We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“aminities are not what they say”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Mountain Inn Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“aminities are not what they say”
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We have stayed in most of the rooms at Sea Mountain. As time goes by, aminities are going down. Bring your own food, or plan to go and spend at not the best restaurants, adding this to the overpriced rooms and you are stuffing someones pockets,(not yours), Robes are slightly worn. The nail on the wall is a great hanger for your towel. This is not luxury; however, the Beds are outstanding. This time we stayed past the week-end and we felt like a step-child. Not much food, and the chinese chicken salad is not what it use to be. If you want simply sugar carbs in the morning, you are in paradise. Morning music is good,but watch out for the past noon, if your are not into dirty rap, you may be lost. I would not reccomend this hotel for luxury, if you want the sex, or watch sex, you will be happy. It's up to you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wildgoat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seamountaininn1, Owner at Sea Mountain Inn Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Lovers of the Sea Mountain Spa know that this special hotel always seeks to strive for perfection and if we dont meet the bar set for us we go crazy sad and fall apart in sadness.We are aware of the anonyomous guest and were able to check to room and find a magnificent silver bar behind the door to hang our awarded robes,We could not find any nails but would love for any guest of this esteemed inn to just come to the office and let us help with this-Also SMI would not play "dirty rap" all day as the music changes and evolves ,we are also unsure of the focus of perversion in the writer but Sea Mountain is about love and understanding and not sure what else could be in the way of this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    57
    16
    12
    12
See reviews for
3
342
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We have visited SMI five times and had a great time each time. People should know several things about SMI. First, it is very much a swinger's place. While there is absolutely no pressure to be involved in swinging, sex is everywhere. You can watch it, you can be watched, you can jump into an orgy, you can dance naked... you name it. Second, the rooms are great. Third, the food is junk. They provide a few snacks, but nothing to get excited about. Even when they supposedly catered, the best we experienced was KFC. Fourth, you never know what the crowd will be like. We have been there when the crowd looked like nudist day at the old folks home and we have been there when there were nothing but hot couples with hard bodies everywhere. We have been there when people sat around all day and went home early and we have been there when the sex didn't stop for 12 hours. Fifth, leave everything you can in your room or in hour hotel (if not staying there) because the lockers are worthless. Even if you bring your own lock, you will have a difficult time fitting the lock on the locker, and all lockers will probably be taken. We leave everything in the hotel, show up in loose clothing and sandals, and don't worry. Sixth, people complain about the lack of bathrooms, but there are two and sometimes you have to wait a few minutes, but it's not a big deal. Seventh, don't assume people who go here are swingers. I would guess that 80% like to have sex alone in a sexy environment without touching anyone else. That said, we have seen some pretty wild orgies, but they are not the rule. Eighth, the dance floor/round bed area is small. The staff at SMI bashes reports on Trip Advisor to this effect (actually, they bash ANYTHING negative said about SMI) but its true. There is just no real room for group sex to happen comfortably. The glowing reports that there is nothing like SMI in the world are pure marketing... that doesn't mean it's not a great place. It is. And the complaints about everything being small are exaggerated. Even when it is cramped, being around 150 naked people is fun.

In general, the staff is nice. Dewey (I suppose the owner) tries to do everything possible to make people comfortable and generally will respond immediately to any request. If you need something, ask him, because the other main person there is just rude and she has been every time we went. Avoid her and things will be OK.

As a rule, if you are open to relaxing naked and maybe having some sexual fun, it's a great place. If you go with swinging in mind, it might happen and it might not. Don't have high expectations: enjoy it for what it is, a unique place where you might well have a lot of fun, and you will have a great time. Expect wild parties with models and gourmet food every night of the week and you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ComiendoCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seamountaininn1, Owner at Sea Mountain Inn Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Fried Chicken is the essence of love at Sea Mountain Resort. And the resort has to say that again Fried Chicken is not served each day and that we never serve KFC brand. Our chickens are imported from the furthest regions of Europe where they are massaged and fattened and then only fed proper Vegan feed. The chickens are kept in special warming rooms where hard rock and rap music is forbidden so they are chanted at in soft tones and even have their nails manicured since chickens have such beautiful nails.When other hoteliers come to visit Sea Mountain the chickens are quickly blessed and then kissed and thrown into the gourmet dining halls of sea mountain kitchens and buffets. When the guests leave we put our chickens back in magical beds where they can dream of more love and more amazing music. In actuality the chickens that are set at the Grand Lux Buffet at sea mountain are merely fried crisps of fried oily dough. We love our chickens to much to share them with our beloved guests. So accept the apology only a thigh or leg can give and stick with the imported and awarded salads of SMI . Cheers to all and love and peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe, NV
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2011

It had been a while since our last visit and it was even better than we remembered it! We can really tell that the owner is passionate about making this resort as comfortable, as chic and as thrillingly fun as possible. The art work displayed on the grounds makes you feel like you have entered an island paradise, all the KILLER music is hand selected and creates the chillest ambiance, food and drinks are served with the utmost care, and again, the rooms are a private paradise on their own. We always sleep like the dead at SMI. The greatest thing though was that the entire atmosphere lends itself to meeting some really great people. There were so many extraordinarily cool couples and most in our age range (late 20s early 30s) that we totally clicked with and made long term friends with! THERE is NO OTHER environment that connects people like that. I think all the special details draw people back again and again. We have plans to visit again in March and can't wait!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I have been to Sea Mountain Inn three times so far. I plan to return again. My partner and I have enjoyed ourselves each time. This spa is for those who enjoy public displays of affection. We enjoy being able to express our affection outdoors in the sunshine in a private public environment. This place is perfect for that. The rooms are cozy and clean. The beds are the most comfortable beds in the world, I wish I had one of those mattresses at home. The pool and hot tub are always clean and at a proper temperature for the season. The resort is located in a residential area, however once inside it is very private. The lunches consist of fried chicken, various salads, fruits, chips and few other picnic type foods which I feel is appropriate for the environment. Dinners can be ordered or you can go out to dinner. We usually just order in and eat in our room. There is a small table and two chairs in the room for us to eat at. There is not a dining table or dining room. The dance club is small, but very nice. There is a bed in the dance room for those who wish to get together. The music is very good. The people are all ages, shapes and sizes. No one feels uncomfortable if they don't have the perfect body. Dewey and the girls are also very nice and accommodating. They come by and serve margaritas, and Dewey also comes by with some body shots or shots. We get massages when we are there. The massages are great. The ladies that give the massages are very well trained and experienced. I always communicate with them about my massage needs in order to get the best massage. It's worth spoiling yourself with a massage. The entire staff is so friendly and work very hard to make certain everyone is comfortable and enjoying themselves. All the other members are very respectful and nice to associate with. We always enjoyed ourselves, having very relaxing weekends, always wishing we could stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridianjulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We just spent the weekend and had a nice time. This is not a Caribbean resort - it is a retro motel with a small pool and small hot tub. It's not Desire, Hedo or any of the large mega resorts you might be used to. There are only about 14-15 rooms but lots of deck chairs and spots to soak up the sun. The rooms are spotless and the bed is really one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

There were people of all shapes and sizes but everyone was friendly and respected our space (we are not in the lifestyle). A fair number of public displays so if you find it offensive, this isn't the place for you. I recommend an overnight stay....the atmosphere is very sexually charged so you will want to be able to get away if the public display is not your scene. Friday Night and Saturday/Sunday Mornings were pretty quiet - Saturday afternoon and evening got pretty crowded with day visitors but there was still plenty of space to hang out but to reiterate, there is no restriction on any type of PDA....

Note that Desert Hot Springs is not so great...but it is only about 15 minutes to some great shopping and dining in Palm Desert, Rancho Mirage or Palm Springs. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2010

My boyfriend and I got away to this wonderful place on thanksgiving day. We had a reservation for one night. We got there right around check in time at 1 pm and immediately were made to feel at home.

They have snacks and some light food available most of the time, like simple breakfast items, or a chinese chicken salad at lunch. You are welcome to bring in your own food and beverages, but there's not too much of a need, because they are constantly offering you margaritas which they supply, or wine. The place was very nice and clean, staff was excellent. Huge screen TVs, king size beds, and robes and slippers! Everyone we met here was very nice. It's like a secret playground for adults. We made friends who we will keep in contact with, and hopefully see there again. It is a very comfortable setting, if you are open minded. If you are really open minded, you will love, love, love this place. Palm Springs is nearby, with all sorts of things to do, but we never left the place, except to go get some lunch one day. Oh, and we liked it so much, we decided to stay for a second night!

Even in the winter, the Southern California sun feels amazing during the day, and at night-well, everybody packs into the hot tub, or the party room. We figured out how to keep each other warm...

The owner is amazing, staff was very friendly and attentive. We also got massages, and those were great too. Surprise your significant other and take them here. There were all ages. If you've never stepped outside your box to experience something like this, Sea Mountain Inn would be the place to do it. You'll feel right at home.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

"100s of beautiful people decending on the Sea Mountain Inn for a night unlike any other..." At least that's what the website says almost every week. In fact,when I called to reserve I was told that place was going to be full and the party non-stop.

I am truly sorry that the resort doesn't live up to the hype. The other recent reviewer that stayed in October and was bashed by management for saying the place is small is absolutely correct - in fact she took many words out of my mouth. The photos on the website make it seem much better, and much bigger, than it is. The pool is a small pool; the hot tub as well. The common area lounge chairs are run down. And, the "play room" has room for one round bed in the middle, a stripper pole in the corner, one lounge chair, a small love seat, and one other seat behind the tiny deejay area. I am absolutely positive they have had 50 people in there as they claim, but I wouldn't tell the fire marshall that - the place really is big enough for 12.

And don't believe the pictures of all the beautiful people decending from all over the world for a night "unlike any other...". When we stayed we actually got to see a few out of shape, over the hill couples do bad imitations of porno moves while eating our free fried chicken and drinks. A few 50 year olds having sex in the hot tub, and a couple of Viagra-induced permanent erections walking the grounds doing bad impressions of Hugh Hefner rounded out our evening.

But, we made the best of it anyway, giggled at the ackward and open sex (they tell you it is a "lifestyle" resort...now we know what that means...) and managed to have fun running around naked. But management should just tell it like it is because there really isn't any other choice if you like that sort of thing. Their ads should be, "hey, it's small and cramped, you might find one or two cool couples but be prepared for late middle-agers really into swnging with anybody that has a pulse...and we'll throw in some free snacks and drinks." If that is your kind of place you'll have a blast!!! Post Note - one measure of relief is that the swingers can read you well - if you aren't into it they figure it out quickly.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank sdcouple858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seamountaininn1, Owner at Sea Mountain Inn Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2010
The Hotel always seeks clarity with The issues of Hype -Size- How guests look- Sex and of course fried chicken.
The date the visit is the day before Thanksgiving which is one of the less crowded days at the Hotel and Spa and beloved resort hotel.
The reviewer wants a big party and then ,yes the author mocks all guests.
The reviewer keeps repeating the Hotel is small -There is no statement on any Sea Mountain Web site stating the resort is many acres large with tennis courts and golf etc.-SMI holds about 159 positive energy guests not thousands.The intimacy of the Hotel is very important to the guests and the fans of SMI.
The review uses a photo from the awarded website of Sea Mountain Spa to show the spa and say the SMI photos of the web site are wrong. Fact is ,each photo on the resort web site is filmed at the famous SMI hotel and spa. Check The reviews mention fire marshals mentions and worn chairs when all pool chairs pads were replaced two months prior at a cost of thousands of dollars.
Those who know Sea Mountain are aware it's all about positive energy and ultra clean environment.
The reviewer writes about the taboo gardens sea mountain disco( as seen in Esquire as sexiest place to play) and reviewer neglect to mention one of the world's finest sound system and ultra lighting systems .
The author wrote this review speaks about people being Old and overweight etc, we wonder why their obsession with the looks of guests who are from all over the world and one of the most upscale guests of any hotel ages 20s and up.And all beautiful in our eyes We are glad the author who wrote this said they giggled and had fun humiliating people by laughing at guests etc. On another note ,the day the author critic was at the amazing Sea Mountain Spa there was no fried chicken even served on the property.
As a unique hotel offering a very special romantic experience and NOT a "Swingers Hotel" ( whatever that
means)
We welcome those to a select private and ultra deluxe world of pampered pleasure and seek positive energy for those who come the SMI place of peace The problem with reviews is that competitors can embed and slander Great institutions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Desert Sun Resort
Desert Sun Resort
#31 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mountain Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mountain Inn Resort

Property: Sea Mountain Inn Resort
Address: 66540 San Marcus Rd, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-2638
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Mountain Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mountain is a luxury nude resort for couples and women only and its adults only with a female staff and 5 star service and semi all inclusive and mineral water boutique hotel for couples and women. The sea mountain was named best of the USA by AOL and MSN and Maxim and FHM including ranked as best celebrity secret by MTV VH1. There are 15 awarded rooms with king beds Egyptian linens flatscreens and mineral water in the showers and sinks. There is a 24 hour dance lounge and 24 hour pools available for day spas night spas and vacation stays. There are No single men on the property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Mountain Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mountain Hotel Desert Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing