We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time does not matter here”
Review of El Matador

El Matador
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Time does not matter here”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Because every time my wife and I go there its the same Excellent !

Extremely good Mexican food.
(and the locals know it),

We have been eating there since the late 70's and time doesn't matter is always one of our favorite places.
Great service, clean and the outdoor window is open until 12:00 am. for carry outs which are also the best there is!
Anyone who says anything different are used to Americanized southwestern food, not the real thing.
If you want that kind then go to a chain like Chili's or farceo bell....

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mortamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic????????????????”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

ONLY went here because we had a restaurant.com coupon to use.....what a terrible meal. Probably one of the worst mexican dinners we have ever had. Even had a little show of drunk hookers eating in this fine establishment. YUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Don't even bother...just keep driving right past the white shack with the plastic horse in front!!!!! In fact don't ever go to Desert Hot Springs!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank windycitygirl125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno!!(VERY good food!!)”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

What a nice surprise to find this restaurant in Desert Hot Springs!!
Mexican is not my favorite type of food but this restaurant is going on our "must visit" list whenever we are out in the desert!
Their chile rellenos covered in yummy salsa is unusually good! The service is warm and friendly and the home made flan(when available) is mouth watering!
Go early because it does get busy with locals!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Riff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum! Delicious and open late”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I had beef tacos which were delicious. I love the caramelized onions. Horchata was great. Friendly, fast, affordable and open late.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaWaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and a Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This is the second time we have visited this restaurant. Each time the food has been very good and full of flavor. This waitstaff has been good and very attentive. It's not the fanciest restaurant, but the quality of the food, service and reasonable prices make it a great deal!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Matador also viewed

Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
 
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
 

Been to El Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing