We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property but lots of room for improvement”
Review of Lure Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Downieville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lure Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Downieville
Los Altos, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful property but lots of room for improvement”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

First impressions:
The property runs along the river, across a private bridge. The scenery is gorgeous and the sound of the river rushing by is lovely.
The office is shabby and smells terrible.
Across from the office there’s a beautiful, shaded grassy area with chairs looking over the river.
As you drive to your cabin, you pass one unit that looks really trashy, with two old refrigerators in the yard. A bit further, you pass a dumpster with garbage piled on top, next to a garbage can with garbage spilling out.
Our cabin also has an unpleasant odor (different from the office), which fortunately dissipates after an hour or two of open windows.
As we unpack our food, I take a plate from the cabinet to put fruit on. The plate is dirty--greasy with small bits of food on the top and bottom. It obviously hasn’t been washed. Yech! I need to wash everything in the kitchen before using it.

Pros:
1) The property is lovely.
2) A long beautiful trail running through the property provides good access to the river for fishing and gold panning.
2) The newer cabins are charming knotty pine with rustic handmade knotty-pine furniture.
3) There’s a small corner gas fireplace that makes the room cozy. This, however, must be somewhat problematic, as we had to sign a paper saying if it didn’t work via the thermostat, we’d call the manager rather than push any buttons. There was another sign to this effect in the cabin.
4) Most cabins appeared to be surrounded by a porch or balcony with patio table, chairs, and a BBQ.

Cons:
1) The dishes weren’t all clean. The kitchen table was tacky/sticky. When we arrived, there was a half-empty plastic water bottle rolling around on the deck near a bucket with a half-inch of fetid water in it—which probably made the mosquitoes quite happy.
2) There was not much attention to detail. There was no chest of drawers for clothes, so non-hanging items had to be left in the suitcase--but there are no suitcase racks. The refrigerator opens on the wrong side. It’s inconvenient and easy to smash your knuckles on the wall it’s crammed next to. There are signs saying the management is not responsible for stolen items; however, the lock on the bathroom window was completely broken off and the window wouldn’t lock.
3) We had no cell phone reception. There was supposed to be internet but the woman in the office didn’t know how to access it beyond giving us a network name and password, which didn’t work. This was a real inconvenience, as my husband had come to fish but I had come to work.
4) The highway is just across the river from the property, although the sound of the river drowns out most of the traffic noise.
5) More than once during the day and early evening, no one answered the (always locked) door to the office, despite the sign saying the office was open. Since there are no phones in the cabins and no cell phone reception, if you have a problem after hours, you’re apparently out of luck.
6) A message left for us was never delivered; consequently, I missed an appointment in town. When I asked about this the following day, the receptionist said her baby had been taking a nap at the time, and so she couldn’t deliver it. And after the nap???
7) Like most riverain areas, there are lots of bugs, especially flying ones, so take lots of bug spray.

THE BIGGEST CON:
Not until you’ve paid and get to your cabin, do you find that YOU are responsible for cleaning the cabin at the end of your stay. Now this doesn’t mean simply washing your dishes (no dishwasher), but you’re also given a detailed set of instructions for carrying out your trash, cleaning the kitchen and refrigerator, and vacuuming your cabin before leaving. This after paying over $200 a night!

Would we stay here again? I definitely would not. I felt the units were overpriced, especially since you’re expected to provide maid service before checking out. My husband would stay there again, as he loved the grounds and river access.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LS-Los_Altos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We've been coming here for many years. Usually we spend an entire week. Privacy is good; they allow dogs for a small fee; location is very nice on the North Fork Yuba.
Reasons I did not rate this a 5 star:
1) it is right across from Hwy 49, so when you are lounging at the river, cars are driving by;
2) No WiFi and cell service is mostly non-existent.
3) The furniture in the high end cabins could be more comfortable. We stay in Good Hope which has that Flintstones lob furniture. Tough on the back when propped up in bed trying to read. No cushions on kitchen chairs.
4) Mosquitoes can be the size of B52 bombers! We rarely spend time on the lovely porch because of this. Citronella doesn't work too well. Hiking can be miserable with the darn things flying around your nose, mouth, eyes...especially for the dogs who can't fend them off.
5) The staff they use to clean the cabins apparently loathe having to defrost the freezer. We've gone up with frozen goods on dry ice for our week long stay (grocery store is extremely limited) only to find the freezer (not frost-free) socked in with accumulated ice. I've had to boil water and chip away for a couple of hours before we could use it.

That said, it is still a very nice getaway, albeit pretty expensive compared to others. And they want ALL the money way in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We just loved it. The camping cabins are snug for 2 couples but a family of 4 it would be perfect. Affordable too! I am definately going to be coming back again. Maybe a bunch of couples to rent the entire riverfront of camping cabins. The town is so close too. Gorgeous!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This is a review of the full cabins NOT the camping cabins.

We've been coming up to Lure for years and we love it here. On our recent trip we stayed in White Bear the largest of the cabins right on the lawn with a long deck facing the river. We could get wifi from the office from here which was an advantage over the smaller cabins we normally take. The cabins really are RIGHT on the river and it's fantastic to wake up to the roar of the water.

The interiors are simply done in pine. Well equipped kitchen and a bbq. We grilled every night and ate breakfast on the deck overlooking the river. This is a place for simple pleasures, no TV. It's a better value when bring family or friends as there's very little difference in price between the one and two bed cabins.

The dog loves this place and can't get enough of the water. It's located about a mile out of Downieville and is well located for hiking around Sierra City and the Gold Lake Highway. I'll be posting several blog posts on various hikes and Lure on my blog at http://somuchmoretosee.blogspot.com/

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank anthropology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We have stayed at the Lure Resort for the past 10 years. The location is great for playing on the river.The past two years we have noticed the lack of maintenance and the run down facilities. The rates have crept up, and the charge for a camping cabin, (no electricity) and showers and toilets across the road, has crept up to $75/night with an added charge of $20 for a dog. The entire weekend we were there, the bathrooms were never cleaned although the toilet paper was replaced. The sink faucet that was broken last year is till broken. The charge for a shower is $1.50 for six minutes ... good luck getting the shower to work. The water runs hot and cold without a warning. Trouble flushing the toilets. Cabins in need of maintenance ... locks on door don't work, screen door won't shut, stairs on cabins a hazard. Host brusk and borderline rude. Stopped in at Harrington's in Sierra City and looked at their cabins. Host graciiously showed us a cabin. Rates are about the same, but cabins are cleaned every day with fresh linens, etc. And, no charge for pets. We were so impressed we booked for next year at Harrington's.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mysugarcookie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2011

My first comment is to people who expect 5 star accommodations in a rural community...this is not Trump Tower nor are you in New York City. So please pack accordingly as you are in the woods! We have stayed many times at The Lure both with and without our kids. We go to Downieville to get away from crazy busy lives. We have never been disappointed in any aspect of our stay. The management is very accommodating and has always made us feel like we are family coming to visit. We have stayed in the summer and the fall and have been completely rested when we get home. It is expensive but when you consider the cost of taking a family of four to Disneyland...its a bargain. And we can bring our dog.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise2Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I have traveled the world first class and I have to say this is one of my favorite spots to stay.
The "Rose" cabin has been maintained as it was meant to be, "a real cabin." No frills to take away or compromise the absolutely magnificent natural beauty of this area. The cabin is so sweet and clean. We were able to just lay and listen to the the babble of the water running over the rocks in the river. No distraction, just the trees, moon, stars and peace.
Do yourself a favor and refrain from the usual fare of mundane hotel resorts and give this little treasure a try. I know you will walk away smiling.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i1derynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downieville
22.1 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
282 reviews
23.2 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
143 reviews
25.2 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
110 reviews
9.4 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 5 in Sierra City
1 reviews
21.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lure Resort

Property: Lure Resort
Address: PO Box 95, Downieville, CA
Region: United States > California > Downieville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Downieville
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lure Hotel Downieville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing