We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Brunch!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Fear Cafe

Cape Fear Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/cape-fear-cafe-duncans-mills-2
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
326 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice Brunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I was on a nice Saturday drive in the Backroads of Sonoma County. Had a nice brunch at Cape Fear Cafe in Duncans Mills, I had their Hangtown Fry consisting of Pan-seared Cornmeal Oysters, Country Sausage and Green Onion in Parmesan Scrambled Eggs. It came with Home Fries and Grilled Wheat Toast. Delicious! The service is still not stellar, rather indifferent and slow, but the place was packed on Saturday late morning. Unusual for me to be here in October since I only come here in the summers. The location is very rustic and it's always fun eating here regardless of the service. Enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Norm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    52
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
212 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Super breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

After staying overnight at rivers end we drove up Russian river and stumbled across Duncan's mill. What a delightful place.
The cafe was perfect for what we wanted, the staff friendly, the food tasty, lots of coffee refills, couldn't be faulted.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank candirisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a great breakfast here, but beware that they only have a limited menu on weekdays. On weekends, they offer twice as many brunch items.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Should give it one star so other people do not discover it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have a summer home on the Russian River. We eat at Cape Fear a lot and never have had a bad meal. For those who think it is expensive try Applewood in Gurneville and you will find out what expensive is, and not as good.

Yes they get busy, especially for brunch on Saturday and Sunday, but you will not go away hungry. Sorry, but they have a great staff. Try the salmon tortellini or a burger. Absolutely great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rmcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“California cuisine...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stopped in for lunch while we were waiting to check in for a weekend of camping at Casini Ranch. I had the club sandwich which was very good and had a lovely salad of fresh ingredients and a nice light balsamic vinagrette. My husband and our friend had the meatloaf sandwich. The meatloaf was good but we all agreed we did not care for the sauce that came on the meatloaf sandwich. Hubby thinks the choices are too nuveau for his taste; he likes the basics and keep it simple. As others have mentioned, the service is good, ingredients are fresh, just ask about the sauces to make sure they are to your liking. I would go back, not sure the hubby would though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Fear Cafe also viewed

 
Jenner, Sonoma County
Guerneville, Sonoma County
 

Been to Cape Fear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing