We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location”
Review of Riverside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downieville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Downieville B&B and Inns
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had a very comfortable one night stay at this charming inn. Our room with king bed was nicely decorated and had a lovely view of the river. The owners were friendly and welcoming, even provided covered parking for our motorcycle. A continental breakfast was served in the lounge but trays were also provided if one wanted to eat in their room. We had a good dinner at the local steakhouse with excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landcruiser78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

It was my first time to Downieville (went for Mountain biking) and I would definitely go back to Riverside Inn. I gave it 3 stars bc the rooms are a bit run down (worn carpet) and the breakfast fine, but not really special. The proprietors are 5 star--friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was bagels (cream cheese and salmon), toast, coffee cake, coffee, tea (I would have liked cereal). The setting 5 star. It is right on the river, and I think all the rooms look out to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Lake, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This year was our fourth annual return to one of the best little places on earth. Clean comfortable and enjoyable. Breakfast is always a treat, not just for the coffee and bagels, but the fun conversations that always spring up in a totally relaxing environment. Fishing on the Yuba is always a treat (if you know how to fish you catch fish, if you don't it's still a great place to try...) and your just an hour away from really great golf at Plumas Pines over in Greyeagle. So much to do and a wonderful place to return to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at the inn a few years ago and it has stayed in my mind ever since. The return visit lived up to expectations.The weather was extremely hot but the proximity to the fast-flowing river meant we were never uncomfortable.The sound of the river is also soothing and relaxing.The balcony is a great place to sit and take in the atmosphere. Breakfasts are good and the coffee excellent. Mike and Nancy are helpful hosts and run a well-organised establishment.We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The soothing river flowing by while you sleep was wonderful! We enjoyed the lox and bagel breakfast and the clean comfortable room. Our stay in Downieville was over the 4th of July and we got to see the quirky and sweet parade with the "fireless fireworks" giant bubblewrap finale!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pati1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilfroy, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Great location next to the river. Town is friendly with a relaxing demeanor. Operators are
friendly and room was clean and comfortable. Could not ask for better backround music
than the sound of the Yuba river 24/7. Good continental breakfast with stimulating conversation with fellow guests that seem to enjoy this place as much as I did. If you need an attitude change and a connection to a healthier pace this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Rooms have individual patios or decks. Some have kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pioneer, Ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is an older hotel with only 12 rooms with separate balconies looking over the Yuba River...
(my husband and I could actually talk back and forth as he was pulling in fish and me on the balcony!) The river is so powerful that we were never disturbed by folks 2 doors down enjoying themselves as well.......we left the balcony doors open all night and slept peacfully to the sounds of the river. In the morning there is a very nice breakfast including fresh salmon. The innkeepers/owners were very sweet......If you are looking for relaxing and peaceful....this is it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudyBuckhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downieville
22.6 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
22.0 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
13.2 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn

Property: Riverside Inn
Address: 206 Commercial Street, Downieville, CA 95936
Region: United States > California > Downieville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Downieville
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balconies over the Downie River, one of four rivers in town. Historic Gold Country Inn in Tahoe National Forest on Yuba River National Scenic Byway. All rooms have full private bathrooms, are smoke free, include a balcony over the river. Includes covered motorcycle parking, secure mountain bike storage and repair station. Many rooms have full kitchens. King or Queen beds available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing