We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique but disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Mountain Inn Resort
Certificate of Excellence
rhnaks
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Unique but disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2008

We totally agree with the previous review by Barb_and_John on Sea Mountain Inn (SMI). We too booked with the expectation of a great resort based on presentation and information from SMI website. Instead, SMI is nowhere near what it's portrayed. Having been to both Desire resorts in Mexico and Grand Lido resorts in Jamaica, the price one pays for an overnight or day pass at SMI is very expensive in comparison and definitely NOT upscale. Much of this tiny resort is dated and the furnishing run down. Essentially, it felt like going into someone's backyard.

SMI also advertises a delicious lunch, but all you get is some flavored fried rice, chips, and solids. And the menu does not change from day to day. On top of that you are on your own for dinner - either go out for dinner nearby or call in from a takeout menu.

This is definitely not an all-inclusive resort but one pays close to all-inclusive resort price. We must also note that we, and others we know of, have posted our less than stellar comments on other forums - Yahoo and SMI's own - but have never had our comments show up, which lead many of us to think something's suspicious as to who's modulating those forums.

Nonetheless, if you're looking for a place for nude suntanning and have some erotic fun while in Palm Springs, this is perhaps the only place to be. That's ONLY why we give it a "most likely" recommendation. Otherwise, don't expect much more.

  • Liked — ability to suntan nude, have fun with partner
  • Disliked — expensive for what you get, false advertising, small dated and run down
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rhnaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seamountaininn, owner at Sea Mountain Inn Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2009
We are sorry the reviewer posted things that the vast majority of sea mountain clients differ with

-But the sea mountain inn is only 2 years plus in age-over $700,000 in New furnishing-,an awesome staff which pays attention to detail and cleanliness.
Sea mountain has had steller reviews in many publications
--When we read things like this we feel perhaps a guest has another agenda - We do not serve "flavored rice" Or any rice at all --lunches are full with chicken and salads sandwhiches delicasie and all the beverages anyone could want which is unique in the hotel industry in the usa! We are always striving for perfection-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    56
    16
    12
    12
See reviews for
3
340
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grayling, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

After reading the resort description at the web site, we expected an upscale resort that would be comfortable. We were very disappointed. We'd even called ahead to be sure that we would be comfortable if we did not choose to participate in the "activities" and were assured we would--that would be impossible sense the grounds are miniscule. Well, after arriving and great care taken to get our credit card charged before anything was done/seen, we were taken to our room which meant walking through the interior areas. Very, very run down, not at all as advertised. The atmosphere was definitely NOT what we were looking for and we left within 10 min of arrival. When we attempted to get a refund, the policy that admittedly is clearly known ahead of time, was enforced and we left with over $1,000 charged to our credit card and denial of our request to reconsider so that we could have a refund. I'll own the responsibility (and stupidity) for being charged as was stated but would just offer to others that if you don't care about the condition of the grounds, surroundings, furnishings including being run down, old, warn and not kept up and the complete opposite of what you see at the web site then this is the place for you.

Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank Barb_and_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seamountaininn, owner at Sea Mountain Inn Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2009
The sea mountain has checked all records and does not have an incident like this in our files-At sea mountain papers are signed and there is a seven day cancel policy. The resort is only 2 years plus in age with hundreds of thousands of dollars in new furnishing-The resort prides itself of being artistic -safe and clean - We feel the reviewer did not like the policy and other factors are at hand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2008

Totally enjoyed my two-night stay at SMI this past weekend. I wasn't sure what to expect, after reading the various reviews, but my girlfriend and i had an incredibly good time.

The surrounding walls of the resort are non-descript, but once inside, there is much to enjoy. The pool is warm and beautiful, especially at night, they have a range of music, some good, some not, and a jacuzzi that is large enough for 15-20 people.

Pros: Nice decor, ample places to sit with your loved one (no problem getting beach chairs), great people watching--it is full nude--and a very friendly crowd while we were there. The rooms were very nice and roomy, and the beds are incredibly comfortable and large (possibly to accomodate more than two people?).

Cons: The beach chairs need a little upkeep & the food selection could be improved.

My girlfriend and I are not into the "lifestyle" (i.e, we are monogamous) and had never been to a nudist anything before. We were nervous for the first few minutes before leaving our room without clothing, but once we walked outside, we were comfortable for the rest of the weekend. The crowd ranged from late 20s to late 50s I would say. There was a lot of public displays of affection that you usually only see in the bedroom (I'm not quite sure how to state what I saw within the Tripadvisor guidelines). While in the jacuzzi, i did see several couples expressing their affection physically, and I have to say, it was kind of beautiful.

My girlfriend and I enjoyed that beautiful, bathwater temperature pool, and expressed our affection while nearby couples did likewise. I know it sounds crazy, but it was actually one of the most romantic and erotic moments of our relationship.

We definitely had a unique and wonderful experience at the resort. The people were much more interesting and friendly than I would have thought. And the nudity thing was way more enjoyable than I would have imagined. We're definitely coming back!

  • Liked — the rooms & the fellow guests
  • Disliked — the beach chairs needed cleaning
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NickBaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escalate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

My husband and I stayed here years ago and had a great time we made attempted to make reservation for this year but were told we would not be able to make reservations for three since we have a 19 year old son. Come to find out they have a “single male policy” that prohibits unaccompanied men of any age from staying. Even going as a family of adults was not acceptable, it had to be a couple or single female. If we had a daughter we would have been able to stay if she was over 18. I find this type of policy very hurtful and discriminatory. We will not be staying here again and will advise others in our nudist group along with the AANR to stay clear.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — single male policy
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Escalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seamountaininn, owner --read this -this is 3ed time submited at Sea Mountain Inn Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2008
Yikes! A couple who wants to bring their children to An adult clothing optional facility. Thats Just against the sea mountain policy. You can see they stayed at the sea mountain spa as a couple and LOVED it -They stayed as a couple in the Zen style Nude resort and Loved it, but now post a negative review because they cant bring their 19 year old place to an adult nude spa resort>?
-Fact is SMI does not have ANY persons, any guests under the age of 21! And Would never allow anyone with children regardless of the sex to stay overnight at the Hotel sea mountain . If they had a 19 year old daughter with them they would NOT be able to book this adult upscale nude spa hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

Sea Mountain Inn is a slice of paradise tucked away in the beautiful desert mountains. Bring your sexy side and your cooler for an experience you will never forget. If you like open minded friendly people who love to socialize, then this is the place for you!

Our first experience just happend to be a Halloween weekend which just added to the party atmosphere. While my sweetheart is a natural nudist, it has been uncomfortable for me in the past trying to get used to being naked at nude beaches. At Sea Mountain your inhibitions fall to the floor along with your towel at your own comfort level. Even sexy lingerie was sported as dusk rolled around. You wear as little or as much as you want..... all levels are welcome.

While everyone likes to take pictures on vacation, regarding cameras, I think the feeling is be respectful and conservative and don't take revealing photos of anyone you don't know or without permission.

Bring a lock for the lockers and your beach bag and the sexiest smile you can sport because you will be grinning your entire stay!

Sea Mountain Inn is what we have been looking for in a romantic vacation. Who knew it was in our own back yard with only an hour and a half drive from Los Angeles. We will be back very soon!

  • Liked — We loved being around other open minded people who love to enjoy life to the fullest!
  • Disliked — The fact that we had to leave.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wendysinclair2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

Sea Mountain is for the romantically adventurous. It is clothing optional, mostly clothes free, and it crackles with romantic excitement. Really, it is for visitors to clothing free beach resorts in the Caribbean of the warmer variety.

That said, the atmosphere is comfortable, welcoming, safe and clean. It is a haven for the sophisticated traveler, the sort who enjoy European vacations such as Cap d' Agde where much is permitted by consent. My wife, an energetic monogamist, calls the atmosphere "loving and lusty."

The resort has its owner-impresario, Dewey, who is an activities director, and the maker of powerful margaritas and other delightful caribbean-style concoctions. There is an eclectic mix of music, art, and pretty much non-stop fun. The adventurous traveler will want to repeat the experience.

  • Liked — Pool Scene
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dlsgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2008

We simply cannot encourage others to visit this Sea Mountain Spa location. We had the pleasure of going to a Sea Mountain Resort location in Las Vegas for day use a couple of years back. It was not our first time at a clothing optional resort so we were fairly comfortable in this type of relaxation opportunity. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to find a somewhat younger crowd. With no offense to any age group, but instead an age range where we did not feel like we were hanging out with our kids or parents. An opportunity to spend time with others in our age group with this form of relaxation with the thought that we may all very well think alike.

Well two years had passed and our anniversary was quickly approaching. We were hoping for a four day vacation at the Sea Mountain Spa in Desert Hot Springs. When we contacted them we were disappointed to find that all their rooms were booked. Nevertheless, without hesitation the staff provided us information on nearby accommodations that not only were reasonably priced but within walking distance to the resort. If that was not enough they offered us their day and evening use passes so we could still enjoy the amenities of the resort.

We booked a room at the recommended nearby hotel and virtually still spent the entire time at the resort. There was not a moment in which we did not feel like any of the other over night guests at the resort and the only thing we were not doing was sleeping there.

Nevertheless, we did get to sleep there in the most comfortable beds anyone could ever ask to sleep in as one of the guests unfortunately had to cut their vacation short and the staff at Sea Mountain immediately let us know of the availability of the room.

We were treated like royalty the entire time that we were there! It was truly the most relaxing and marriage revitalizing vacation we could ever have and plan to return as often as possible, room or no room!

It is the only vacation that I know of where you are not in need of a vacation after returning home. All that you have to deal with is not wanting to leave and planning how soon you can return.

  • Liked — Completely Pampered! Every need and desire met without even asking
  • Disliked — The end of our stay!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Time2Relax69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Desert Sun Resort
Desert Sun Resort
#29 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mountain Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mountain Inn Resort

Property: Sea Mountain Inn Resort
Address: 66540 San Marcus Rd, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-2638
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Mountain Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mountain is a luxury nude resort for couples and women only and its adults only with a female staff and 5 star service and semi all inclusive and mineral water boutique hotel for couples and women. The sea mountain was named best of the USA by AOL and MSN and Maxim and FHM including ranked as best celebrity secret by MTV VH1. There are 15 awarded rooms with king beds Egyptian linens flatscreens and mineral water in the showers and sinks. There is a 24 hour dance lounge and 24 hour pools available for day spas night spas and vacation stays. There are No single men on the property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Mountain Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mountain Hotel Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing