We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic????????????????”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of El Matador

El Matador
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic????????????????”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

ONLY went here because we had a restaurant.com coupon to use.....what a terrible meal. Probably one of the worst mexican dinners we have ever had. Even had a little show of drunk hookers eating in this fine establishment. YUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Don't even bother...just keep driving right past the white shack with the plastic horse in front!!!!! In fact don't ever go to Desert Hot Springs!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank windycitygirl125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno!!(VERY good food!!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

What a nice surprise to find this restaurant in Desert Hot Springs!!
Mexican is not my favorite type of food but this restaurant is going on our "must visit" list whenever we are out in the desert!
Their chile rellenos covered in yummy salsa is unusually good! The service is warm and friendly and the home made flan(when available) is mouth watering!
Go early because it does get busy with locals!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Riff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum! Delicious and open late”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I had beef tacos which were delicious. I love the caramelized onions. Horchata was great. Friendly, fast, affordable and open late.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaWaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and a Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

This is the second time we have visited this restaurant. Each time the food has been very good and full of flavor. This waitstaff has been good and very attentive. It's not the fanciest restaurant, but the quality of the food, service and reasonable prices make it a great deal!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersburg, Ohio
1 review
“Good food and friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We had such a wonderful dining experience at this place! we were there for a Sunday lunch. The food was awesome and so authentic. We were treard like family. I would have liked to go back there again during our vacation but it didn't work out. I would definitely go there if i get to that area again!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladylily56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Matador also viewed

Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
 
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
 
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing