by AOL and MSN and Maxim and FHM including ranked as best celebrity secret by MTV VH1. There are 15 awarded rooms with king beds Egyptian linens flatscreens and mineral water in the showers and sinks. There is a 24 hour dance lounge and 24 hour pools available for day spas night spas and vacation stays. There are No single men on the property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Mountain Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mountain Hotel Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing