We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad to stay here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
351 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Glad to stay here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay here at embassy Suites in Downey. We used to live in Downey years ago - and it was fun to "come home."

Embassy Suites is very nice - even maybe seems nicer than Downey as a city.

The staff were all VERY nice and very helpful.

Our biggest concern was that in their remodel there are no rooms w/a king bed and a tub. Those are two non-negotiable thems for us - so . . we made due w/tub and two double beds.

Also, while not unique to this lodging, we have noticed that many places are no longer have towel bars - we MUCH prefer having those than just putting our towels on a counter.

we enjoyed the breakfast choices - and appreciated the omelettes for which you could choose the items you wanted in it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveGetAways70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for choosing our location for your stay! I was very glad to read you and your family enjoyed our property. While we may not be able to change the tub option in our suites with kind beds, I'd like to assure you, that your comments will be shared with our staff so we may look into your concerns further. We look forward to serving you again on a future visit soon!

Thank you so much for your time and patronage to Embassy Suites - Downey!

Michelle Escobedo
Manager On Duty
Michelle.Escobedo@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    227
    122
    79
    50
See reviews for
370
95
34
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Loved the hotel! We stayed for a week with our 5 year old. It was great to have a private bedroom where we could close the door and watch television while she slept on the pullout couch. The breakfast was huge and kept us full well into the afternoon. Not the most flavourful, but plenty of variety and good quality.
The hotel is lovely and my daughter enjoyed the fish/turtle pond. The indoor pool is great for the chilly weather we had in March. While the tile isn't the cleanest, it is overall well kept. The jacuzzi was nice to relax in while my daughter swam. The bathroom is tiny and the fan doesn't work very well, but it is nothing to avoid the hotel over.
The daily manager's reception in the evening provides a free adult beverage for the parents, and my daughter loved the Shirley Temple they gave her. Snacks were minimal.
There are plenty of restaurants in walking distance, as well as 2 grocery stores where we picked up snacks to put in the mini fridge provided.
Parking was free and there was always a security guard watching over things outside. The area was pretty. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Would recommend staying above floor 3 to avoid the lobby noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for choosing our location for your stay! I was very glad to read you and your family enjoyed our property and amenities. Be assured your comments will be shared with our staff so we may look into your concerns further. We look forward to serving you again on a future visit soon!

Thank you so much for your time and patronage to Embassy Suites - Downey!

Michelle Escobedo
Manager On Duty
Michelle.Escobedo@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This hotel is not far off I-5 in Downey, CA. It is convenient to Disneyland (abt 20 mts), Universal Studios (abt 20 mts), Downtown LA, Knotts Berry Farm. In short, excellent location in a nice part of Downey. There's a CVS Pharmacy and a Dennys right across the street and a mall about two blocks away. On the way to the freeway, the Oldest McDonalds restaurant still in operation was fun to see! It's not right next to the freeway, so there's no freeway traffic noise. The manager mentioned that the rooms had recently been updated with new furniture and widescreen TVs. Everything looked new. Didn't use the TV (too busy sightseeing)...

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Beds firm, but not too firm. The breakfast (that is included in the price of the room) is the best: made-to-order omelettes, waffles, pancakes, sausage, hash-browns, bacon, fruit, muffins, and juices. Very convenient not to have to look for a place for breakfast when Disneyland opens at 7AM!

The indoor pool is heated (but not hot). The Jacuzzi was nice after a long day at the amusement parks!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for choosing our location for your stay! I was happy to hear you and your family enjoyed our property and amenities. We look forward to serving you again on a future visit soon!

Thank you so much for your time and patronage to Embassy Suites - Downey!

Michelle Escobedo
Manager On Duty
Michelle.Escobedo@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

HHonors member and wanted to stay with a Hilton property. The other hotels for Grammy weekend were overpriced so I chose an Embassy just outside of downtown. It is uber convenient to get to from Long Beach airport as well as the freeway to L.A.

Rooms were remodeled in the last few years and beds are comfortable. Manager cocktail receptions and hot breakfast freebies are always nice. Thankful that my gold status doesn't require me to pay for internet, in-room bottled water, etc.

Many conveniences near hotel (grocery stores, restaurants, etc). However, ask for directions as if you drive the wrong way there are some notoriously dangerous neighborhoods not too far from the hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms give you a good view into downtown L.A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ut_ragazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for choosing our location for your stay! I was happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We do look forward to serving you again on a future visit soon!

Thank you so much for your time and patronage to Embassy Suites - Downey!

Michelle Escobedo
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Most excellent value! The suite was spacious and the made to order breakfast was absolutely scrumptious! Refrigerator! Microwave! Second sink in the living room! TWO flat panel televisions! Balcony!

The staff is SO AWESOME! They are so friendly and bright and smiley that I felt welcome and warm inside. I visited the hotel before booking the room and was taken on the nicest tour from Nancy, who whos at the front desk. During my stay, I complained to the front desk about my ipod accidentally signing onto the wifi (which is $9.99 per night!) and got that refunded.

The manager's reception is a good idea but beware since they are free drinks they use very cheap alcohol and its bound to give you a headache, not a buzz.

A bad thing about my stay was that there was a large group of tiny tot cheerleaders who were raping all the amenities. I couldnt swim in the pool for fear of little girl urine. I had to wait while these girls ordered numerous shirley temples at the managers reception.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueblue02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your time at our location! Be assured your review will be shared with our staff. We do look forward to serving you again on a future visit!

Thank you so much for your time and patronage to Embassy Suites - Downey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I can't believe this hotel charges $10/day for each computer in a room to access the internet. Give me a break. Otherwise the hotel is pleasant enough if something brings you to this part of LA.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sebagolizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! Be assured your feedback will be shared with our Executive Team for further discussion on our internet fees. Also, I was pleased to read your comments as it sounds like you enjoyed our property. We do look forward to serving you on a future visit soon!

Thank you so much for your time and patronage to Embassy Suites - Downey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Well, let me start off by saying that I don't normally stay at Embassy Suites. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel had good service, very nice accommodations, and the breakfast buffet was a nice surprise. It was simple, but efficient. Individually made omelets, and a nice selection of accompaniments. I had to be in that neighborhood on that day, and it turned out to be a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BayClubSupport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our property! We do look forward to serving you again on a future visit soon!

Thank you so much for your time and patronage to Embassy Suites - Downey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downey
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Downey
Days Inn Downey
#2 of 8 in Downey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
16.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#6 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
17.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
15.6 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#26 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
Address: 8425 Firestone Blvd, Downey, CA 90241-3843
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Downey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi Million Dollar renovation completed in May 2015. New Lobby. New Atrium. New Restaurant. New Lounge. New Fitness & Business Center. A Brand New Embassy Suites in Downey! All-suite, full service Hotel, located in the heart of Los Angeles! With 4 freeways located within 2 miles of the Hotel, it's easy to get around town. We are only 14 miles from Anaheim, 14 miles from Downtown Los Angeles and 14 miles from Long Beach. Parking is complimentary. Your stay includes a full breakfast and nightly reception from 5:30-7:30pm daily All of our sleeping rooms consist of 2 room suites with your choice of one king or 2 queen beds. The parlor features a double size sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downey Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Downey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing